Falcon internal fan

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
Kris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 am
Location: Dept 35 - France
Contact:

Falcon internal fan

Post by Kris »

hi all,

Is there any possibilities to test the internal fan of the falcon ?
Thks

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Post by christos »

Hi,
Yes turn the falcon on, put your hand underneath and see if it works. The fan can be located left of the joystick mouse ports.

Kris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 am
Location: Dept 35 - France
Contact:

Post by Kris »

Does it means that the fan is always working ?
I was thinking that is starts only when necessary ?

I have had a look to mine and it doesn't work when I turn the falcon ON....

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Post by christos »

The fan should always work yes. However there are various opinions on weather it is needed or not, it depends on where you live too. One good suggestion would be to check whether it has caught sth preventing it from spinning. In any case I think it would be easy to replace it but maybe one of the hardware gurus here can help you more.

Kris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 am
Location: Dept 35 - France
Contact:

Post by Kris »

Ok, thanks for your answer..I just opened the beast and found a wire not connected (sorry for my English); I have welded it and the fan works :)

My falcon was working since this morning non-stop without any warming concern (24°C today)

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Post by christos »

Great! Keep enjoying your falcon Kris :)

Kris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 am
Location: Dept 35 - France
Contact:

Post by Kris »

Finally, it was better before :(
The fan is a bit noisy, added to the noise from the hard disk.... :?

Anyway, I will change the HD by a CFlash: no noise, no heat :) and so no fan needed :)

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Post by christos »

I think I need to record the sound my hard disk makes. It overshadows my pc's three fans! Try to apply some lubricant to the fan.

Kris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 am
Location: Dept 35 - France
Contact:

Post by Kris »

Already done but nothing's changed :(
Better change the fan with a new one....

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Omikronman »

Yes, the fan is terrible. I had a little switch built into the Falcon in original case to turn off the fan manually, but the Falcon was not able to work long without the fan, so my switch-off option was nearly useless.
Last edited by Omikronman on Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5228
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I simply removed the fan and my Falcon is happy without it. In te original case that is. However I have no internal harddisk (just a solidstate one) andno CPU upgrade. The F030 gets warm but not much more than my STE does.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”