Extend the sound system for MiNT

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
AtariTrek
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:54 pm

Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AtariTrek »

Excuse me if I am wrong about this.

I have been wondering if it would be a good idea to make a multitasking friendly alternative to control and play sound.
An application would be able to open a sound channel for sound output/input.
That way all the sound channels would be routed to the main output with EQ and Volume.
Also sound functions like Pan would be accessible, or even simple Reverb or Bit Conversion and Dither if programmed that way.
A great programmer could make proper exchangable routines for machines like the ST, Falcon or the Firebee and so on.

So I guess I am seeking a MiNT developer programmer.

Cheers

/AtariTrekkie

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AdamK »

Falcon could do it with DSP. ST is to slow for such OS level infrastructure, Firebee probably could do it, but it would require a lot of CPU time to do that.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

AtariTrek
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AtariTrek »

Hello AdamK!

Yes I wrote the ST but obviously it is too slow (theoretically).
However EQ and Volume on the master output should be doable?
Thank you for replying and listening.

/AtariTrekkie

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1925
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by Cyprian »

AtariTrek wrote:Excuse me if I am wrong about this.

I have been wondering if it would be a good idea to make a multitasking friendly alternative to control and play sound.
An application would be able to open a sound channel for sound output/input.
That way all the sound channels would be routed to the main output with EQ and Volume.
Also sound functions like Pan would be accessible, or even simple Reverb or Bit Conversion and Dither if programmed that way.
A great programmer could make proper exchangable routines for machines like the ST, Falcon or the Firebee and so on.

So I guess I am seeking a MiNT developer programmer.

Cheers

/AtariTrekkie
there is something like that - Zmagxsnd / Magxsound and X-SOUND
All of them provide Falcon's compatible audio Xbios functions


More you can find there: https://mikrosk.github.io/xbios/
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by mfro »

AdamK wrote:... Firebee probably could do it, but it would require a lot of CPU time to do that ...
The FireBee could easily do it (and much more), probably even without any noticeable CPU load.

It has a fully AC97 2.0 compatible audio subsystem including mixer and the ColdFire µC even brings fully AC97 compatible UARTs to couple to using AC-LINK. Together with the ColdFire's 16 channel MDMA (that can control the UART without CPU intervention), this allows feeding the AC97 with virtually zero CPU load.

It just requires somebody to code it.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AdamK »

AtariTrek wrote: Yes I wrote the ST but obviously it is too slow (theoretically).
However EQ and Volume on the master output should be doable?
On ST master volume is trivial as long as You do not need to change it in realtime, as it is provided in HW.
EQ would take to much CPU time.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1084
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by ThorstenOtto »

As Cyprian already mentioned, most of that functionality is already present through Falcon compatible XBIOS functions. Having something like /dev/mixer on mint would be more unix-like, but would be another interface, requiring all sound applications to be updated to make use of it. If you look at https://github.com/SDL-mirror/SDL/blob/ ... E.MiNT#L75 , you will notice that there are already way too many.

AtariTrek
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AtariTrek »

So, it is a matter of backwards compability together with the issue about CPU and machine power.
However MiNT is machine-aware, so I feel that at least volume should be present, and possibly a VU-meter or "Activity" when appropriate?
But hey, that just me.. lol
I still love these old (and new) machines, so it is cool to "push" them further when possible, into the future.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by AdamK »

MiNT has never really did anything with audio hw. There is an outdated ancient unix compatibile /dev/snd driver, but it was never really used by anyone and has not been maintained for years.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by 1st1 »

Xou can make Falcon's compatible audio Xbios functions to support AMiga's Paula soundchip. That would be usefull for Vampire-user.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1925
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by Cyprian »

1st1 wrote:Xou can make Falcon's compatible audio Xbios functions to support AMiga's Paula soundchip. That would be usefull for Vampire-user.
this is not possible.
amiga (including Vampire) has no enough power to support, on the software level, Falcon's compatible audio Xbios.

But Vampire team can add necessary code directly in FPGA - interleaved SDMA, Sound Matrix ,Codec, and DSP.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by 1st1 »

If firebee can do, vampire should, too. Don't forget AMMX capapilities, this should be as powerfull as DSP.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1925
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by Cyprian »

1st1 wrote:If firebee can do, vampire should, too. Don't forget AMMX capapilities, this should be as powerfull as DSP.
nope. there is no enough power to emulate DSP neither with ColdFire nor 68080.


But they add DSP support directly in FPGA code
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1004
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by shoggoth »

Cyprian wrote:
1st1 wrote:If firebee can do, vampire should, too. Don't forget AMMX capapilities, this should be as powerfull as DSP.
nope. there is no enough power to emulate DSP neither with ColdFire nor 68080.


But they add DSP support directly in FPGA code
One doesn’t have to emulate the DSP to add a useful standard XBIOS audio API. Just look at similar solutions for the Milan, MagicMac, Hades. Or STFA.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Extend the sound system for MiNT

Post by mikro »

I guess Cyprian means also the sound matrix emulation. Otherwise shoggoth is right, there's no reason why one couldn't implement Falcon compatible XBIOS sound driver.

Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”