ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

jpxdude wrote:Love that we have ScummVM as an option! Thank you so much!

I tried this today with MI 1 and 2 talkie versions and they work well. I did try using the MT32 emulator with MT32 ROMs on MI2 but it was awfully slow/stuttery/unplayable unfortunately. The dream would be to have MT32 or SC55/SC88 working in FPGA concurrently with ScummVM running. Wow that would be amazingly awesome...

I have a couple of hardware MT32 units and an SC55 mk2, just need to find my midi cables and power supply. Will try soon. Thanks for this!!
I never recommended using the MT-32 emulation (with ScummVM) as I always suspected it would require more CPU than is available. FluidSynth requires far less CPU, so I would suggest that.

For those MT-32 specific games (such as Sierra), I would encourage the use of ao486 or Minimig cores using the "UART: MIDI" option as it will free up a dedicated CPU for MUNT. Those games are typically older and as such run fine on ao486.

Yes, I would be very nice if "someone" would make an open source HDL MT-32/CM-32L implementation. Perhaps the already existing FM (Adlib/OPL3) could be integrated as a start. It would also be nice if there was a MPU-401 implementation for ao486...

I worked on ScummVM for the purpose of running the later 640x480x256/true-color CD games which can't be run on ao486. The vast majority of those don't support MT-32 as a sound option...

Also, if you do get new power adapters (which might be advisable) for your vintage Roland devices, please be aware that the center pin of the barrel jack is NEGATIVE 9V - which seems to be less typical.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

I have updated the ScummVM build to the latest...

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... ScummVM.sh

"Install_ScummVM.sh" will now download the latest "ScummVM_Installer.sh"

I suggest using this script as opposed to "ScummVM_Installer.sh" directly.

Install options can be specified in "Install_ScummVM.ini",

See README for options --> https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... /README.md

Blade Runner game is very playable now, although the FMV still has some sync issues.

Thanks to NML32 for testing configuration options! --> https://youtu.be/pWEY7e-3pKw

Other games also show performance increases.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

Howdy,

ScummVM for MiSTer has now been updated to 2.2.0.

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... ScummVM.sh

Let me know if there are any problems...

Thanks :)
Jeruro
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:19 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by Jeruro »

Thanks :cheers:
nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by nico24 »

I seem to have a very bad lag on the sound with ScummVM. Is there any way to changes settings to get rid of this lag?

Thanks.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

nico24 wrote:I seem to have a very bad lag on the sound with ScummVM. Is there any way to changes settings to get rid of this lag?
I think that may be more of an issue with our current Linux ALSA audio implementation than ScummVM itself. Try and save your progress and exit all the way out of ScummVM (back to the Script Menu) then go back in, reload saved game and see if has regained sync.

Further integration/optimization of the Linux ALSA sound implementation will hopefully correct this but will require a Linux kernel update.

Also, some supported games do have some documented flaws (such as audio sync). Check here --> https://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Cate ... rted_Games
and here --> https://www.scummvm.org/compatibility/
danytyler
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:40 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by danytyler »

After 15 minutes testing Full Throttle, the game becomes unplayable due to the obvious lag in the sound.
Waiting for a solution to this, because in this way ScummVM is not useful to play.
cyb4
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:29 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by cyb4 »

Is there a way to install ScummVM 2.2 manually without the installer script? (I can't get a network connection on my device)
mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by mahen »

Hi !

Kinda appreciate the ScummVM port too, as a nice bonus. As my MiSTer is my only gaming machine (and actually the only machine I try to keep in the main room -- trying not to get too polluted with screens with the kids and for myself too) it enables me to play games that have a bad Amiga port (or none).

ANYWAY my question is the following : quite a few games have a better MT-32 soundtrack. Munt cannot be used ATM due to performance issues.
-> would it be possible (?) to raise the priority of Munt ? Or to increase some buffer or reduce the sound quality or something ?

A compromise is to set "fluidsynth" as the favorite device and use a proper soundfont, but not to enable "MT 32 support". It seems although I'm not too sure, ScummVM tries to convert the MT32 soundtrack into a GM one. It sounds awkward but it's OK. (the result is NOT the same as enabling "Fluidsynth" output in the MT-32 tab which is just horrible).
Amiga user non-stop since 1993 ;-)
Win 1997-2001 / MorphOS 2002-2005 / Linux since 2005
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

mahen wrote: ANYWAY my question is the following : quite a few games have a better MT-32 soundtrack. Munt cannot be used ATM due to performance issues.
-> would it be possible (?) to raise the priority of Munt ? Or to increase some buffer or reduce the sound quality or something ?
MUNT internally has some options. I'm not sure if/how those are exposed and can be used with the ScummVM integrated MUNT.

