Need a music for a demo

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

For a coming demo, I wanted to put the music of 505 from posh part 1 (taken from sndh archive).
But it use timer B, so it's to much work for me :? (sounds I'm too lazy :oops: ) to integrate into some effects (plasma, ...).

When I think of it, it's quite a shame to reuse some music. Even if I like it very much...
So I'm wandering if there is some musician which is interested to create a zic under code contrains. As limited usage of timers at certain period of time for example.

neutrino / After the Battle
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

neutrino wrote:For a coming demo, I wanted to put the music of 505 from posh part 1 (taken from sndh archive).
But it use timer B, so it's to much work for me :? (sounds I'm too lazy :oops: ) to integrate into some effects (plasma, ...).

When I think of it, it's quite a shame to reuse some music. Even if I like it very much...
So I'm wandering if there is some musician which is interested to create a zic under code contrains. As limited usage of timers at certain period of time for example.

neutrino / After the Battle
I know this problem, you can use Megatiser soundchips converted in SNDH file like authors Tomchi, Jedi or E.I.A. for exemple.
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

Zorro 2 wrote: I know this problem, you can use Megatiser soundchips converted in SNDH file like authors Tomchi, Jedi or E.I.A. for exemple.
Thanks for the hint ! :D
In between I've change my mind, I would love to have an original soundchip for the prod.
Making new prod with a ripped music, is not folling 100% the "keep it real" thing. :wink:
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

neutrino wrote:
Zorro 2 wrote: I know this problem, you can use Megatiser soundchips converted in SNDH file like authors Tomchi, Jedi or E.I.A. for exemple.
Thanks for the hint ! :D
In between I've change my mind, I would love to have an original soundchip for the prod.
Making new prod with a ripped music, is not folling 100% the "keep it real" thing. :wink:
It's the same "fighting" for us :wink:

I admit for the last prod that we haven't yet a soundchip but we hope that Tomchi will :mrgreen:

Try this code in ASM :
:arrow: INITS:

Code: Select all

                clr.b	$fffffa07.w		; all interrupts off
                clr.b	$fffffa09.w		;
                clr.b	$fffffa13.w		;
                clr.b	$fffffa15.w		;
                clr.b	$fffffa1b.w		;
                clr.b	$fffffa21.w		;
                bset	#6,$fffffa09.w		; key interrupt
                bset	#6,$fffffa15.w		;
                bclr	#3,$fffffa17.w		; automatic EOI (important for raster!)
                bset	#0,$fffffa07.w		; init timer b
                bset	#0,$fffffa13.w		;
                move.b	#$03,$fffffc00.w	; ACIA init
                move.b	#$96,$fffffc00.w	;
:arrow: MAIN LOOP:

Code: Select all

introloop:      bsr     vsync
                bne     introloop
:arrow: VBL:

Code: Select all

intro_vbl:      st      vsync_count
                move.l	#timer_b,$120.w
                move.b	#2,$fffffa21.w
                move.b	#8,$fffffa1b.w
                movem.l   d0-a6,-(a7)
                ; stuffs here ...
                movem.l   (a7)+,d0-a6
                jsr     (music+8)            ; play music
                rte

vsync:          move.l	a0,-(a7)
                lea	vsync_count,a0
                sf	(a0)
.wait_strahl:   tst.b	(a0)
                beq.s	.wait_strahl
                move.l	(a7)+,a0
                rts
Sometimes you can put the music on the main loop.(cf. see http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=16425)
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

My idea was to put the player when I have finished to display the plasma, as before I'm counting the cycles to keep the sync will the video counter. :wink:

For other effects, the player is in the VBL.

Looking forward to see your next prod :D
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

neutrino wrote:My idea was to put the player when I have finished to display the plasma, as before I'm counting the cycles to keep the sync will the video counter. :wink: D
If you do a plasma, you not need to use the Timer B.
If it's the case, use the vbl like that :
intro_vbl: st vsync_count
movem.l d0-a6,-(a7)
; plasma code here ...
movem.l (a7)+,d0-a6
jsr (music+8) ; play music
rte
VBL is the priority at main loop, play the music after the plasma code inside the vbl, sure it'll ok for you :D
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

Zorro 2 wrote: If you do a plasma, you not need to use the Timer B.
Hem,... my plasma didn't take all the screen so I'm using timer B to detect first line in order to poll video counter to detect the start of the ST screen.
I could poll since the VBL but I don't want to waste the time between VBL interrupt and first line of the screen.

But well the issue comes more for the music which is not allowed to use Timers.
Zorro 2 wrote: If it's the case, use the vbl like that :
intro_vbl: st vsync_count
movem.l d0-a6,-(a7)
; plasma code here ...
movem.l (a7)+,d0-a6
jsr (music+8) ; play music
rte
VBL is the priority at main loop, play the music after the plasma code inside the vbl, sure it'll ok for you :D
Are you spying my computer :wink:
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

neutrino wrote:Are you spying my computer :wink:
Not really :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

Zorro 2 wrote:
neutrino wrote:Are you spying my computer :wink:
Not really :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Actually is not my code, I don't use a stack in my demo system as I always try to use the 17 registers of the 68000 8) :mrgreen:
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

OK, one post to ask for a music and 7 posts about coding ... :roll:

How to scare musician :lol:
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

Maybe you can learn and do something on Megatizer ???
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
neutrino
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by neutrino »

Zorro 2 wrote:Maybe you can learn and do something on Megatizer ???
I don't have any music skills, so I don't want to hurt ears of watchers... :mrgreen:

Fortunately, I've got an answer on MP ! By the way, is Megatizer the must use tracker ?
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: Need a music for a demo

Post by Zorro 2 »

neutrino wrote:Fortunately, I've got an answer on MP ! By the way, is Megatizer the must use tracker ?
Of course not !
You'll find a lot of trackers on the website of Marcer : http://marcer.mine.nu/chiptrack.html.
Member of NoExtra Team
Post Reply

Return to “Ym rockin'”