Absolute mouse coordinates

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Sorgelig »

kitrinx wrote:opened 5( 5): /dev/input/event8 (054c:05c4) 4 "00:00:00:00:00:00" "Sony Computer Entertainment Wireless Controller"
opened 6( 5): /dev/input/event6 (054c:05c4) 5 "00:00:00:00:00:00" "Sony Computer Entertainment Wireless Controller Touchpad"
not related to gun, but wonder why BT ADDRESS are all zeros? Fake/3rd party PS4 gamepad?
User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by kitrinx »

Sorgelig wrote: not related to gun, but wonder why BT ADDRESS are all zeros? Fake/3rd party PS4 gamepad?
I don't know why that's there, there is nothing paired or in use with the mister. Also odd it didn't show the 8bitdo M30 or my keyboard or mouse which are all connected?

Edit:
Here is a LSUSB if it helps
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Sorgelig »

it lists one Sony Wireless controller. Probably one of your controllers mimics DualShock4.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Locutus73 »

kitrinx wrote:I don't know why that's there, there is nothing paired or in use with the mister. Also odd it didn't show the 8bitdo M30
Sorgelig wrote:it lists one Sony Wireless controller. Probably one of your controllers mimics DualShock4.
Now that I think about that, 8bitdo controllers in Apple mode show up as “Wireless Controller”.
Is your m30 in Apple mode?

Regards.

Locutus73
Beaps
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Beaps »

Could you not just chop the end off an official Wii sensor bar and wire it to USB for MiSTer?

Image
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Locutus73 »

Beaps wrote:Could you not just chop the end off an official Wii sensor bar and wire it to USB for MiSTer?

Image
I don’t see the use of this... on PC it is used in order to directly pass raw Wiimote communications to the guest emulated Wii in Dolphin emu, but here we aren’t emulating Wii and we need software abstraction to use Wiimote as old Lightguns and/or controllers.

Regards.

Locutus73
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Newsdee »

I guess you can use it to power an original wii sensor bar?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Sorgelig »

Wii sensor bar is just passive device containing IR LEDs.
It's up to you how you can power it. There are several guides in internet about converting the power to USB power.
Alternatively you can buy a 3rd party bar with USB connector already attached.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Locutus73 »

Newsdee wrote:I guess you can use it to power an original wii sensor bar?
Oh, I totally misread the post, I thought he wanted to use the original Wii Bluetooth module with USB (as someone does with Dolphin emulator for BT passthrough).
Ok, ok... powering the original sensor bar by USB.

I ordered this
https://www.ebay.it/itm/352453701724
and this
https://www.ebay.it/itm/153118796464
to achieve this goal.

Regards.

Locutus73
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Sorgelig »

Origianl Wii Sensor Bar has too many LEDs connected in sequence, so it needs more than 5V to power.
To convert it to 5V, you need to short one LED on each side and remove the resistors:
you can check this article:
https://rolandtapken.de/blog/2017-07/mo ... wer-supply
Author is wrong in LEDs current calculation but in general article is correct.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Absolute mouse coordinates

Post by Locutus73 »

Sorgelig wrote:Origianl Wii Sensor Bar has too many LEDs connected in sequence, so it needs more than 5V to power.
With this https://www.ebay.it/itm/352453701724 I should be able to feed the sensor bar with 7V.

Regards

Locutus73
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”