New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

Hi everyone!
I've written an autoexec menu/boot program called insaneBOOT,
which allows you to select multiple boot configs consisting of multiple programs.
A bit like XBOOT and other Boot Managers but with one big difference:
insaneBOOT does not sort your auto folder on a config change.
In fact insaneBOOT does not write anything to your HDD/CF!
Classic boot managers always reorder the auto folder on each config change which means write cycles.
As I'm fully working with CF-cards in my Falcon I try to minimize those.
The cons: no way to change .acc, .inf or .cpx files. Not possible without write cycles.
If some of you find it useful then please leave some feedback so that I can release a v1.0 final.
Download 1.0 beta via ftp: ftp://untergrund.net/users/insane/atari/autoexec.zip
(ftp as long as my http://insane.tscc.de page stays down)
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
marss
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:29 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by marss »

useful ;)
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

Note that you can always run MinT tools like cp and mv with parameters (look at the autoexec.cfg for an example) to copy .acc, .inf or .cpx files :)
insaneBOOT can run programs with command line options
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Can I call things like NVDI from these sequences aswell?
Because then it would be truely flexible.

Neat idea in any cas, esp. the "no write to drive" policy.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Bug: it tries to read CFG file from A:AUTO instead of from boot drive (C: in my case).
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

@simon: yes- that's exactly what it is for. :) and i also use it this way
@Eero: weird; i use dgetdrv to get the current drive. Works fine on my Mega STE and Falcon
OTOH i only tested it with tos 2.06 and 4.04
Which TOS do you use?
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

@Eero:
I've modified insaneBOOT to not ask about the "current" drive but rather simply use \AUTO\AUTOEXEC.CFG.
I think this still stems from testing. Can you please download it again - it should present itself as b20190228.0949.
If this doesn't work then I can try to use the boot drive set by the BOOTDEV $446.w Variable
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

update 1.0beta build 20190315.1505:
- restructured code to not run inside supervisor mode
-> fixes no-keyboard-input when ran inside mint.cnf

get it on http://insane.tscc.de
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by Beetle »

Awesome! You can easily use that to choose your desired screen resolution at boot time:

- make small textfiles, one file for each res in c:/screen.res/ folder:
640x480: 640.cfg

Code: Select all

video=0x401c
1280x720: 1280w.cfg

Code: Select all

video=0x441c
- make screen.cfg file from autoexec.cfg as template, save next to autoexec.cfg in auto folder

Code: Select all

...
.item 640x480
c:/mint/bin/cp.ttp c:/screen.rs/640.cfg u:/ram/screenres.cfg

.item 1280x720
c:/mint/bin/cp.ttp c:/screen.res/1280w.cfg u:/ram/screenres.cfg
 
and add line xaaes.cnf

Code: Select all

include u:/ram/screenres.cfg
right below

Code: Select all

video=0x(whatever you use most)/code]
which will be you fallback...

then add 
[code]exec c:/auto/autoexec.prg screen.cfg
to mint.cnf file

This example was for SuperVidel users and only covers 2 res, but i have like a dozen different
resolutions defined in my setup. InsaneBOOT makes it so convenient to choose!
What will you want to choose at boot? Network or without network? DHCP or static?
Run CDROM driver or not? You can easily config which Desktop to run, too!

Thank you Insane, the most versatile Bootmanager i came across!
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by Eero Tamminen »

insane wrote: @Eero: weird; i use dgetdrv to get the current drive. Works fine on my Mega STE and Falcon
OTOH i only tested it with tos 2.06 and 4.04
Which TOS do you use?
Latest EmuTOS, with Hatari GEMDOS HD emulation.
insane wrote: I've modified insaneBOOT to not ask about the "current" drive but rather simply use \AUTO\AUTOEXEC.CFG.
This works fine, thanks! (and sorry for the late reply)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by wongck »

Beetle wrote:Awesome! You can easily use that to choose your desired screen resolution at boot time:
I been doing something similar to this since Helmut implemented MINT.CNF style include into XaaES.CNF, but by using STOOP.
In addition to video, I also made selections for Sparemint, AES and desktop as well. With STOOP I just pick these 3 items from different "board".
STOOP of course make writes to the HDD.

I am sure you can also do the same with Insaneboot, don't let the creative juices slow down!! :megaphone: :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by ctirad »

insane wrote: In fact insaneBOOT does not write anything to your HDD/CF!
Classic boot managers always reorder the auto folder on each config change which means write cycles.
As I'm fully working with CF-cards in my Falcon I try to minimize those.
Why? Do you plan to reboot 1000x per day for next 100 of years? ;)
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by simonsunnyboy »

If I would us this to load Emutos from harddisk (using the official emutos.prg) , how will the boot manager behave on its second call?
E.q. boot manager in AUTO, and Emutos will execute AUTO again on its initialisation.

