C64 Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Post by Sorgelig »

This is not true.
You can reset with ctrl-lalt-ralt and cart will remain plugged.
Mares
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by Mares »

thanx I didn't know that
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Post by ericgus »

Anyone have a problem with the c64 core, after say loading a PRG or D64 .. then doing a CTL-ALT-ALT to reset the core (or using the reset button), the keyboard stops working correctly just resulting in gibberish, I tried a few older cores and the problem starts with the 19.02.20 version of the core (version 19,02.16 is the last most recent version that seems ok) and is also this issue seems to be in the current version of the core.. Once you reset the core the keyboard input stops working normally, .. sometimes if you ctl-alt-alt a couple times you might get the keyboard back to responding normally.. its a bit weird.. wondered if anyone notice this too?

edit: I noticed you dont even have to load a program just using the reset button or ctl-alt-alt can trigger the keyboard input problem. but running a program first then doing a reset seems to trigger it for certain.
Noggin
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:43 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by Noggin »

ericgus wrote:Anyone have a problem with the c64 core, after say loading a PRG or D64 .. then doing a CTL-ALT-ALT to reset the core (or using the reset button), the keyboard stops working correctly just resulting in gibberish
Yes, I have the same problem. For example, the usual jiffydos shortcut SHIFT-ESC (Run/Stop) doesn't work after a reset and instead switches between upper- and lowercase.
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Post by ericgus »

Looks like Paradroyd figure out the issue somewhat.. seems the modifier keys get "stuck" and the core thinks the key is being held down (when its not)

seems if you try tapping either (or) both alternatively the left CTL or the left ALT a few times it will eventually restore the functionality when it gets messed up after restarting the core.. He mentioned other cores sometimes are afflicted with this issue as well (FXcast atari st core being one he mentioned).. hopefully he will post a reply and explain his findings in detail but it seems to be a bug with the keyboard handler ..
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C64 Core

Post by Paradroyd »

ericgus wrote:Looks like Paradroyd figure out the issue somewhat.. seems the modifier keys get "stuck" and the core thinks the key is being held down (when its not)

seems if you try tapping either (or) both alternatively the left CTL or the left ALT a few times it will eventually restore the functionality when it gets messed up after restarting the core.. He mentioned other cores sometimes are afflicted with this issue as well (FXcast atari st core being one he mentioned).. hopefully he will post a reply and explain his findings in detail but it seems to be a bug with the keyboard handler ..
Basically, it's any modifier key that can get stuck. It could be either ALT key. Sometimes the CONTROL key or even one of the shift keys, though if it happens with one of the shift kys things will generally still work, you'll just have caps when you shouldn't. The problem seems to be that it's sometimes missing the key-up event(s) when the core resets. Tapping whichever modifier key is "stuck" will send the proper key-up event and release it.

I've really only seen this particular problem on the 64 core (though it could exist elsewhere).. The input issue I've seen on FXcast is a completely different (probably unrelated) problem.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Post by Sorgelig »

i will fix it.
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C64 Core

Post by Paradroyd »

Sorgelig wrote:i will fix it.
Thanks!
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Btw, before i fix, the following way make the reset without sticky keys: press LALT+LCTRL and while holding them quickly press the RALT and release. Then release LALT and LCTRL.
I always reset this way - that's why i never encountered sticky keys. If i release LALT+LCTRL first and the release RALT then i get sticky CTRL.
I have no idea yet which part of system or core causes this problem.
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Post by ericgus »

Sorgelig wrote:Btw, before i fix, the following way make the reset without sticky keys: press LALT+LCTRL and while holding them quickly press the RALT and release. Then release LALT and LCTRL.
I always reset this way - that's why i never encountered sticky keys. If i release LALT+LCTRL first and the release RALT then i get sticky CTRL.
I have no idea yet which part of system or core causes this problem.
for what its worth, I tested previous versions of the core and the problem seems to surface with the 19.02.20 version and all the ones after, so perhaps its specific to the core.
djsquare
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by djsquare »

I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by Lroby74 »

djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:
Please test both sides of Flimbo's Quest tape and see if accept Side B of it, thank you
djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by djmartins »

djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:
Me too!
Let's hear it for Sorgelig!
SegaMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by SegaMan »

djmartins wrote:
djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:
Me too!
Let's hear it for Sorgelig!
Same here, thx Sorgelig! :cheers:
djsquare
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by djsquare »

In case everyone forgot by now. Jiffy DOS will not load tapes, you'll need to use the original C64 kernel.
NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by NegSol »

Just to check if I am the only one - C64_20190415.rbf is not giving HDMI out.
C64_20190413.rbf works just fine. Anybody else having trouble with the latest release? :shrug:
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by BBond007 »

NegSol wrote:Just to check if I am the only one - C64_20190415.rbf is not giving HDMI out.
C64_20190413.rbf works just fine. Anybody else having trouble with the latest release? :shrug:
I'm getting HDMI video with C64_20190415.rbf on my elgato HD60pro capture card and my Samsung monitor.

After updating with the updater script I did initially have no video (also no power LED) on my older MiSTer, so I deleted the .rbf and replaced it manually and it worked after that. Maybe try that if you have not already...

The problem I have with that release (which is not present in C64_20190413.rbf) is data corruption on the USER port serial UART.
NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by NegSol »

Yes, I used the update script. Will try a manual write over tomorrow. I would not think the script is the problem. I will report back the result. 8O
NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by NegSol »

C64_20190415.rbf works now. I had an FS problem with the SD-Card. Maybe this resulted from using an update script and ftp in parallel. So pro tip: make sure the FS on the SD-Card is consistent and be careful not to write ftp while using script. :oops:
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1836
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by slingshot »

BBond007 wrote: The problem I have with that release (which is not present in C64_20190413.rbf) is data corruption on the USER port serial UART.
Maybe the "Timer B bug"?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Post by Sorgelig »

NegSol wrote:C64_20190415.rbf works now. I had an FS problem with the SD-Card. Maybe this resulted from using an update script and ftp in parallel. So pro tip: make sure the FS on the SD-Card is consistent and be careful not to write ftp while using script. :oops:
I don't think so. Linux is pretty much multitasking system and can easily work with such conditions.
The problem is resets. If you reset too quick after writing then there is a chance not all date will be written. There is a once per 5 second force sync. So, give a time more than 5 seconds after last write before doing the reset.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Post by Sorgelig »

slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?
it seems new flag_n behaviour.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1836
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Post by slingshot »

Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?
it seems new flag_n behaviour.
It can be reverted, I only tested the change with tape loading.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by BBond007 »

slingshot wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?
it seems new flag_n behaviour.
It can be reverted, I only tested the change with tape loading.
I tried reverting this change, which did reduce occurrences of the corruption a great deal, but not completely eliminate it.

https://github.com/bbond007/C64_MiSTer/ ... 7100f07103

I have never encountered this corruption with C64_20190413.rbf.

There is some more discussion of the problem starting here -->

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 50#p372322
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Post by BBond007 »

There is now a port of Super Mario Bros to the C=64.

It works very well on MiSTer and supports the dual SID option, although the sprites positions do seem to be a little shifted to the right compared to the background. It may be due to the game using the VSP-technique for scrolling?

https://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic ... 62&start=0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”