Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Eero Tamminen »

IMHO crouch jump could still be easier, I'm still failing with it maybe once every 3 jumps. Or maybe I've just lost my droid skills... Is somebody else having problems with the crouch jump still?
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

I can easily add more to the delay if it's still a problem. I've played through the game a bunch of times on both joystick and PowerPad and the crouch jump has seemed to work well but that's the trapping of being the only one testing it. Can you try the original Droid game and see how the crouch jump feels compared to mine?
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Eero Tamminen »

junosix wrote: Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:02 pm I can easily add more to the delay if it's still a problem. I've played through the game a bunch of times on both joystick and PowerPad and the crouch jump has seemed to work well but that's the trapping of being the only one testing it. Can you try the original Droid game and see how the crouch jump feels compared to mine?
Sorry for the late reply.

I think your version leaves marginally less time to switch from down to up for crouch jump than the original game, but the difference is really, really small. I guess it just worked better / more naturally with a real joystick on my STfm than with joypad on Hatari that I'm currently using.
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by AtariCrypt »

Yes!!!! :D
AtariCrypt - Atari ST gaming website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by kodak80 »

junosix wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:03 pm Update - added music, tweaked a few things
Thanks for the update. I cannot get the joystick fire button to work in Steem so cannot get past the initial title screen?

EDIT: Just tested in Hatari and the joystick works there to get past the title screen but no firing in the game.

Music does not seem to impact on game performance. :D
STF Remake H4/H5 | Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Greaseweazel, Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Creator of the ST Action & Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://chillichai.com
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Joystick works for me on Hatari and on a real STE so no idea!

EDIT - you need to collect your weapon first...
Last edited by junosix on Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1197
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by dma »

Woah great title music! (cool to see your advanced music system used in a game) And also cool to have some music in-game too. 👍
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Thanks man :)
User avatar
sporniket
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by sporniket »

I saw the video, the improvement is impressive. I might give it a try soon.
User avatar
sporniket
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by sporniket »

I just gave it a little try and it's really nice to play.

Playability wise, I'm a bit annoyed that holding up do not make the droid jump continuously. I may be too used to Mario, Rick dangerous and such platformer.
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Have added a map to the pause screen (replete with glitchy CRT effect), and some instructions to the title screen (and balanced the levels between the title music and ingame music). Hopefully this will help players find their way around a little better!
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by AtariCrypt »

Cool!!
AtariCrypt - Atari ST gaming website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Looks nice, can't wait to try!
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Marakatti »

I also tried the latest version, but the fire button is not recognised by STeem 4.02. The earlier STe-version without title music works fine.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Weird. Works on a real ST and on Hatari.

EDIT - Must be a Steem thing. I tried Steem SSE 4.0 and had the same problem, but then tried the oldest version available (SSE 3.4) and it worked fine.
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Here's the answer: https://sourceforge.net/p/steemsse/foru ... 807fb6d40/

Should work now! See updated file below.
Last edited by junosix on Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Argh! After getting that working and testing with a mouse plugged in, I found an extra problem as a result of my keyboard handling code not filtering out mouse packets - the scancode for the key I used to quit the current game (ESC) could also be generated with mouse movement. "Move the mouse to die" isn't exactly a feature I want in the game, and the quickest solution to that without rewriting anything is to change the key - so that's now F10.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Marakatti »

Wow! Many thanks for fixing it :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Thanks for the heads-up, too! Wouldn't have spotted it otherwise.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Works nicely! Maybe you could add the same keyboard help showing to the pause screen as what you have on game startup?

(That way user only needs to remember 'P' for accessing the help & map.)
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

Wouldn't be impossible but there are only half a handful of controls to remember so it wouldn't add anything to the game. Have to draw the line at putting more things in. I hope people enjoy it!
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5293
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by joska »

junosix wrote: Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:54 am Argh! After getting that working and testing with a mouse plugged in, I found an extra problem as a result of my keyboard handling code not filtering out mouse packets - the scancode for the key I used to quit the current game (ESC) could also be generated with mouse movement.
You can disable mouse reporting by writing a single 0x12 to the keyboard.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Droid: STE Edition - WIP thread

Post by junosix »

A misnomer for me to say mouse packets perhaps; does writing $12 to keyboard disable port 0 completely or does mouse movement still count towards joystick port 0 input even with that control code written? My joystick interrupt just runs anything that isn't a joystick 1 packet off into a byte in memory that gets used later in the game loop to check for keyboard input, so anything that could be construed as input on port 0 would also be stored there. It's a basic approach but as I only need a few keyboard keys of input it seems to work just fine for this particular purpose (as long as I am careful to choose which keys are used).
Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”