PC core released!

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
RealLarry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: PC core released!

Post by RealLarry »

Just played some games for some minutes (7 Cities of Gold, Cadaver, Elite, Epic, Flashback, Gods, Indy, Prince of Persia, Wolf3D, UW1) and must say WOW, everthing works at good speed and sound, where Adlib is supported. Haven't thought that this is possible with our beloved MiST.
:cheers:
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
User avatar
RealLarry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: PC core released!

Post by RealLarry »

[DELETED]
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by DanyPPC »

squid4 wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:27 am https://www.instructables.com/How-To-In ... irtualBox/ then copy over ManuFerHi's dos.rar
Thanks, it worked. :wink:
NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by NegSol »

Absolutely amazed by the performance - Wolfenstein 3d runs amazingly - even sound is great. Good job!!!! Another great core. :cheers: :cheers:

Just a note - everybody remember to update the firmware to get keyboard working.
ManuFerHi
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by ManuFerHi »

This core don´t support joystick, but with the line in ini
joy_key_map=<joystick button code>,<USB HID keycode>
keyboard can be remapped to joystick.
Televicious
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by Televicious »

OMG I was looking at this on open core last week. So happy. On an old PC frenzy rn too with 2 286's and an 8088. Can't wait to play with the 186. Awesome. So much RAM!
Televicious
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by Televicious »

Pretty cool, so far my only issue is that the screensize is pinched. Maybe I have to disable the scandoubler just for this core. though adding the line into the .ini didn't help that. Still playing around. Thanks for the awesome work!
GoingDown
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:20 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by GoingDown »

Can anyone tell what is the screen mode this core starts to? I cannot seem to get correct output on my CRT VGA monitor. Bios text flashes few times and then monitor goes blank, just as if the signal is out of range.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by DanyPPC »

It starts at 720 x 400 @70Hz for default. My Monitor says so, obviously in VGA mode.
Televicious
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by Televicious »

I made sure scandoubler was disabled for the whole system and my monitor still only detects the signal as 720x350 @ 70hz so vertical is squashed. Dell 1908FP monitor.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2410
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by slingshot »

The core doesn't use the scandoubler, it doesn't matter how you set it.
Televicious
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by Televicious »

I figured, just weird it's cutting 50 pixels vertically. Not sure how to resolve.
robinsonb5
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by robinsonb5 »

Televicious wrote: Sun Jul 18, 2021 9:07 pm I figured, just weird it's cutting 50 pixels vertically. Not sure how to resolve.
It could be due to sync polarity - maybe the H or V sync (or both) needs inverting? (Which will require rebuilding the core.)
I haven't found a spec for 720x350, but 640x350 is expected to have Positive HSync, Negative VSync, while both 640x400 and 720x400 should have Negative HSync, Positive VSync.

( https://glenwing.github.io/docs/VESA-DMT-1.12.pdf )
paultheg33k
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:09 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by paultheg33k »

Eh up. :)

Is it just me who can't get this core to output anything?

I'm connected on VGA to a HP L1940T screen which copes with anything else from the MIST (scandoubled where necessary) including ST High's odd vertical refresh, and the Viking mode too.

On booting this core, I get a solid amber LED after the flashing red core load, and no output to the screen - it reports no signal, not out-of-range.

I've got the .rbf and .rom in the root of the SD, with a Next186.VHD in there too with a working dos install. I've removed the VHD in the hope it'd just show a BIOS screen but still nothing.

No other issues with cores on the MIST; I've updated to the latest firmware.

Cheers! PC
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2410
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by slingshot »

I'm also using a HP L1940T. The only thing don't work on it is SNES in NTSC mode (+some tricky games on ZX81).
paultheg33k
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:09 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by paultheg33k »

slingshot wrote: Mon Jul 19, 2021 3:32 pm I'm also using a HP L1940T. The only thing don't work on it is SNES in NTSC mode (+some tricky games on ZX81).
Hmm, that's not my problem then! :?

Any idea what I might be doing wrong with the Next186?

Anything unusual about the way it handles reading the BIOS rom from SD?

PC
paultheg33k
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:09 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by paultheg33k »

paultheg33k wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 5:40 am Anything unusual about the way it handles reading the BIOS rom from SD?
It's not that; it seems to load the BIOS okay. The MIST is still running, as pressing F12 gives me the 'OSD visible/invisible' toggle on the USB debug output.

