How many Micro Cosmos out there??

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

I am an owner of the above.

Not sure if the ONLY differences are the lack of scsi and floppy but there is little to NO documentation out there that mentions the Micro.

Jookie, if you read this.. How many did you make?? just the one batch?

My main weird issue right now is that I have a Shared drive.. that I did not create.. that I cannot seem to get rid of.. I did not RESET everything.

I have no USB drives in it. I have no network shares, and no SD card.. but its there. I know the microSD the Rasp Linux is on is 8gb.. Is it possible that the shared drive was put on the OS MicroSD card???

If so.. is that good? bad? I have no way that I know of to find the path for it.

James
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1945
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Cyprian »

unfortunately I never heard about that.

Do you have any details about Micro Cosmos? photos, prices?
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Jookie »

> How many did you make?? just the one batch?

Just one batch. But there is no difference when it comes to hardware betweeen MicroCosmos and the CosmosEx v1, except it lacks the floppy connector. So everything that applies for normal CosmosEx applies to MicroCosmos.

> My main weird issue right now is that I have a Shared drive
> If so.. is that good? bad? I have no way that I know of to find the path for it.

Just ignore it for now if you don't have any other issues with it...
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

Well I do have issues in that I wanted to used a shared directory from my Qnap as a common directory I can save all my ST stuff. I have disabled OR lets say not clicked ENABLE on the Shared drive.. and its still there??? I am going to assume its part of the Raspian image??

James
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

Also my Hardware ver. says 2 - but its closer to ver 1 in the hardware?

James
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Jookie »

> I have disabled OR lets say not clicked ENABLE on the Shared drive.. and its still there???

You mean just the desktop icon? Well, it could be removed from the desktop when not enabled... If it comes from the auto-generated desktop.inf, maybe there's a minor bug not disabling the shared drive icon in desktop.inf when it's not enabled...

> Also my Hardware ver. says 2 - but its closer to ver 1 in the hardware?

No, you are right, it's ver. 2, not ver. 1 - it has the larger Xilinx which was used later, not in v.1, so it's v.2.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Just for the record, a happy Micro Cosmos user here.
Never had issues with any shared drive.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

NO.. I mean.. with it NOT enabled.. I have a WORKING SHARED drive. Thats what I mean.. I can access it.. write to it.. if I go to the conf program.. there is not asterix beside enabled.. but its there.

I cannot use ANY OTHER shared drive..

James
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

simonsunnyboy wrote:Just for the record, a happy Micro Cosmos user here.
Never had issues with any shared drive.
what software versions you running? and what version of Raspbian?

James
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Bikerbob wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote:Just for the record, a happy Micro Cosmos user here.
Never had issues with any shared drive.
what software versions you running? and what version of Raspbian?

James
I seriously have no idea. The thing always worked well for me with the software supplied on the enclosed SD card.
I am pretty sure, I never installed any update or other distribution. I don't even know which distro is in use on mine.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

So if I download the latest image on Jookie site since I have v.2 I should be ok? Just swap out the sd card.. and see it boot all good?

James
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Bikerbob »

I have all my stuff working on mine now.. in general.

Now I am trying to use it on my new to me PAK68/3 - which seems to be working great.. except that I can only read from the cosmosex.. not write. Not between SD and USB.. not SD TO SD.. not floppy to SD OR USB.. weird. Using HDDRiver 10.15 btw

If you read this jookie.. how different is the way Ultra Satan does things, than Cosmosex for the SD hdd??

James
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: How many Micro Cosmos out there??

Post by Rustynutt »

Old thread, did another group take up this project.
Late to the game, looks neato.
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”