Falcon Doom

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Falcon Doom

Post by Womble »

This seems to be a topic that comes round every so often but all the links in previous posts all end in 404s now.

Does anyone know where I can get the falcon doom app (google only shows multiple links back to the offline french ftp site) or upload the file here?

Also can anyone clear this point up - is it possible to PLAY doom on a 030 falcon? Some sites (cached but dead) seem to hint you can and others strongly claim all you can do is "view" the doom wads.
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by ST Graveyard »

Check out the site of Patrice Mandin
http://membres.lycos.fr/pmandin/

Maybe that would help?

cheers,
grave
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

Oh ho - it most certainly would, I can see many late nights coming up.

Thanks muchly :)
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

What are the chances - between my getting my falc HDD replacement and getting the URL - the site goes offline. Hopefully its not a permanent outage. :(

Oh well probably should get some sleep anyway.
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11516
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

I can have a look amongst a wad of new downloads for it Womble .. but not until Sunday as it's drinks night tonight in Liverpool and computer fair tomorrow :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

Thanks that would be appreciated, my timing is terrible :D
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

Please tell me how to get the .wad files on a floppy disk even in .rip they dont fit and protos gave a dos/st program i could use to split it over 2disks but i never got it to work
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

I have 3 dooms for falcon but i havent a clue how to get the wad file onto the falcon (too big for floppy disk and i dont have a null modem cable) so im not too sure how well (if at all) any of them work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Sat Sep 03, 2005 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

None of your attached files seem to be there 030

404 File Not Found: The File files/bad_mood_104.zip does not exist.

Re getting large files onto the falcy - I had the same problem and I was recommended a program called XSplitt, a splitter program for TOS and PC. Problem was that I couldnt get the PC part to work. You can tell how old it is due to the fact it mentions 286s and 386s in the txt. It aint gonna get the DOS env its expecting. The problems I had were twofold. The PC version will not work on any XP machine with SP2 - apparently one of the patches broke the way the DOS shell handles really old stuff. I had a good google around and the only fixes for the problem "ie same error with other old DOS progs" didnt fix this one. So I dragged out my old lappy that has XP SP1 on and hasnt seen a network for about a year and tried it on that. It ran but wouldnt accept the parameters I gave it on the CLI as per the doco. At this point I gave up on the PC part and used STEeM to run the TOS bit.

I assume you have a folder set up within steem to act as the HDD. Copy your file in there with the xsplit.prg file. Run Xsplit (med res or its a mess) and use the emulator to split the file into 1.4Mb chunks. It drops these back to the HDD folder within Steem. Then copy them to floppies and dump onto the falc. Run the same prg on the falcon and you can choose to reassemble. Worked very well.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Post by tjlazer »

I vaguely remember tring it and was dissapointed, it ran and crashed, was slow, etc. Is there a better option out there? The Amiga has some great ports...
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11516
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

If you want, why not Multi-ZIP up the .WAD file into good old volumes (aka warez style!) DOOMWAD1.ZIP, DOOMWAD2.ZIP etc. files and then transfer them that way ..

You can specify what size volume to use (either 720 or 1.44)

... I am assuming though, that ST ZIP 2.6 can handle these?

Or maybe use LZH/ARJ if they will split into volume files?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Post by [ProToS] »

SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

Stupid bloody forum :/
It should work now it did just then when i tried them does this forum delete its files after a while?
anyway thanks for that split program ive got the wad file on my falcon. bad mood and doom074 are good speeds but you can only explore the level. Pm doom has everything working but it a bit too slow to use on my falcon (16mhz 14mb ram) I wonder is there anything i coulddo to speed it up?
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

Cool - i guess you re uploaded - i have all three now :) Thank 030
Fantomas
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 8:41 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Fantomas »

Womble wrote:What are the chances - between my getting my falc HDD replacement and getting the URL - the site goes offline. Hopefully its not a permanent outage. :(

Oh well probably should get some sleep anyway.
Patrice Mandin is waiting for an "atari.org" url for his new website located here:

http://perso.wanadoo.fr/patrice.mandin/

fantomas
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

Ah right - well I got falc doom running - I wouldnt choose to play the game on that platform but its interesting to see it. Rather jerky and no sound but otherwise pretty cool.
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

I've got another version with sound if you want it, but its extremely slow even with graphics turned to low and screen size very small.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Post by Womble »

Yeh I'll give it a try :)
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

Here it is.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

On the old version with no sound click the ttp file and put in -falcon8 as the perimeter and its playable even on full screen (but its a lot faster if you make the screen a bit smaller) Ive nearly completed the game on it as well :D
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Post by karlm »

does anyone know what happened to BadMood? It was looking mighty nice right up until everyone seemed to evaporate (Johan Klockars, Doug Little? et al)

was 3.16 the last release?

cheers

karlm
Fantomas
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 8:41 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Fantomas »

Do you know DOOM EMULATOR ENGINE by lord Chaos ?

Lord Chaos has coded the Falcon conversion of Doom - the legendary PC action game, Doom Emulator Engine (DEE.ZIP, 158 KB) which uses standard WAD files. This program needs more development because of its speed, but it is already a playable version

Here it is:

http://bigmac.eik.bme.hu/~marczi/down_e.html

Fantomas
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Post by 030falcon030 »

No I didnt know about it but I will try it, is it still being worked on?
Thanks.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re:

Post by kristjanga »

Fantomas wrote:Do you know DOOM EMULATOR ENGINE by lord Chaos ?

Lord Chaos has coded the Falcon conversion of Doom - the legendary PC action game, Doom Emulator Engine (DEE.ZIP, 158 KB) which uses standard WAD files. This program needs more development because of its speed, but it is already a playable version

Here it is:

http://bigmac.eik.bme.hu/~marczi/down_e.html

Fantomas
does any one here have this doom engine?
this download link does not work!
User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Falcon Doom

Post by NGF »

Sorry about resurrecting this old thread but what is the current status on the different ports of DOOM for TT/Falcon? Are anyone still active working on a source port?
Have any ports managed to get full speed on vanilla flavoured TT or Falcon?
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2
Post Reply

Return to “Games”