Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

I found this which may help

Jumper settings for the Teac FD-235HF3240

A1 - B1 DS0 Drive select 0
B1 - C1 DS1 Drive select 1
A2 - B2 DS2 Drive select 2
B2 - C2 DS3 Drive select 3
A4 - B4 RY34 Ready output on Pin 34
B4 - C4 DC34 Disk Change output on Pin 34
C3 - C4 DC2 Disk Change output on Pin 2
C4 - D4 DC4 Disk Change output on Pin 4
A3 - B3 HA density set automatically
B3 - C3 HI2 density set by HD IN on pin 2
C3 - D3 HO2 density (HD OUT) output on pin 2
D3 - D4 HO4 density (HD OUT) output on pin 4
D1 - D2 LHI ---or---
D2 - E2 LHI HD IN low is high density
D1 - E1 LHO ---or---
E1 - E2 LHO HD IN high is high density
E2 - F2 HMK half mask for INDEX/READ-DATA
F3 - G3 NMK no mask for INDEX/READ-DATA
F1 - G1 IR LED on when: (Drive Select AND Ready)
G1 - G2 ML motor on when: (Motor ON AND LED on)
E4 - F4 ACD disable auto-checking
G3 - G4 REN disable auto-recalibration
E2 - E3 HF ---or---
E3 - E4 HF must always be in for this version of drive
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by exxos »

Maybe you can take a image of the drive jumpers how you have them now, then crazy thought, just take all the jumpers out other than the DS one.

Looking at the doc there is also some MOTOR ON jumpers.. does the drive actually spin up when the floppy light is on ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by exxos »

A3 - B3 HA density set automatically
G1 - G2 ML motor on when: (Motor ON AND LED on)
A1 - B1 DS0 Drive select 0

I would look into those 3 and for now remove all other jumpers.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

G1G2 - gives me the drive icons, the motor spins and syncs the drive light with the light on the keyboard, but no data
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

I'm not sure the automatic density is correct, see this doc here http://www.atari-forum.com/download/file.php?id=5560
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

exxos wrote:A3 - B3 HA density set automatically
G1 - G2 ML motor on when: (Motor ON AND LED on)
A1 - B1 DS0 Drive select 0

I would look into those 3 and for now remove all other jumpers.
I tried this combo, still no data
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

I found this Amiga info which mentions working combos for TEAC
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

I found this info here

The diagram gives a little more information that I've been missing
Advanced_TEAC_Drives.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

Think I've tried every combination of jumper positions on my Falcon and STE now, still no closer to solving this, the drive partially works on both machines in that I can get the platter to spin, the drive head to move and the drive lights to go on when reading the disk, but I can't get a file directory to show on either machine.

Here are my findings so far.

STE

Jumper must be set to DSO using A1B1
Floppy cable must be twisted so the tab on the IDC connector faces downwards (either remove the tab or force it to fit)


Falcon

Jumper must be set to DSO using A1B1
Jumper G1G2 must used otherwise Falcon doesn't see any floppy drives
Floppy cable connects as normal so the tab on the IDC connector faces downwards (either remove the tab or force it to fit)


Other findings

G3G4 - Resets the drive head position when the drive is powered on
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by exxos »

It sounds like you are going though all the problems I did years ago. I did get mine working to a point but ultimately gave up with it. They are really not worth the trouble IMHO.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Jumper settings for TEAC FD-235hf 3291

Post by catmando »

exxos wrote:It sounds like you are going though all the problems I did years ago. I did get mine working to a point but ultimately gave up with it. They are really not worth the trouble IMHO.
I've seen a couple of posts on the net claiming that they work on Amiga's so maybe I'll hang onto it in case I happen to acquire one at some stage.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”