Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by piku »

The plot thickens. It's a thing bug i was triggering. This is aranym...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=His4lq3 ... e=youtu.be

Just double click that disabled button with memory protection and poof.

I think ace tracker module playing could have been the cause of many issues. Kernel 1.17.0 with aniplay is so far rock solid at 92MHz. Even Jinnee is running. I maybe had a stable system before but I was using the thing bug as a stability indicator.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
Falcon060, Firebee, MiST and a few others...
Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by Latz »

Hi,
mikro wrote:What you can do is to pray that the ship with my Atari stuff wont sink. ;-)
I will!!
In fact i could not sleep well with the knowledge that my Falcons were
...alone...in the dark...somewhere on the ocean... :cry:

I cross my fingers for you that it all goes well. Perhaps use a military steel box for shipping, water resistant, highly shock absorbing
with gel or air cushions, 3 times sealed...and don´t forget some bodyguards, watchdogs, GPS sender, ... :wink:

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 32GB CF card, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by mikro »

Latz wrote:Perhaps use a military steel box for shipping, water resistant, highly shock absorbing with gel or air cushions, 3 times sealed...and don´t forget some bodyguards, watchdogs, GPS sender, ...
I would have certainly reconsidered it if I hadn't shipped all the stuff three months ago already. ;) In fact, I should hear from the company sometime this month, I guess I'm going to give them a call. It's a complex delivery, Brisbane -> (truck) -> Sydney -> (ship) -> Poland -> (truck) -> Slovakia. But hey, way cheaper than air mail. :) My biggest worry is the box, while it isn't a cardboard box, I still couldn't afford to ship something like a wooden/metal crate because of weight (30 kg limit per box).
User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by piku »

Very interesting. I have confirmed that 1.17.0 is absolutely stable for me and all 1.19 variants I have on my machine are absolutely UNSTABLE. Does anyone have a recommended known stable latest release kernel? I plan to use this machine to develop and build parts of RPMint which is my latest project so it might be best to leave it in the stable condition it's in.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
Falcon060, Firebee, MiST and a few others...
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by wongck »

Yeah, read about your new project on mintlist. Great move. :)
I have an autoupdate script, at my web site, using Sparemint RPM as a base for version checking.
I need to update the script to check github now before it works again.

I guess you should use the most stable mint release that works best for you.
Any reason why you need v1,19 ?
My guess is that you mainly just need a shell & gcc, no need for GUI.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4722
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by joska »

piku wrote:I have confirmed that 1.17.0 is absolutely stable for me and all 1.19 variants I have on my machine are absolutely UNSTABLE.
I'm using 1.19 on my Falcon/CT60e and have no issues. I'm using a Hydra (ethernec clone) for networking and the Assemsoft driver.

I'm using VanillaMiNT on mine, have you tried that?

Edit: Ok, just noticed that you're using a CTPCI. Are you using a graphics card? I've not heard many good things about CT-TOS-versions with CTPCI-support.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by piku »

Yeah I think the key factor is probably the CTPCI. But I am also using the apparently somewhat rare Ethernat as well. I'm happy to have a good config as it's not like I'm a kernel developer or anything. Now I want to look into replacing NVDI with FVDI which has font smoothing. NVDI fonts on high resolution don't look great at all.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
Falcon060, Firebee, MiST and a few others...
User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by piku »

I've figured out that the instability only happens when the ethernat driver is loaded. The question is what do I do? Maybe my ethernat is failing? Maybe ethernat + ctpci is unstable. The switch on the ctpci (bus termination I think) doesn't seem to make a difference. I can force a crash while xcontrol is loading and I move the mouse (memory violation).

EDIT: Nevermind got it to do it without the driver. It just seems less common. Definitely something to do with interrupts.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
Falcon060, Firebee, MiST and a few others...
User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by piku »

Does anyone have any actual success using memory protection on a CT60/CTPCI falcon with a modern kernel?
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
Falcon060, Firebee, MiST and a few others...
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by wongck »

I use mine in non-protected mode. It 's very stable.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by Latz »

Hi,

1-19 is working very stable here too, memory protection on or off.

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 32GB CF card, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Temperatures / CT60 Instability

Post by stormy »

Make sure you are not just replacing the kernel prg, but have proper installs as I understand the kernal modules, drivers and xaaes needs to be the correct versions too.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”