STE Frage

All about ST/STE demos

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
niki
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:40 pm

STE Frage

Post by niki »

i have an STE with 4MB TOS 2.06
some Demos not work on my machine one STE Demo says this is not an STE?? maybe an TOS problem?
Cheers
User avatar
1st1
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: STE Frage

Post by 1st1 »

That is because those Demos don't know about TOS 2.0x, they just look if they find TOS 1.06 or 1.62, and if not, that's not an STE (for those demos or games) ...
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
viking272
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 637
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: STE Frage

Post by viking272 »

Can you give an example of a demo that doesn't work?
evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: Devpac

Re: STE Frage

Post by evil »

Do you happen to have an IDE interface in the STe?

Some of my demos will have that bug if the STe have IDE :-( Atari Compendium _MCH cookiejar description isn't correct with regards to STe and IDE and I was foolish enough to trust it.
Anohter guy mailed us about that issue and I made him a little patch program that "fixes" the _MCH cookie for those demos. I will make sure eventual future STe-demos from us are fixed.

Here's the fixer-tool:
http://files.dhs.nu/files_util/mchfix.zip
User avatar
1st1
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: STE Frage

Post by 1st1 »

viking272 wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 8:07 pm Can you give an example of a demo that doesn't work?
The four ATARI France demos from CeBit 1990. :lol:
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
niki
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:40 pm

Re: STE Frage

Post by niki »

Das K.R.I.G. Demo sagt es ei kein STE
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2840
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: STE Frage

Post by mikro »

evil wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 9:34 pmAtari Compendium _MCH cookiejar description isn't correct with regards to STe and IDE and I was foolish enough to trust it.
I don't know which Compendium revision you'd read but this one: https://tho-otto.de/hypview/hypview.cgi ... &index=204 puts it quite clearly:
This cookie indicates the machine type with the major revision number in the high WORD and the minor revision number in the low WORD
So if you are checking also the minor revision for being 0x0000 it's a bug in code, not in the compendium. :)
evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: Devpac

Re: STE Frage

Post by evil »

mikro wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 7:50 am
evil wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 9:34 pmAtari Compendium _MCH cookiejar description isn't correct with regards to STe and IDE and I was foolish enough to trust it.
I don't know which Compendium revision you'd read but this one: https://tho-otto.de/hypview/hypview.cgi ... &index=204 puts it quite clearly:
This cookie indicates the machine type with the major revision number in the high WORD and the minor revision number in the low WORD
So if you are checking also the minor revision for being 0x0000 it's a bug in code, not in the compendium. :)
Compendium:

Code: Select all

Major  Minor  Shifter
0      0    ST
1      0    STe
1      8    ST Book
1     16    Mega STe
2      0    TT030
3      0    Falcon030
4      0    Milan
Toshyp:

Code: Select all

High    Low     Type
0x0000  0x0000  Atari ST (260 ST,520 ST,1040 ST,Mega ST,...)
0x0000  0x4D34  Medusa T40 without SCSI
0x0001  0x0000  Atari STE (1040 STE, ST-Book)
0x0001  0x0010  Mega STE
0x0001  0x0100  Sparrow (Falcon pre-production machine)
0x0002  0x0000  Atari TT or Hades
0x0002  0x4D34  Medusa T40 with SCSI
0x0003  0x0000  Atari-Falcon030
0x0004  0x0000  Milan
0x0005  0x0000  ARAnyM >=v0.8.5beta

The lower WORD serves for finer distinctions, and is defined only for the STE models at present. This can be:

0x001 = ST Book
0x008 = STE with IDE hardware
If we assume Toshyp is correct, which it looks like, then Compendium is wrong. $00010008 is STe+IDE, not ST Book as Compendium has it.
So I'll update the code to let $00010000 and $00010008 through as STe.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2840
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: STE Frage

Post by mikro »

evil wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 6:37 pmIf we assume Toshyp is correct, which it looks like, then Compendium is wrong. $00010008 is STe+IDE, not ST Book as Compendium has it.
So I'll update the code to let $00010000 and $00010008 through as STe.
Ah yes, it seems that Compendium messed up those two facts (minor word - finer detail but got it wrong which one).

However I still believe that checking for the high word *only* is the right thing to do. Because if there will be a hardware addon and the author chooses to update the _MCH cookie, your demos will again stop working.

Checking for (_MCH >> 16) == 0x0001 && ST-Low should be more than enough. Actually, maybe just checking _VDO would be sufficient if you are after STE video capabilities in your demos?
Post Reply

Return to “Demos - General”