[Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

Hello,

I've been having the same issue with the disk read errors. It will work sometimes, but not others.

I know that the author thinks this is an SRAM issue, but could it be due to "modern" SD cards — even when formatted to 16k? I'm using a 2GB card and plan to try an older, 128MB or smaller if possible.

Has anyone experimented with this?

Thank you

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

I tested various SD Card, no lack.
The problem is the different sram used on newer MiST, but i have tested the Mistica Clone too which has MT48LC16M16A2P-75 SDRAM.
The only MSX core which works without disk error is the old 141010 r356, but it has other bugs like inverted direction for joystick/joypad support.

That's a pity that this core is not usable.

The only fpga platform where it works very well is the Chameleon 64, but it requires a powercycle if you want to change a rom cartridge game,
while on MiST a Reset with first button is sufficient.

Recently the autor has released a PC-Engine core port for TC64, so we can hope he has some time to improve MSX core to work on all MiST revision.

We hope

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

Hello,

OK, thanks for the information. Unfortunately the old 141010 r356 doesn't seem to load on the MiST — though maybe I'll try again tonight.

Would it be possible to replace the MT48LC16M16A2P-75 SDRAM in my unit with the older RAM? I have a soldering station and have experience with IC replacement/removal. Do you happen to know what sort of SDRAM is in those older units and if it'd be compatible with the more updated board? I'm not sure if there were other changes aside from the SDRAM.

Recently the autor has released a PC-Engine core port for TC64, so we can hope he has some time to improve MSX core to work on all MiST revision.

Lets hope — that would be a whole lot easier!!!!

How is the new PC-Engine core by the way?

Best Regards

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DrOG »

I think the recently released core for TC64 was the Genesis, not the PCE!

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

Yes DrOG, you are right ! :wink:

I confused the two platform.
I don't have tested the new Genesis core on TC64. I think it's the same as on MiST. It needs to be optimized for MiST and TC64.
In these conditions it remains only an experiment.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

philexile wrote: OK, thanks for the information. Unfortunately the old 141010 r356 doesn't seem to load on the MiST — though maybe I'll try again tonight.
I was referring to the Mistica platform, not the MiST.
Would it be possible to replace the MT48LC16M16A2P-75 SDRAM in my unit with the older RAM? I have a soldering station and have experience with IC replacement/removal.
It's not the hardware that has to adapt to the software, but the opposite !
How is the new PC-Engine core by the way?
I confused PCE with new Genesis Core, as remembered by DrOG.

Anyway the PCE core on TC64 is the same as on MiST platform, same compatibility. I think it's good enough for most games.

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

It's not the hardware that has to adapt to the software, but the opposite !
Hahah, well, yes of course — in a perfect world!

I just tested the MSX core with an older, 128Mb RAM card with very poor results. I can confirm (as everyone has said) this is likely due to the Hynix RAM. :-)
Recently the autor has released a PC-Engine core port for TC64, so we can hope he has some time to improve MSX core to work on all MiST revision.
Does the author of the emulator visit this forum? I'm not sure if this would be a huge time-suck for him, but the update to the core for stability would be appreciated greatly I think by the community of MiST users!

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by ManuFerHi »

I´m resintetize the core, good result no sd errors.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5lt89k6k39gedkp/core.rbf

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

Many thanks, I've been waiting for this patch for a long time !

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by Newsdee »

Is this an MSX or PCE core?

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

MSX-Core, obviously :angel:

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DrOG »

ManuFerHi wrote:I´m resintetize the core, good result no sd errors.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5lt89k6k39gedkp/core.rbf
Nice work! :cheers:

I'm not at home now, but will test it in a few days, ASAP!

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

I'm very excited to try this tomorrow! Thank you!!!

Just curious, what does "resintetize" mean?

Also, does this core support 15khz?

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by ManuFerHi »

philexile wrote:I'm very excited to try this tomorrow! Thank you!!!

Just curious, what does "resintetize" mean?

Also, does this core support 15khz?
Yes, it supports it, you must select the option in osd menu.

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

This works, thanks so much, ManuFerHi!!!!

I also was able to enable 15khz mod. I noticed some distortion at the top of the screen in this resolution, but I think that this could be due to the Extron RGB interface (203 rxi) that I'm using to convert RGBHV to RGBS. I'll test some more and confirm either way.

Again, thanks so much! Also, just out of curiosity: what was the issue with the code?

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by ManuFerHi »

Not and issue, only i have change some parameters unimportant, when resynthesizing a different core is generated, after several attempts it was generated one that did not reproduce this bug.

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

Well, it is very much appreciated!

I guess you don't know how to enable the ability to write to disk on the Apple II core do you? :wink:

Thanks again!!!

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by ManuFerHi »

DrOG wrote:Actually besides the MSX core the Acorn Archimedes is problematic too, dont't know if it's for the same reason or not, but the Archie is very picky in aspect of SD-cards...
Also i´m fix Archimedes core, this core don´t work with older sdram MT48LC16M16A2P-75

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1myv3d7jv ... 140MHZ.rar

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

So, this core works only on new MiST ?

Thanks for your support to MiST community :cheers:

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by ManuFerHi »

DanyPPC wrote:So, this core works only on new MiST ?

Thanks for your support to MiST community :cheers:
Yes, only for new mist.

philexile
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by philexile »

Thanks, ManuFerHi!!!

Is there a way to add these core variations for the newer MiST to GitHub? I think it would be best for the community that they are archived there and readily available.

Also, just to say again: this was a great contribution, thank you!!!!!

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

Tested only briefly the two resynthesized cores, and they seem to work flawless!

MSX SCART-RGB is fine as well on my TV (see attachments)!

Thanks for your work: Gábor :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by nightshadowpt »

ManuFerHi wrote:
DrOG wrote:Actually besides the MSX core the Acorn Archimedes is problematic too, dont't know if it's for the same reason or not, but the Archie is very picky in aspect of SD-cards...
Also i´m fix Archimedes core, this core don´t work with older sdram MT48LC16M16A2P-75

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1myv3d7jv ... 140MHZ.rar
Hi,

I've just tested the Archie core and something seems to be off with the video out.

7 out of 10 tries it flickered like hell - slow flashing (to the point of being unusable or dangerous if you have epilepsy)
1 time the graphics were being pulled left and right every second. really weird
2 tries booted beautifully to the OS

In all attempts, it booted to the OS without any issues.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by nightshadowpt »

And just tested the MSX core... gettint the "This core does not support SDHC cards." message. Was this not supposed to have been corrected on the previous version? (I may have my facts wrong :))

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Post by DanyPPC »

You have to use a simple SD Card of 2GB max, fat16 formatted.

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”