Hatari on Pi Zero?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by Jamesbeat »

Has anyone had any luck getting Hatari to run on a Pi Zero?

I have used it through Retropie, and it almost works, but it's just a little too choppy to be usable.

I have a feeling that it could work with some tweaking, after all, my PSP can emulate the ST just fine, and that's way less powerful.

Has anyone got it working well, and if so, how did you go about it?

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by Total Eclipse »

I think the Pi Zero is similar in performance to my Pi 1 Model B if I overclock.

I tried running Hatari on that, and the frameskip needed to make things playable was just too high.
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by Jamesbeat »

Yes, that's exactly what it is - the Zero is basically a pre-overclocked Pi 1.

How strange that the Zero can't cope with the ST, considering all the other systems that run fine on it, some of which are more technically advanced than the ST.

I was hoping there would be some tweaks that I could make, or maybe run it without Retropie to get rid of the extra overhead.

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by thothy »

If you haven't tried it yet: Compile Hatari with the old UAE CPU core instead of using the new WinUAE core. The older one is a little bit faster (but also more inaccurate).

Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by Jamesbeat »

Thanks for the advice, but it turns out I didn't need to do anything so drastic.

I flashed the latest version of Retropie, and was delighted to discover that Hatari is running MUCH better now.

I did get some slowdowns on a couple of games I tried; the intro music for 'Hunter' is much slower that it should be, and the 'Xenon II' intro stutters a lot, but the actual games play fine.

I am very happy about this.
I use a Pi 3 at home, but I wanted a cheap knockabout system to throw in my bag to play at work, friend's houses etc.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Hatari's manual has a section on performance: https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... erformance

Post Reply

Return to “Hatari”