CosmosEx and GFA Basic

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by czietz »

Over in the German forum (https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... #msg260134) there is a user who observed that GFA Basic (multiple versions including 3.6TT) hangs when used with the CosmosEx as keyboard replacement. The same versions work when he connects the original keyboard. Someone else added that GFA Basic sends a command to query the joysticks; and then the question came up whether said command is correctly handled by the CosmosEx.

Now I wonder - considering that GFA Basic is not an obscure program: Is this a known issue? Is there a firmware fix or workaround?

PS: Note that I don't have a CosmosEx and cannot test anything myself.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2792
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by lp »

Probably could patch his editor with one well placed nop. ;)
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by czietz »

lp wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:02 pm Probably could patch his editor with one well placed nop. ;)
Do you know where that NOP needs to go? Otherwise, I'll have a look later. (However, I think this might be something the CosmosEx developers should test and possibly fix, as well.)
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2792
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by lp »

czietz wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:12 pm Do you know where that NOP needs to go? Otherwise, I'll have a look later. (However, I think this might be something the CosmosEx developers should test and possibly fix, as well.)
Well from my point of view CosmosEx needs fixed. GFA works everywhere else as is. I only work with 3.6 (English) so it depends on what version he wants to use and what language, obviously that would change the offset for the nop. Do you know his preference?
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by czietz »

lp wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:24 pm Well from my point of view CosmosEx needs fixed. GFA works everywhere else as is.
I fully agree. In fact, I'm wondering why this was not already found and fixed on the CosmosEx side a long time ago. GFA Basic is not exactly a "niche" program.
lp wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:24 pm I only work with 3.6 (English) so it depends on what version he wants to use and what language, obviously that would change the offset for the nop. Do you know his preference?
Sorry, I don't. But then again, there's a German saying (also used figuratively) that one has to eat whatever is put on the table. Hence, if you know how to patch 3.6 English without much effort, I would post that over in the German forum.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2792
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by lp »

At the highlighted line place a nop and eliminate the loop that waits for the reply.
gfa-patch.png
Disassembly is the English 3.6 version that is 104597 bytes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by czietz »

Thank you!

Found the place in the file, put in a NOP, and gave it to the CosmosEx user. Hopefully he'll report back.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 3131
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by Cyprian »

lp wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:02 pm Probably could patch his editor with one well placed nop. ;)
I wonder why it works fine with the TOS and CosmosEx needs that NOP.
Lynx I / Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3069
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by ThorstenOtto »

GFA-Basic sends a command to the IKBD to query the joysticks, then waits for a reply. The CosmosEx does not send a reply, so GFA waits forever.
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by czietz »

czietz wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 7:54 pm Found the place in the file, put in a NOP, and gave it to the CosmosEx user. Hopefully he'll report back.
He did: He confirmed that with this single NOP-patch GFA Basic runs when using the CosmosEx as keyboard replacement. For reference: You can find the version where I applied the NOP as suggested here: https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... #msg260160

Thanks again.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2792
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by lp »

czietz wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 7:09 am He did: He confirmed that with this single NOP-patch GFA Basic runs when using the CosmosEx as keyboard replacement. For reference: You can find the version where I applied the NOP as suggested here: https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... #msg260160

Thanks again.
Nice. What's the odds of getting CosmosEx corrected? Don't have one myself, just curious.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5695
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by simonsunnyboy »

The user reports that it is working though STICK() and STRIG() functions are not working anymore acording to czietz.
this is a strong indication that the CosmosEX is at fault there...even if GFABASIC could time out the wait for an reply from the IKBD.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: CosmosEx and GFA Basic

Post by wietze »

Are we able to submit a pull request to kookie?
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”