HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

I have just partitioned an IDE drive with HD Driver 10.14, mke2fs on the h: partition and copied everything from the existing drive. All good so far.

When I install the driver as a secondary, IDE slave the Milan boots up and I can access the original primary and the new drive.

However, if the drives are swapped or I boot with just the new drive then the boot halts with the error on the H: partition

FATFS vital data illegal recsize=0 numcl=0


There are the same number of partitions on each drive:

Code: Select all

C BGM   650M
D FAT32 12G
E FAT32 12G
F FAT32 50G
G FAT32 50G
H lnx   12G


I BGM   650M
J FAT32 12G
K FAT32 12G
L FAT32 60G
M FAT32 60G
N lnx   15G
Last edited by PeterS on Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

I though I spotted the mistake in fstab which had the access 777 on H but only has 700 on N

With N set to 777 it still drops to the MiS console with:

unitsize (32768) too small (clsizb=1757680)

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by Galvez »

Those messages come from the FATFS driver trying to read the ext2 partition, it's strange that it didn't detect that is not a FAT a partition. It could be related to the latest changes done in the driver, but it doesn't make sense that the detection is correct depending on which position are the drives being connected (master/slave).

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

Yes it is puzzling that it works as the second drive but not the primary.

I am currently using Mint build d4a.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

c / dos root wheel 700
d / dos root wheel 700
e / dos root wheel 700
f / dos root wheel 700
g / dos root wheel 700
h / ext2 root wheel 777
i / dos root wheel 700
j / dos root wheel 700
k / dos root wheel 700
l / dos root wheel 700
m / dos root wheel 700
n / ext2 root wheel 777

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2160
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by mikro »

Are you sure that the partition names are still the same after the swap? I.e. that you are not forcing "dos" on an ext2 partition?

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

The two drives have the same partitions

C D E F G h
I J K L M n

So the fstab on each drive is the same.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12882
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by wongck »

Did you try using RAW instead of lnx ?
Not sure if it makes any difference.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by PeterS »

In HD Driver they look the same apart from the increased sizes. Both are Seagate 160GB drives of slightly different ages.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2160
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: HD Driver : ext2 in new Drive

Post by mikro »

This simply doesn't sound right. If H: is an ext2 partition and it's accessed as a FAT one, something is terribly wrong with your setup. Perhaps introduced during the copy, maybe you have some symbolic links all over the place and if you use just the second drive, they point to a wrong location.

I would suggest to install a new/fresh/default FreeMiNT snapshot (and nothing else) on the new drive and I'm 99% confident the problem wont be present there.

EDIT: Btw, now I see you have marked your EXT2 partition as "lnx". Shouldn't that be "LNX" ?

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”