
Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Moderator: Moderator Team
-
- Atari God
- Posts: 1631
- Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Outstanding
. Thanks very much!!

Videogame and computing user and lover
Follow MiST Board and Sidi news on the Fediverse:
https://masto.ai/@mistboard

Follow MiST Board and Sidi news on the Fediverse:
https://masto.ai/@mistboard
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 179
- Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Thank you jotego. This is a big step towards getting more advanced Arcade games to work.
However, your python script throws lots of errors.
Using the rom provided by you and the latest build of the core, there is a garbled mess in front of the screen so that you cannot see what is happening in game.
However, your python script throws lots of errors.
Using the rom provided by you and the latest build of the core, there is a garbled mess in front of the screen so that you cannot see what is happening in game.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2094
- Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
That's a great improvement. Many thanks Jotego, I hope in other ports like 1942, 1943, ecc... too,
Thanks, thanks, thanks
Thanks, thanks, thanks

-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2094
- Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
This is what I get on VGA (no support for YPbPr Cable
)

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 406
- Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Same with my vga setup - any idea how to get a picture?DanyPPC wrote:This is what I get on VGA (no support for YPbPr Cable)
GnG_MiST.jpg
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Have you tried with the rom file I provided?DanyPPC wrote:This is what I get on VGA (no support for YPbPr Cable)
GnG_MiST.jpg
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 179
- Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
I get the same picture with the rom file you provided. As written before, your python script for building a rom doesn't work.jotego wrote:Have you tried with the rom file I provided?DanyPPC wrote:This is what I get on VGA (no support for YPbPr Cable)
GnG_MiST.jpg
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
I originally had a bash script and converted it to Python to make it more portable. I was not expecting problems about it. I have made the Python script more verbose and added CRC check to see if you can identify what goes wrong for you in the script. Please grab it from here. Could you please try it and let me know how it goes? If it doesn't work, please share the screen output. By the way, did you read the readme file?hyperterminal wrote:Thank you jotego. This is a big step towards getting more advanced Arcade games to work.
However, your python script throws lots of errors.
I don't have that cable so I cannot try it. That is why I only provide VGA support. If I get backers I will eventually add 15kHz support to this and the rest of CAPCOM arcade cores I have in the backlog.DanyPPC wrote:This is what I get on VGA (no support for YPbPr Cable)
This is very odd indeed. I wonder if it has worked for someone in the forum.NegSol wrote:Same with my vga setup - any idea how to get a picture?
Getting technical about it: I have heard that high speed SDRAM access may require phase shifting in the SDRAM clock but I don't need it in my MiST machine. I can try adding it. As for the FPGA internals, the design meets time specs so it should work across all MiST machines. The only difference may be in the FPGA to SDRAM delay, which might be shorter in my machine. I will release an update with SDRAM phase shift later.
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 179
- Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
This is the output I get from the python script:
If I fix the syntax for all the print commands by adding the missing brackets I get the following error:
Code: Select all
python.exe gngrom.py
File "gngrom.py", line 8
print "Generating file for game: ",game
^
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'. Did you mean print("Generating file for game: ",game)?
Code: Select all
python.exe gngrom.py gngc
Generating file for game: gngc
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "gngrom.py", line 140, in <module>
byte_merge( [roms['romx9'], roms['romx7']])
File "gngrom.py", line 29, in byte_merge
fo.write( blsb[k] )
TypeError: a bytes-like object is required, not 'int'
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Oh my god! That's not what I call portable code. Maybe it is that Python 2/3 thing. I hear Python version 2 and 3 are not really compatible. Ok. I think I'll drop Python and try something else.hyperterminal wrote:This is the output I get from the python script:If I fix the syntax for all the print commands by adding the missing brackets I get the following error:Code: Select all
python.exe gngrom.py File "gngrom.py", line 8 print "Generating file for game: ",game ^ SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'. Did you mean print("Generating file for game: ",game)?
Code: Select all
python.exe gngrom.py gngc Generating file for game: gngc Traceback (most recent call last): File "gngrom.py", line 140, in <module> byte_merge( [roms['romx9'], roms['romx7']]) File "gngrom.py", line 29, in byte_merge fo.write( blsb[k] ) TypeError: a bytes-like object is required, not 'int'
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
My experience is that 'till about 60-70 MHz, a simple negation works, e.g. SDRAM_CLK <= ~sdram_controller_clk, and as the frequency increases, some negative phase shift is necessary.jotego wrote: Getting technical about it: I have heard that high speed SDRAM access may require phase shifting in the SDRAM clock but I don't need it in my MiST machine. I can try adding it. As for the FPGA internals, the design meets time specs so it should work across all MiST machines. The only difference may be in the FPGA to SDRAM delay, which might be shorter in my machine. I will release an update with SDRAM phase shift later.
I noticed you're using an exact 25 MHz clock for VGA in the scandoubler: do you think is it necessary instead of just using the base 24 MHz? I know it's the standard pixel clock for 640x480, but no core bothers with it, and just goes with the easy way. Probably it's still not a fully valid VGA signal, since the number of lines probably not exactly standard.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Print is a real function in Python 3.jotego wrote:
Oh my god! That's not what I call portable code. Maybe it is that Python 2/3 thing. I hear Python version 2 and 3 are not really compatible. Ok. I think I'll drop Python and try something else.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
You can upload the release to the release aree of GitHub, and I can make a link to it from the mist wiki start page (many cores has the link only to the appropriate upstream project page, so no need to sync the latest to mist-binaries, which will out of phase anyway after a while).
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 219
- Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
jotego, I'll donate you the price of an RGB/SCART cable - let me know where to send it. Would love to see all these cores with RGB support. Guess you're in Spain and Amigastore.eu has the cables and is in Spain.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2094
- Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
If the YPbPr Cable was available I would have bought it for you.
I'm not practical and I got it done by a technician.
Component output has a good retro-feeling with scanlines support. I love it and my MiST is wired in YPbPr mode for months now.