Code: Select all

-m : Manual buffering mode (buffer does not grow)
-a : Automatic buffering mode (default)
-x msec : Maximum buffer size in milliseconds
-i msec : Minimum (initial) buffer size in milliseconds
-l mode : Analog emulation mode (0 - Digital, 1 - Coarse, 2 - Accurate, 3 - Oversampled 2x, default: 2)
Again, I really don't recommend using ScummVM to play MT-32 games...

All MT-32 supported games are older (386 era) games and as such can be run under ao486 (using MidiLink) where MUNT gets a dedicated ARM CPU to pretty much to itself.

My intention by bringing ScummVM to MiSTer was the ability to run newer SVGA/TrueColor/Pentium games which are way beyond the capability of ao486.
danytyler
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:40 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by danytyler »

Any progress on the audio delay in scummvm games?
seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by seastalker »

Setup question: Windowed or full screen options still seem to put games in a small window in the middle of my 40 inch monitor. Do I need a filter or setting to make the image fill the screen in proper aspect ratio? I would love to see someone like Smokemonster or Firebrandx do a tutorial video on all the suggested OPTION menu settings in the ScummVM Mister port, especially for audio/video, and include suggestions like "for FM Towns, play here, but for MT-32 audio, play using the ao486 core."

I am late to the party but I give a huge and loud THANK YOU to BBond007 for ScummVM on Mister. I learned about it first from SmokeMonster's video. No disrespect to naysayers but for me, it is simple. I don't care about official or unofficial. I'm happy for any bonus functionality any device offers. If you don't want ScummVM, which you have to go slightly out of your way to get to begin with, skip it and save the sd card space. If Mister gets Kodi, Plex or Retroarch, fine by me. For me, my 512gb micro sd was thirsty, even AFTER adding PCECD, Jaguar, JaguarCD, and the negligible footprint of Intellivision, 7800 and Lynx to the mix in hopes of cores yet available. I can only see PS1 needing me to use a USB hard drive.

I have the complete 2.1.0 "Electric Sheep" setup now and have thus far only loaded and played a few minutes through of several titles, but am blown away! I played 'Beneath A Steel Sky' and completed it on a PC build of ScummVm a while back, and the experience made me want to have ScummVM on a standalone device. To me, I was amazed that I can play 90s games as recent as Myst and Riven [WITHOUT disc swapping?? Wow!] on a computer that can fit in my pocket like a deck of cards! No installing and minimal setup. Blade Runner and Tomb Raider III were the last PC games I had and even if not perfect, I am amazed I can jump in on B.R. on MiSTer. It is also a great feeling to have an up to date complete set for the first time.
danytyler
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:40 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by danytyler »

I'm sorry to have to refloat this thread. But I see that people are happy for having achieved scummvm in mister, and I join those congratulations, but I can´t forget the fact that no game can be played due to the delay that occurs after a few minutes of playing between the audio and the video.

I see that no one has started playing a game.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by Sorgelig »

danytyler wrote:I'm sorry to have to refloat this thread. But I see that people are happy for having achieved scummvm in mister, and I join those congratulations, but I can´t forget the fact that no game can be played due to the delay that occurs after a few minutes of playing between the audio and the video.

I see that no one has started playing a game.
it should be fixed some time ago.
djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by djmartins »

solskogen
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by solskogen »

How do I add ScummVM as a option in the menu?
Neo666
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:17 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by Neo666 »

Is it possible to send the MIDI music in MISTer ScummVM to an external device? I want to test it with Munt running on my Windows PC just see how it compares to the AO486 core, but can't see any option to do this. Thanks
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by BBond007 »

Neo666 wrote:Is it possible to send the MIDI music in MISTer ScummVM to an external device? I want to test it with Munt running on my Windows PC just see how it compares to the AO486 core, but can't see any option to do this. Thanks
It is possible if you connected both together using two USB MIDI adapters, but ScummVM does not have an option to send MIDI over the network.
Neo666
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:17 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Post by Neo666 »

BBond007 wrote:It is possible if you connected both together using two USB MIDI adapters, but ScummVM does not have an option to send MIDI over the network.
Thanks for the info
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”