Maybe something like .emutosquit could be added?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by ThorstenOtto »

simonsunnyboy wrote:Maybe something like .emutosquit could be added?
I may be wrong, but doesn't emutos.prg quits when it detects that it is already installed? If not, it should do so. At least if it is the same version as the one already running.

If it does not quit, that feature should be added. InsaneBoot is certainly not the only bootmanager that will be affected, so it does not make much sense to add a emutos-specific command there.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Emutos.prg itself is probably not the problem but I don't know how well this program file version cleans the rest of the memory.

But If I selected Emutos, I probably don't want to end in a boot loop.

Any other useful ideas to have Emutos as an boot option and using Insane Boot? I like the "no write to disk" policy and do not intend to burn Emutos to EPROM yet.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by ThorstenOtto »

This is mainly a problem of emutos.prg, since it will execute the programs in the AUTO folder again. Other programs won't do that. It's actually similar to run MagC from the auto-folder, there you also boot twice, but the 2nd time magxboot.prg detects that Magic.ram is already installed and does not load it again. So you will see the bootmanager twice, but (hopefully) not in an endless loop.
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by Rustynutt »

JoEven, could you comment on this setup with the AB drivers? Bit over my head. :)
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

I have something planned regarding this. A kind of flag system - I already have the reset-proof (I hope; gotta check with emutos) remember-last-selection byte. I am planning to use something similar to allow "continuing" booting a certain selection.
But this'll still need some time. I'll keep you guys updated.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Take your time, your work on this sleek little tool is very appreciated! Works fine already!
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4724
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by joska »

Rustynutt wrote:JoEven, could you comment on this setup with the AB drivers? Bit over my head. :)
The AB driver will copy TOS to RAM, patch it (MMU setup, fast-RAM, cache etc) and jump to the new TOS image. TOS will then of course start again, and the AB driver will be run for a second time. But this time it knows that the AB has already been set up so it doesn't do anything (well, it does, but for simplicity...).
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by Rustynutt »

joska wrote:
Rustynutt wrote:JoEven, could you comment on this setup with the AB drivers? Bit over my head. :)
The AB driver will copy TOS to RAM, patch it (MMU setup, fast-RAM, cache etc) and jump to the new TOS image. TOS will then of course start again, and the AB driver will be run for a second time. But this time it knows that the AB has already been set up so it doesn't do anything (well, it does, but for simplicity...).
:) Love simplicity. Haven't thought it through yet what implications a boot manager would have with the AB loading and patching. Still working in setting up Zoro :)
Honestly, my Afterburner set up is so tried and true, really never changing, thought having a bootable ROM would be less hazardous than a 20 year old flaking CD disk for storage :)
Still need to make an emutos boot rom to test the 060 and adapter on the AB.
If I were any further behind, I'd be kissing my own arse!
User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by mrbombermillzy »

Im guessing everyone here is using Mint for this? Im using plain TOS on a TT.

Ive got a NOVA card that I would love to setup different resolution boots for, but unfortunately, it seems Menu.prg cannot find Menu.inf unless its in the AUTO folder, which kind of defeats the whole point.

Unless theres an easier option, perhaps I can use some sort of GEMDOS utility to copy the files to the AUTO foler before the VDI card drivers need the files. Is there such a utility? Many thanks for any help here guys :)
wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by wietze »

mrbombermillzy wrote:Im guessing everyone here is using Mint for this? Im using plain TOS on a TT.

Ive got a NOVA card that I would love to setup different resolution boots for, but unfortunately, it seems Menu.prg cannot find Menu.inf unless its in the AUTO folder, which kind of defeats the whole point.

Unless theres an easier option, perhaps I can use some sort of GEMDOS utility to copy the files to the AUTO foler before the VDI card drivers need the files. Is there such a utility? Many thanks for any help here guys :)
To achieve this, I just took the move/copy binaries from mint and run them from insaneboot iirc.
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

Whelp. Time to dust of that code - v1.0 20200429 is released.
This uses a "menu.cfg" file in the current directory if it can find it; else it will default to \auto\autoexec.cfg or whatever the commandline says.
Get it on my homepage, as usual.
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
insane
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contact:

Re: New Boot "Manager" insaneBOOT

Post by insane »

Just remember that you don't need the menu.cfg as possible default change if you simply cascade autoexec.prg:

Code: Select all

.item Submenu1
c:\auto\autoexec.prg c:\auto\submenu1.cfg
.item Submenu2
c:\auto\autoexec.prg c:\auto\submenu2.cfg
.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990 | http://insane.tscc.de
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”