Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

Neuro wrote:I was thinkong searching it in the load rom module.
If i found somenthing i will post it here.
The ROM loader on the ARM side is a generic one, used from ZX81 to Genesis. Also there isn't a large buffer space on the MCU for storing the whole ROM and search in it. I don't say the searching cannot be implemented in the FPGA (the A2600 core is a small one, there are plenty of space), but I don't have any motivation to do it. A good exercise for who want to learn some HDL coding.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by DanyPPC »

Is there hope to play Scramble with this fantastic core ? :)
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

DanyPPC wrote:Is there hope to play Scramble with this fantastic core ? :)
Or Mappy :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

Scramble uses a custom chip (called DPC) in the cart, like Pitfall II. Unless someone implements it, these games won't work.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by DanyPPC »

Ah, ok. I didn't know about it. Thanks.
Neuro
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by Neuro »

slingshot wrote:Scramble uses a custom chip (called DPC) in the cart, like Pitfall II. Unless someone implements it, these games won't work.
Victor Trucco, has an implementatiom od the dpc for the atari 2600 core.
You can see it here:
https://gitlab.com/victor.trucco/Multic ... oFlash.vhd
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

New release:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 190111.rbf

- Fixed the FE mapper (Decathlon, Robot Tank)
- Some TIA fixes (Frostbite, Combat, Out of Control)
- Fixed the keyboard handler (for F9 and F10)
- Added Victor Trucco's DPC chip implementation for Pitfall II Lost Caverns. Need a .p2 extension to activate it.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:New release:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 190111.rbf

- Fixed the FE mapper (Decathlon, Robot Tank)
- Some TIA fixes (Frostbite, Combat, Out of Control)
- Fixed the keyboard handler (for F9 and F10)
- Added Victor Trucco's DPC chip implementation for Pitfall II Lost Caverns. Need a .p2 extension to activate it.
Wow. Thanks!! :cheers: Hope soon new titles like Mappy and Scramble will work also.

How about some Parker Brothers titles like Star Wars: The Arcade Game and Supercharger games in .bin format? :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

vebxenon wrote:
How about some Parker Brothers titles like Star Wars: The Arcade Game and Supercharger games in .bin format? :D
Parker Bros games are usually use the E0 mapper which is implemented (just rename the file to xxx.E0). You can check in the Stella emu cartridge info if not sure.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:
vebxenon wrote:
How about some Parker Brothers titles like Star Wars: The Arcade Game and Supercharger games in .bin format? :D
Parker Bros games are usually use the E0 mapper which is implemented (just rename the file to xxx.E0). You can check in the Stella emu cartridge info if not sure.
Ok :-) , thanks for the info. Also Frogger now is more playable. Screen isn't now always shaking.

Thanks again! :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

Hi :D What are the new features on a2600_190113.rbf?

Thanks! :D :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

Just some fix to the previous fixes :)
+ a joystick swap option.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by DanyPPC »

I have out-of-sync on most games through the YPbPr Cable, as the previous SMS core, then fixed.

Is it possible to fix this problem on A2600 core too ?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

On SMS, the blanking and vertical sync generated by the core, that can be fixed, on A2600, it's up to the game when these events are happening, not much I can fix in the core.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by DanyPPC »

Ok, I understand. Thanks for the explanation.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

I've found issues with two Sega games on last 2600 core:

- Sub Scan, game starts, but then screen goes black and I need to reset MiST.
- Tac Scan, game starts, but there are a lot of graphical issues :shrug:

Thanks for your work! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

Did they work previously?
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:Did they work previously?
Sub Scan yes, Tac Scan had the same graphical problems.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

Here's a test version which fixes Tac Scan, but need some help to test if the fix doesn't break something else.
Sub Scan works on TV for me, maybe just the sync signals are confusing the scandoubler on VGA.

Tac Scan abuses the hardware a bit, as the Stella Programming Guide says:
motion registers should not be modified during the 24 computer cycles immediately following an HMOVE command. Unpredictable motion values may result.
Guess when it writes to HMBL reg?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:Here's a test version which fixes Tac Scan, but need some help to test if the fix doesn't break something else.
Sub Scan works on TV for me, maybe just the sync signals are confusing the scandoubler on VGA.

Tac Scan abuses the hardware a bit, as the Stella Programming Guide says:
motion registers should not be modified during the 24 computer cycles immediately following an HMOVE command. Unpredictable motion values may result.
Guess when it writes to HMBL reg?
I've tested all the games I have in my card (302 normal games and 16 superchip), and I've only found a problem on Pole Position, speed indicator is now corrupted. But for example, on Donkey Kong Remake (Super Chip) http://atariage.com/forums/topic/206497-dk-vcs/ now although still not well, texts between stages are better displayed, before they were corrupted.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1800
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by slingshot »

vebxenon wrote:
I've tested all the games I have in my card (302 normal games and 16 superchip), and I've only found a problem on Pole Position, speed indicator is now corrupted. But for example, on Donkey Kong Remake (Super Chip) http://atariage.com/forums/topic/206497-dk-vcs/ now although still not well, texts between stages are better displayed, before they were corrupted.
Great, thanks.
Donkey Kong's shfited texts are only off by 1-pixel (Atari pixels are pretty large). Will be a good hunt for it.
Upd.: another test version attached
Donkey Kong Remake, Tac Scan, Pole Position, Juno First are ok for me.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

There's a new Core :D versión..What's the changelog? :cheers:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... ores/a2600

Thanks!

PS: I didn't see last test version :oops:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

I've done now my tests. This core is nearly perfect :D :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1009
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 games that do not work on the latest core

Post by vebxenon »

Pac-Man 8K now works like a charm! :cheers: :cheers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLrYmNCAUBk

Download it here :cheers: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/229152 ... try3298369 (pacman2600_8k_v5.bin)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”