I'm not practical and I got it done by a technician.
Component output has a good retro-feeling with scanlines support. I love it and my MiST is wired in YPbPr mode for months now.

-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Well, found the problem is the ROM on the old Dropbox link, https://www.dropbox.com/s/hoenoqhe0xea1 ... G.rom?dl=0 works 

-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2094
- Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Ok, I'll test it.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2094
- Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Good, now it works but on second level when I go up or down screen goes out of sync (YPbPr cable with wrong colors, just for test).
Sound is very good, only some occasional graphics glitches.
Sound is very good, only some occasional graphics glitches.
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Thanks! You can do it at my paypal address here. If I get the cable I will add support to GnG and all future CAPCOM cores (which will be quite many!)squid4 wrote:jotego, I'll donate you the price of an RGB/SCART cable - let me know where to send it. Would love to see all these cores with RGB support. Guess you're in Spain and Amigastore.eu has the cables and is in Spain.
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Great. You can use this link.slingshot wrote:You can upload the release to the release aree of GitHub, and I can make a link to it from the mist wiki start page (many cores has the link only to the appropriate upstream project page, so no need to sync the latest to mist-binaries, which will out of phase anyway after a while).
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Well it looks like it works without the phase shift afterall and that the problem was the rom file. I should have a look at it anyway to make it more robust.slingshot wrote:My experience is that 'till about 60-70 MHz, a simple negation works, e.g. SDRAM_CLK <= ~sdram_controller_clk, and as the frequency increases, some negative phase shift is necessary.jotego wrote: Getting technical about it: I have heard that high speed SDRAM access may require phase shifting in the SDRAM clock but I don't need it in my MiST machine. I can try adding it. As for the FPGA internals, the design meets time specs so it should work across all MiST machines. The only difference may be in the FPGA to SDRAM delay, which might be shorter in my machine. I will release an update with SDRAM phase shift later.
I noticed you're using an exact 25 MHz clock for VGA in the scandoubler: do you think is it necessary instead of just using the base 24 MHz? I know it's the standard pixel clock for 640x480, but no core bothers with it, and just goes with the easy way. Probably it's still not a fully valid VGA signal, since the number of lines probably not exactly standard.
I think I have the right number of lines for VGA. The VGA clock is only slightly off the standard value and the numbers just play well so I have exactly twice the number of lines in VGA compared to the original screen format. The two clock domains only talk to each other through a double port RAM block. Each port of the RAM has a different clock and addresses move in a way that they never collide.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Done, wiki page is updated.jotego wrote:Great. You can use this link.slingshot wrote:You can upload the release to the release aree of GitHub, and I can make a link to it from the mist wiki start page (many cores has the link only to the appropriate upstream project page, so no need to sync the latest to mist-binaries, which will out of phase anyway after a while).
Maybe you can add the download link to the main readme, too.
-
- Captain Atari
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
- Location: Valencia (Spain)
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
You are right. I have created a bundle zip file with the README and the Python script. The link is here.slingshot wrote:Done, wiki page is updated.jotego wrote:Great. You can use this link.slingshot wrote:You can upload the release to the release aree of GitHub, and I can make a link to it from the mist wiki start page (many cores has the link only to the appropriate upstream project page, so no need to sync the latest to mist-binaries, which will out of phase anyway after a while).
Maybe you can add the download link to the main readme, too.
The version in that file should support RGB cable as I got a patch from Gyurco last night.
By the way, Sorleig has already released the Mister version of this core, which doesn't need the Python file to convert the rom image.
-
- Atari freak
- Posts: 51
- Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
Fantastic!Note that this game uses a board common to many CAPCOM games of that age, so if people like it I will be porting other games like: 1942, Black Tiger, Tiger Road, Trojan, 1943...
GnG is great but Black Tiger is one of my favorite arcade games of all time. So many quarters gobbled at the pizza parlor.
Thanks Jotego.
-
- Fuji Shaped Bastard
- Posts: 2745
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm
Re: Ghosts'n Goblins on MiST
It was the component cable, not the SCART RGB, that will come later.jotego wrote: The version in that file should support RGB cable as I got a patch from Gyurco last night.
Upd.: sent a PR