Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

chris2029
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:30 pm

Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by chris2029 »

FPGA board to turn your real ST/STE into a falcon or high end Amiga?
[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_11.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_16.gif]
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by alexh »

The Apollo Core inside the vampire 2 fpga board is closed source and so not going to be available to us any time soon
Last edited by alexh on Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Anima »

Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Frank B »

Amiga people don't play well within their own community. They cannot play well with others. We will never see the Vampire on other platforms. They're trying to make money from it. Another annoying thing is the uptick in A600 prices because of this project. I will maybe be interested when it's properly 68020 compatible. It isn't at the moment.
User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by EmpireAndrew »

For me personally, if it's not running on real original hardware (or of the period hardware upgrades), perhaps for the purposes of wanting a faster machine that can use the the old/updated OS and apps, why not just run it on an emulator? Then you can run what you want on fast and cheap modern hardware.
Obviously, each to their own, I just don't understand the driver behind it.
But then I don't understand the driver behind "modern" retro consoles on Kickstarter when a Raspberry Pi and RetroPie does the same job...
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!
vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by vido »

EmuTOS is already running on Amiga computers and also MiNT+XaAES. Some more software development to be able to run EmuTOS in all amiga resolutions and you will be able to use Amiga with Vampire 2 as fast Atari clone. If you want fast Atari clone then your best option is FireBee computer. It is open source also as hardware platform and you can modify FPGA to make it as fast and very compatible with old original Atari models. But no FPGA developers are interested into that :(
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by lp »

.
Last edited by lp on Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oldskool
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Oldskool »

My friend has one and I played with the vampire v2 a bit. It's pretty cool.
In an Amiga it also makes some sense. There is a bunch of games, demos, emulators and other stuff which can use this power. And it's very compatible.
Do I want one. Ofcourse. I ordered one last year.
Do I want one in my Atari.... No
For me the ultimate Atari is a STE with a monster expansion installed. But that's just me.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Frank B »

lp wrote:From their wiki:
All instructions from MC68000 to MC68060 are supported, except rare ones.
The APOLLO core provides some Motorola ColdFire instructions.
64-Bits instructions - The instructions are very similar to the SSE / ALTIVEC version of them.

My opinion, probably good thing its closed source. I find the design rather a messy mishmash of stuff. A cpu that doesn't want to be any particular cpu. It's a recipe for program A working but program B fails because it uses one rare instruction. They never liked the coldfire, why add coldfire opcodes, what amiga user cares or would even use them? From what I understand of it no MMU either. Don't get me wrong, I've watched a vampire review, and yes it seems to make a a600 usable. But would I want it in my atari, no. Give me a proper full 030 core with an MMU and make it go crazy fast. :lol:
Give me a Falcon with 25-50 mhz 030 in a Mega ST form factor case! I'd buy that!
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by shoggoth »

I think the Vampire is a great idea, but given the limited resources (as in developers) on this platform it'd have to be open to succeed on the Atari.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4703
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by joska »

I'm going to order a Vampire for my A600, and I'd love to have one for my ST. I like the concept, if something like this ever was made for the ST it should be the best FAST Atari yet.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by calimero »

in two years you will have Vampire board that you will put inside (any) empty Amiga case and connect:
-keyboard
-mouse
-floppy
-sdcard
-monitor
from outside it would look like Amiga :) but all would be inside one FPGA
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
English Invader
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by English Invader »

Anima wrote:Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
Quoted for truth.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4703
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by joska »

Anima wrote:Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
You mean like a Falcon with a CT60 and SuperVidel? Or my Falcon with Afterburner and graphics card?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Beetle »

On the Apollo Core Forum Gunnar von Boehn posted:
AMIGA OS 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 runs fine.
MAC OS 7.x and 8.1 runs fine.
Now it would be nice to run ATARI TOS.

