CT60 TOS source reloaded

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

Hoho, cool! Can you post a picture or two? ;)
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Beetle »

Yesterday atariforum.com was unavailable to me, so here it is now:
tower-of-power.jpg
sv-ethernat-ctpci-sandwich.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Beetle »

After some trouble i found out that Boot 1.04 and 2.01 (downloaded from github) need TOS4.04 in ROM.
I had EmuTOS in there which works great with boot 1.03c. 1.03c contains full TOS4, but 1.04 and 2.01 seem
to copy at least som parts from ROM at boot time.
With EmuTOS in the TOS-ROM socket, the standard font is a garbled pixel mess.

Additionally, CTPCI needs to be the first board on the CT-expansion bus. With the IRQ cable connected,
i can now run the SuperVidel and EtherNat on top of CTPCI and boot off the CTPCI's IDE port.

The boot up text screen, where firmware versions and PCI bios messages are shown are not readable on
SV output until SVXBIOS.PRG is run from auto folder. Usually, its only the Atari logo in the top left corner
thats messed up.

Conclusion for today: CTPCI, SV and EN can be active in one system.
Greets,
Beetle
What Atari do you want to modify today?
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

Another conclusion: CT60 TOS 1.04 (and up) needs the CTPCI, can't work without it.

So what would you like me to do now? Do you still want / need 1.03c with IDE support?
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Beetle »

Oh, yes, a 1.03c with just enough CTPCI that the IDE works would be great.
I just wanted to make sure all components still work before you start to code.
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Beetle »

knock, knock, i'm still hoping :D
What Atari do you want to modify today?
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

You're in line, mate. ;) Now I have the CT60e, things are going to be much easier.

Btw, don't overlook this post: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 74#p254425 ... it may be less worth it than you think. :-(
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

mikro wrote:You're in line, mate. ;) Now I have the CT60e, things are going to be much easier.

Btw, don't overlook this post: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 74#p254425 ... it may be less worth it than you think. :-(
Not sure what's with his configuration.
On my system the CTPCI IDE are at least 2x read speed of the falc IDE. Faster MINT boot up :D

These were done back in 2012 using Kronos:
Running on using MINT Falcon IDE:
DISK_READ=6.190; (Mo/sec)
DISK_WRITE=5.893; (Mo/sec)
DISK_MULTIREAD=38.669; (Mo/sec)
DISK_MULTIWRITE=36.499; (Mo/sec)
DISK_CREATE_DELETE=159.0; (op/sec)
DISK_READ_WRITE_CACHE=37.616; (Mo/sec)

Running on using MINT CTPCI IDE:
DISK_READ = 12 379, (Mo / sec)
DISK_WRITE = 12 851, (Mo / sec)
DISK_MULTIREAD = 40 215, (Mo / sec)
DISK_MULTIWRITE = 37 362, (Mo / sec)
DISK_CREATE_DELETE = 255.0; (op / sec)
DISK_READ_WRITE_CACHE = 39 010, (Mo / sec)

Actual thread here: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 62#p201637

My guess could be his write-back cache settings.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
Faucon2001
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Faucon2001 »

8O How did you get 6 MB/sec with the stock Falcon internal IDE?
If I remember well, Falcon IDE port spec is 2.5 MB/sec, and with a fast ide DOM I get 2.3 MB/sec.
You may be measuring the cache speed I guess.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeePi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

Directly getting the readings from Kronos, no special trick up my sleeves.
My guess is the same as yours.
Look at the MINT readings.
So long as both are measured the same way, the benchmark is valid.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
Faucon2001
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Faucon2001 »

May be yes, may be not, it could also depends on where the cache is stored and the way it is managed.
If it's STRam for Falcon IDE and TTram for CTPCI, you may be reading just the memory speed boost.
Anyway, CTPCI IDE has been reported to be 2x faster by other sources. I was just puzzled by these very high values.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeePi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
Faucon2001
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Faucon2001 »

Let me answer myself my bullshit comment. It has nothing to do with different cache speed (oops)
Multi read and multi write, which very likely use 100% cache only, are the same in both case. So the cache speed is the same in both case.
Regarding the conclusion we can only conclude that CTPCI IDE is faster, but not how much. Depending on the size of the cache and the size of the file used for testing, it can be less or more than 2x.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeePi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Ektus »

There are more ways to test this. As soon as the file is big enough, cache speed doesn't matter. For example, start Kobold and read a 10MB file into memory, and measure the needed time with a stop watch. It will not be very precise, but should show the actual speed gain good enough. For small files, reading the FAT, head movement in case of hard disks and other factors come into play.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

As Mint is configured and rest of hard ware is the same, cache by Mint should be the same area of memory ( TTram or STram).
HDD internal cache also the same, but may depend on where it's write/read but that's Kronos job.
So the speed up should be only due to the CTPCI speed increase.

if other ppl are not getting the speed up on the CF, my guess is that the bottle neck is the CF itself.
Important that the CF or HDD can go much much faster than the bus, so that you can see the speed up.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

Why not revive my original thread? :)

As foretold by Olivier here: viewtopic.php?p=447024#p447024 I've got the 2.02 Beta 11 source code from him.

First I had to reorganise my repository a bit: https://github.com/mikrosk/ct60tos. So now the history looks like this: ... 1.03c -> 1.04pre-a -> 1.04a -> TOS 2.00 + Drivers 1.00 -> TOS 2.01 + Drivers 1.01 -> TOS 2.02 Beta 10 -> TOS 2.02 Beta 11 + Drivers 1.02 Beta 11 -> ...