Code: Select all

 
ChangeDirectoryName: / -> / = /
OSD is now invisible
loaded_from_usb = 0
FPGA bitstream file opened, file size = 382549
[************************]
FPGA bitstream loaded
FPGA configured in 2236 ms
ident = a4
Identified 8BIT core
Sending core mod = 0
Core name from FPGA is "NEXT186"
Loading config /NEXT186.CFG
Looking for NEXT186.ROM
Preparing transmission for index 0
Selected 8192 bytes to send
....
Looking for /NEXT186.RAM
Looking for /NEXT186.VHD
selected 524288512 bytes to slot 0
File indexed in 3776 ms, index size = 4
INI_PARSER : Start INI parser for core "NEXT186".
INI_PARSER : Can't open file /MIST.INI !
sending keymap
OSD is now invisible
PS2 keyboard cmd: ff
PS2 keyboard cmd: f2
PS2 keyboard cmd: f0
PS2 keyboard cmd: 01
PS2 mouse cmd: ff
PS2 keyboard cmd: f3
PS2 keyboard cmd: 00
OSD is now visible
OSD is now invisible
OSD is now visible
OSD is now invisible


(Mist.INI on that SD card renamed to avoid that causing issues, VHD back in place)

PC
squid4
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by squid4 »

Is there any workaround for i386 required games? Lots of great games came out in 1993 but require the i386. The core certainly has the required performance. Wonder if ever a driver was produced to get a 286 to emulate a 386?
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2410
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by slingshot »

squid4 wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:40 am Is there any workaround for i386 required games? Lots of great games came out in 1993 but require the i386. The core certainly has the required performance. Wonder if ever a driver was produced to get a 286 to emulate a 386?
https://survpc.tripod.com/emu386/index.htm

But it won't help on games running in protected mode.
Televicious
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by Televicious »

Is there some PAL NTSC reason why the screen is vertically cropped? Maybe US monitors need 720x400 at 60hz or 640x400. Mine lists at 28.3Mhz for 720x400. I think a lot of samsungs are 31Mhz though. Wolf3D definitely seems to be peek gaming for this. Blake Stone runs, but is very slow. Can't wait to try standard mode windows. Also, I'm impressed with how butter smooth commander keen scrolls.
squid4
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by squid4 »

Any tips to get Monkey Isle 1 working? Tried a few different versions including Total DOS collection but blank screen at start. Monkey 2 works fine.

Shall I setup a spreadsheet we can add game status and tips to?
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by DanyPPC »

Here Monkey 1 work flawlessy.
But I cannot use the mouse, does anyone know a working driver for the USB mouse ?
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2410
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: PC core released!

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote: Wed Jul 21, 2021 4:16 pm Here Monkey 1 work flawlessy.
But I cannot use the mouse, does anyone know a working driver for the USB mouse ?
From the core's point of view, it's a PS2 mouse.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: PC core released!

Post by DanyPPC »

Ah, ok.

But I think I have to install a driver for that.
User avatar
guidol
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:14 pm
Location: Mudanya - Tuerkiye

Re: PC core released!

Post by guidol »

slingshot wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 9:18 am
DanyPPC wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 9:13 am Simple VHD files
It doesn't look like that simple:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=23850
Maybe the fixed variant could work.
I have gone another way ;)
I had a working MS-DOS 6.22 german from my TTGO VGA32 with FabGL-PCEmulation in form of a .IMG File
I used Starwind Software V2V Converter from https://www.starwindsoftware.com/starwind-v2v-converter
(you need to register for the free software for getting the download-link)
Its a Windows GUI program which I used to convert
from "Local File-> .IMG"
to "Local File -> Microsoft VHD/VHDX-> Microsoft VHD pre-allocated Image" (these are 2 steps in the GUI-Menu)

To get the content from DOS.RAR into my VHD I used ImDisk from https://sourceforge.net/projects/imdisk-toolkit/
to mount the image as a drive and then copy the content and unmount the virtual drive.

The Problem with ImDisk is that it hide CONFIG.SYS/AUTOEXEC.BAT/COMMAND.COM/IO.SYS -
so you have to deactivate HIMEM.SYS before converting the image - because HIMEM.SYS dosesnt work :cry:
With the files from DOS.RAR the system works with XMS/EMS and UMB :D
Also 4DOS 8.00 does swapout to XMS
NEX186_CONFIG_SYS.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by guidol on Wed Jul 21, 2021 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”