EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

SO I have the microcosmosex ..

I was running emutos .9.2 and tried to run the ce_config.tos

Locks up the machine.. anyone running thier cosmosex with EMUTOS?

James
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Eero Tamminen »

EmuTOS v0.9.2 is really old (something like 7 years old). Would v1.1 work any better?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I think the sources for ce_config are available. If it still does not work, it should be possible to trace the problem down and fix it.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I personally use my own MicroCosmosEX today with EmuTOS 1.1.1

I got it working with EMUTOSDE.PRG loaded by hand from a floppy including the contents from the O: drive.
I also was able to use czietz's EMuTOS harddisk bootsector to create an ACSI SD card booting v1.1.1 from this one.
At least the CE main driver utility works fine when put in AUTO there.

However I had somewhat odd experiences with accessing a network share on N:
While I can run some programs from it (strangely, some do not work), I couldn't reliably copy files to my C: drive.
I wonder if there is an incompatibility with EmuTOS? EMUDESK mentioned something like "Couldn't copy file" but 0 bytes long files did came up.

As I also had some issues accessing my GOEX with Flashfloppy in this combination, I wonder if EmuTOS and the CosmosEX drivers do have some issues with another? Is there a possibility to fix them?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I have uploaded my SD card image for reference. (8GB, 2 partitions)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KtvRNR ... sp=sharing

I'd also trace some vectors or so myself If I get pointers where I shall look and how.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Copying from ACSI to Network drive N: or translated USB key seems to work fine.

CosmosEX software versions are as follows:
Bildschirmfoto_2022-01-17_19-44-04.png
IRC it told me "no updates available" when I check on Saturday....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

Simonsunnyboy, since you and I have the same device - MicroCosmos - and you have not seem to have had issues, do you ever read the raspbian HDMI output?
I am having issues again.. I am getting the warning it is getting under voltage.. tried with several different PSU.. same issue.

Do you power yours from the PI? or from the COSMOS - use the Mini? or the micro USB input? I have always powered the mini at the cosmos.. Wondering if we CAN power from the PI and that powers the comos?

James
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Bikerbob wrote: Tue Feb 22, 2022 8:23 pm Simonsunnyboy, since you and I have the same device - MicroCosmos - and you have not seem to have had issues, do you ever read the raspbian HDMI output?
I am having issues again.. I am getting the warning it is getting under voltage.. tried with several different PSU.. same issue.

Do you power yours from the PI? or from the COSMOS - use the Mini? or the micro USB input? I have always powered the mini at the cosmos.. Wondering if we CAN power from the PI and that powers the comos?

James
No I didn't crosscheck for error messages on the HDMI. I am am also unsure if my Raspi runs raspbian or Debian, I have to check that.

I am using a regular USB 3A power supply once sold as "for use with Raspberry Pi 3" since it wouldn't power from the USB port on my little monitor.
I still need to buy an extra PSU as I borrowed the one from my little other Raspi box with Recalbox.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I am using the Raspi microUSB btw, the MiniUSB on the Cosmos part never worked for me.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

simonsunnyboy wrote: Wed Feb 23, 2022 4:32 pm I am using the Raspi microUSB btw, the MiniUSB on the Cosmos part never worked for me.
This is great to know.. So you have never used the on/off switch on the cosmos then.. because that would be bypassed by using the power on the PI3..

OK.. good to know I can power from the PI3.. I still might try and get a better psu. but good to know!
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5455
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I found out that I am indeed using the Raspbian based CE system

SSH login tells me
root@cemini001's password:
Raspbian Jessie running on CosmosEx device.
cemini001 # w
19:49:18 up 10 min, 1 user, load average: 0.08, 0.03, 0.01
USER TTY FROM LOGIN@ IDLE JCPU PCPU WHAT
root pts/1 192.168.0.21 19:49 2.00s 0.11s 0.01s w
cemini001 # uname -a
Linux cemini001 4.4.26-v7+ #915 SMP Thu Oct 20 17:08:44 BST 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux
Sofar I was unable to find any power related issues within the logfiles.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

Hmmm I have no idea what my PW would be.. I could ssh in myself and check version.

James
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2745
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by mikro »

user: root, password: ce

The under voltage message should be visible in "dmesg" outout, IIRC.
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

mikro wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 5:57 am user: root, password: ce

The under voltage message should be visible in "dmesg" outout, IIRC.
Thanks Mikro.

I have now powered the device from the microusb on the pi3b - when I got this.. I remember I was told not to. This is the only way I can currently avoid the under voltage messages.

New 3amp psu on the way.. I will see if that works better.

James
TT030 - Light/Storm/Thun 256mb TT ram 10mb ST ram card(Lynxman) Nova(frank lukus) Mach32 2mb. 250gb SSD
MegaSTE - monSTer (alanH) RGB2HDMI(pixelk) 68kHC cpu - IDE CF 8gb internal.
MegaST - ICD ADspeed & Compatibility Plus
Phoenix ST - Exxos remake board - Lightning Storm Cloudy.
1088XEL, 800 incognito, 800xl U1mb.
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”