As mentioned in the readme file, TOS 2.0x didn't have source releases except the latest addition from Didier, Beta 11, which in turn has source code available but not binary files.

First I wanted to publish this as is because what do I know about building CT60 TOS images, right? Oh wait...

Okay, so I did take a look. After realising it is not that hard, I was able to successfully build everything for CT60/CTPCI. For FireBee it's quite strange, it tries to compile 68030 assembly files which are not compatible with ColdFire syntax/CPU restrictions... but that doesn't matter, this Beta 11 comes from July 2012, there have been more recent FireTOS releases than this so no reason trying hard to get it compiled.

So... if you feel adventurous, check out these two folders:
- https://github.com/mikrosk/ct60tos/tree ... h.tos/ct60 (boot.hex, ct60tos.bin, ctpcitos.bin, diag.hex)
- https://github.com/mikrosk/ct60tos/tree ... os/drivers (drivers.hex, radeon.sys)

Good news: at least ct60tos.bin is a valid image, i.e. it compiled and linked properly, it booted on my CT60e Falcon (despite the fact that the source code hasn't been patched for the CT60e flash memory IDs used)
Bad news: it doesn't seem to work without CTPCI (huh? what is ctpcitos.bin then for?), it disabled my Falcon IDE and booted into desktop without any disk detected.

So this is mainly request for CTPCI owners, please go and try those please. It wont destroy your setup, you can always flash your previous version back (even in 030 mode).

After I hear some good news, I'll put those images into the master branch.
foft
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by foft »

Wow 2.02 beta 11 source and a build. I thought it was lost forever. Will give it a spin…
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

Excellent, if I get some time over the weekend I will test it out.

As for TOS 2.02 Beta 11, I tested that on my Falcon many years ago.

I cannot remember what happened as it is over 10 years ago... I had to re-read my old emails from Aug 2012.
It seems like the following....
Czuba just returned my repaired CT63 board and it beta 4 on it. I was using the CTPCI ide and HDDriver was crashing. I think Rodolphe told me to ask Didier for a newer beta. So I asked and Didier emailed to me beta 11 and he mentioned he was using it since July.
It stopped the HDdriver crashing, but now HDDriver reports writes error.

Didier then goes on to say he is testing ctpci_1n but that version still freezes the ct63 and further mention that Rodolphe going on to another project.

That's the last of the emails... and I reverted back to beta 10.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

mikro wrote: Fri Jun 02, 2023 9:23 pm
Bad news: it doesn't seem to work without CTPCI (huh? what is ctpcitos.bin then for?), it disabled my Falcon IDE and booted into desktop without any disk detected.
may be you can set it back to falcon ide after you get to the desktop... by putting in a floppy with the Ct60.cpx on it. Go to one of the tabs and ther you can select which ide to use.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

Not a bad idea! Maybe I'll need to add the flash IDs from CT60e after all as it's quite possible those parameters written into the flash. Another thing I forgot to mention is that I have SuperVidel installed. Would be strange if that influenced IDE code but who knows.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

wongck wrote: Sat Jun 03, 2023 6:12 amSo I asked and Didier emailed to me beta 11 and he mentioned he was using it since July.
It stopped the HDdriver crashing, but now HDDriver reports writes error.
I think this is much closer to what I'm observing. I have not only verified that the boot is set to "Old IDE" but I have realised that HD Driver on C: actually is activated (booted) but can't recognise any partitions. So CT60TOS must be messing with something (GEMDOS?) so it confuses HD Driver.
User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by Ektus »

It should be interesting to check the differences to the May 6th. beta that for me is the only one with working network card (if the sources for that one are available, too). I haven't booted my CT63 Falcon in a long time, though, and having trouble with key repeats when moving the mouse doesn't do anything for my motivation to change that :-(
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

So here's what happened with the latest build test .... no difference from what I experienced 10 years ago... well I guess Didier did not fix the errors that i reported. Anyway, here is how the boot up looks, and the error... I thought it was HDDriver that reported that the drive may be damaged but it looks like it is the desktop. I did not retry and just cancel out of it.
ctpci_beta11.jpg
error_beta11.jpg
it nice to see a build with this month's date on even for just couple of minutes before I go back to beta 10.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

@Ektus: not sure what do you mean, May 6th version is Beta 10, the last unofficial public binary floating around. @wongck was able to test Beta 11 (which seems to be more or less the same version we have source code for now) but I haven't found any threads with anyone testing it with network. So I'm pretty confident that this Beta 11 would also work for you (ignoring the disk problem).

@wongck: thanks for testing! Didier definitely must have changed something between May and July. I see that there are some disk related changes between 2.01 and 2.02 so maybe someone will be able to take a look.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by wongck »

I guess the new beta 11 build test is to see if it is a successful build or not.... to which it would definitely be a successful build as the error are similar (as far as I remember) to the original 2012 beta 11.

If you want the original beta 11 that Didier build, I can provide to you for uploading to the github. it is just for completeness.
I did not mention this beta 11 anywhere (AFAIR) as I thought Didier wants to do that himself and not let a user brings the news.
In any case it was not working well for me.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4115
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 TOS source reloaded

Post by mikro »

@wongck: that would be wonderful, please PM the beta. It's always great to have 'official' binaries first (Didier used custom GCC builds in his Makefiles so I have no way of recreating the images 1:1 byte-wise).
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”