New board: MonSTer

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Joelolsen
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:26 am
Location: Socal

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by Joelolsen »

Great news! Let us know when we can order !
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by alanh »

Fujiyama wrote: Fri Dec 11, 2020 10:06 am That's great news Alan!
Will you be providing the STe version as well?
Yes.

I have some limited quantities of boards.

After a quick count.

5 x MegaSTEs
3 (or 4) x STE
10 x ST/MegaST

Once those are gone, I'd need to get some more boards ordered.

First MegaSTE board is in the cleaner to verify it..........
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

PM sent for an STE board!
dragmar
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:01 am

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by dragmar »

email sent for an STE board!
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by trecool »

pm sent for one ST board
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by mikro »

Interested in one Mega STE board as well, PM sent.
User avatar
DoG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by DoG »

Sent PM. One MegaSTE and one ST/Mega.
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by saulot »

Intersted in one ste board. PM sent..
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by alanh »

I've had a few PMs over the last few hours.

Bear with me folks. They take time to solder and test. And the boards I mentioned above, are bare unsoldered boards.

I've just tested 1 x STE, and I'm half-way through a MegaSTE board.

I think I might not be able to provide the Interrupt cables for the IDE, so it's likely you'll need to make your own.

Let me solder up the rest of the boards I have and I can really verify how many I have available, as I've had bad PCB's before even after soldering all the components which is a real problem, then having to work out what does or doesn't work. That's time consuming trying to find any faults, on top of testing both IDE ports, testing the ALT-RAM and the FLASH.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
scsilord
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:24 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by scsilord »

Sent PM. One MegaSTE board.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by alanh »

Ok, quick update as I didn't want people to think I've stopped again :-)

Been focusing on the MegaSTE boards and had a few soldering issues, eyes not being as good as they used to be.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by alanh »

Getting 5x MegaSTE MonSTErs ready.

I just need to make the IDE interrupt cable.

Thought folks would like to see some progress.....
MegaSTE-MonSTEr.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Nice!
User avatar
umberto1st
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:23 am

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by umberto1st »

I woulf love to get the MSTE version
800, 2) 600XL, 2) 800XL, 1) 1200XL, 2) 130XE, 1) XEGS, 2) 1050,2) 810, 1) 850, 2) 1040 STFM's, 1) 4160 STE, 1) MEGA ST2,1)Mega ST4,1)Mega STE, 1) FALCON CT63+CTPCI+Radeon, 1)FALCON STOCK 14 MEG CF IDE, NEMESIS NOT INSTALLED, 1) 2600, 2)5200, 1) 7800. 5)JAGUAR's, 3) JAGUAR CD UNITS, CATBOX, SKUNKBOARD ECT. Lynx II, Lynx I..
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by MegaSTEarian »

Sent pm to @alanh with my Santa wishes :)
StephanL
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:41 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by StephanL »

Hello Alan,

I need an (MonSTer) IDE board for my STE. It would be nice if you have one for me.

Thank you.

I cant write a PN bcs I am new here and I have only registered my account as I saw, that you have new monster boards.

In hopeful waiting....
Last edited by StephanL on Thu Dec 31, 2020 11:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
StephanL
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:41 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by StephanL »

Hello Alan,

I cant answer in the message box, so I say thank you here, for adding me to your list.

Greetings
Last edited by StephanL on Thu Jan 07, 2021 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by alanh »

Ok, I've been in contact with everyone I've been PM'd or emailed.

If you haven't had a reply, please check your PM's first.

If you still haven't had a reply it's likely I've not got you down for a board, so you'll need to PM me directly.

At this point it's likely people will end up on a pre-order list for a new batch and until the numbers get to a point for ordering there could be some delay.

Thanks everyone for your interest.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
Malfunction
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 9:22 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by Malfunction »

alanh wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 12:34 pm At this point it's likely people will end up on a pre-order list for a new batch and until the numbers get to a point for ordering there could be some delay.

Thanks everyone for your interest.
Hey Alan,
Isn't it too late for me to enroll for MonSTer for STE list?

All the best,
Malfunction/Altair
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5104
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by joska »

Updated MonSTer tools/drivers. This time with instructions too!

https://atari.joska.no/monster/
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
dbsys
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by dbsys »

joska wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:53 pm Updated MonSTer tools/drivers. This time with instructions too!

https://atari.joska.no/monster/
Thanks a lot!
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by mikro »

joska wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:53 pm Updated MonSTer tools/drivers. This time with instructions too!

https://atari.joska.no/monster/
Wow, I had no idea about those until now, thanks a lot!

Btw, while reading this:
Each partition is then divided into two parts. One part which is available at the 0xFC0000 address (classic ST) and one which is available at the 0xE00000 address (STE, Mega STE). The TOSSEL jumper determines which of these the ST will boot.
Isn't there a way to enable both parts to flash/boot from 0xE00000? I mean if I have a MegaSTE, it seems like a waste to be forced to 192 KB ROMs for the 1st part.

If the flash size is 2MB, it would be cool to have an option to boot four full-featured TOS images instead of just two.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5104
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by joska »

No, there is only one E00000 image on each "partition". I agree this limitation is a bit annoying. Maybe it can be changed with a firmware upgrade, I haven't asked Alan about this.

The E00000 image can be anywhere from 256Kb to 768Kb though, so you can use 512Kb EmuTOS if you like. Or have a 512Kb "ROM-disk" or something in addition to TOS.
Last edited by joska on Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Thanks!
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Post by MegaSTEarian »

joska wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:53 pm Updated MonSTer tools/drivers. This time with instructions too!

https://atari.joska.no/monster/
Cheers Joska, thanks a lot!


Question: So when the TOS versions are flashed, are the "old", usual TOS ROMs being used as well? Do they need to be installed for the Atari to boot or can they be removed? This way 1040STe can have 2.06 without the need for the mods.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”