Anyone experienced in running ATARI TOS on AMIGA, who likes to show us how?
A job for EmuTOS?
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by calimero »

joska wrote:
Anima wrote:Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
You mean like a Falcon with a CT60 and SuperVidel? Or my Falcon with Afterburner and graphics card?
quite true also...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12917
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by wongck »

joska wrote:
Anima wrote:Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
You mean like a Falcon with a CT60 and SuperVidel? Or my Falcon with Afterburner and graphics card?
The ST ram and disk drive still works... so it not like the CT60.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4703
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by joska »

wongck wrote:The ST ram and disk drive still works... so it not like the CT60.
Not sure what you mean. The Vampire, CT6x and Afterburner are CPU replacements with fast-RAM. Everything else on the motherboard is still functional - ST-RAM, floppy, sound, ACSI/SCSI/IDE, keyboard/midi, the MFP... The Vampire also has an optional graphics card (in the FPGA). Functionally it's is very similar to the CT6x/Afterburner, only with faster and more modern technology.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12917
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by wongck »

I was referring to the Atari becoming a keyboard.
Like you mentioned, it not, because the other components are still working.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Anima »

joska wrote:
Anima wrote:Why would you want to degrade your old computer to an intelligent keyboard?
You mean like a Falcon with a CT60 and SuperVidel? Or my Falcon with Afterburner and graphics card?
Yeah, sure, but there's a big difference. In the past you just wanted to use your Atari software as long as possible because the processor and graphics improvement was fast enough to compete with other systems of that time. So there was no real need to switch to a different system (PC/Mac) just for doing "normal work" on a computer. Today you most likely have a different and way faster computer for your regular work and so the only reason to improve your retro computer is, well, fun.

I only have a different view on that matter, i.e. I have fun working with the standard configurations to see what could have been done on them at the time when the Atari computers were brand new.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4703
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by joska »

Anima wrote:fun.
I think you just answered your own question.
Anima wrote:I only have a different view on that matter, i.e. I have fun working with the standard configurations to see what could have been done on them at the time when the Atari computers were brand new.
For me a part of the retro experience is to try to use these machines. I'd like to compile faster, and edit sources more comfortably on a bigger screen. But I don't want to use my PC for that. Instead I'd like to squeeze more speed and better graphics out of my old machines. It's still a real Atari :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
chris2029
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by chris2029 »

joska wrote:
Anima wrote:fun.
I think you just answered your own question.
Anima wrote:I only have a different view on that matter, i.e. I have fun working with the standard configurations to see what could have been done on them at the time when the Atari computers were brand new.
For me a part of the retro experience is to try to use these machines. I'd like to compile faster, and edit sources more comfortably on a bigger screen. But I don't want to use my PC for that. Instead I'd like to squeeze more speed and better graphics out of my old machines. It's still a real Atari :)
Exactly my friend.
[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_11.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_16.gif]
User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by EmpireAndrew »

I have no problem with modern add-ons, up to a point.

And by no problem I mean for myself, I don't mind what anyone else does as long as they're enjoying their hobby.

For example I would buy a new build accelerator card using an of the era processor (eg 040, 060) but I wouldn't buy an FPGA based one.
I also have no interest in stuff like the Firebee, despite its merits, although back in the day, when I was in my teens and lusting after a Falcon or TT I would definitely have bought one.
Again, some ppl love their Firebee's and that's great.

But I do make some exceptions, although it is begrudgingly. For example I will probably replace the hard drive in my TT with an SD card solution, and the external hard drive I considered for my STE is an SD. Not only is this much quieter (and cheaper it seems) but more importantly the mechanical hard drives of the right vintage are 25 years old now and living on borrowed time.
So even though I'm a bit of a period purist, I will make some allowances for the sake of keeping the stuff going.

Who knows, by the time any Vampire doodad would actually appear maybe I'd want to add one to the collection for completeness...
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by alexh »

EmpireAndrew wrote:I will probably replace the hard drive in my TT with an SD card solution, and the external hard drive I considered for my STE is an SD. Not only is this much quieter (and cheaper it seems) but more importantly the mechanical hard drives of the right vintage are 25 years old now and living on borrowed time.
Slightly off topic. Remember that your SD or CF won't contain any data 25 years later. They have a retention period (with no power) of about 5 years.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Vampire 2 type hardwar for ST and why I want it.

Post by Anima »

joska wrote:
Anima wrote:fun.
I think you just answered your own question.
That's true. In fact I changed that word to "fun" just before I submitted the post. It's simply the reason why we do all of this.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”