Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

Post Reply
bodomalo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:47 am

Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by bodomalo »

Hi

Sorry if this topic has been covered before, I googled but could not found a real answer:
Is it possible to have 2 mice controllers on the Atari steem Emulator, running on Windows 10?

Is there some special configuration I need? Settings in files?
Do I just connect 2 USB mice to my laptop and it should work?

I am absolute new to this emulator, but would love to play the 2-player version of lemmings again.
I think there is an Amiga version too (but I had an Atari as a kid, so I would like to stay with that). I only found a very old forum message from year 2005 about the amiga500 2-mice emulator solution.

I believe these are the game files I need, stx ? http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st ... _9822.html
(nope, I do not have any floppy disks since a long time :-( )

On lemmings I may have spend 1000 hours of playing, and another 3000 hours on Arkanoid :-D

Thanks!
Bodo

User avatar
YQN
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by YQN »

Replying to a rather old message but I don't think you can have 2 mice on a PC, the easiest way to play Lemmings with mice is probably to use a ST, if someone knows a way to do that on a PC, please tell!

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by catmando »

YQN wrote:Replying to a rather old message but I don't think you can have 2 mice on a PC, the easiest way to play Lemmings with mice is probably to use a ST, if someone knows a way to do that on a PC, please tell!
Unlike the Amiga, the ST hardware doesn’t support the use of two mice.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

Not directly, but Lemmings had some code to be able to use 2 mices. Also, you can have many mices on PC, no problem.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by Cyprian »

catmando wrote:
YQN wrote:Replying to a rather old message but I don't think you can have 2 mice on a PC, the easiest way to play Lemmings with mice is probably to use a ST, if someone knows a way to do that on a PC, please tell!
Unlike the Amiga, the ST hardware doesn’t support the use of two mice.
there is no hardware limitation in this area. the mouse uses the same pins as joystick. ST allows you to reprogram IKBD processor.
If I remember the only issue is the second button, due to joy port #2 supports only one button.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
YQN
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by YQN »

AdamK wrote:Not directly, but Lemmings had some code to be able to use 2 mices. Also, you can have many mices on PC, no problem.
How do you use 2 mice on a PC?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

I think there's confusion whether you can connect and use two mice to control the same pointer (which works out of the box) and using two mice to control different things which won't easily work since there is no API to allow an application to distinguish between the signals received from two mice
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

TomH
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:47 pm

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by TomH »

Sorry to be contrary, but as of Windows XP software can accept input from multiple mice independently by using the Raw Input API. Ditto on the Mac you can use the HIDManager, and it's pretty safe to assume that Linux has something.

EDIT: Googling for the Linux answer, somebody has created a cross-platform wrapper library for multiple mouse handling, and per a GitHub mirror of that code, Linux will provide separate /dev entries per mouse, but preferably you can use XInput2.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

YQN wrote:
AdamK wrote:Not directly, but Lemmings had some code to be able to use 2 mices. Also, you can have many mices on PC, no problem.
How do you use 2 mice on a PC?
Howewer you want.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Wow. Another lesson learned ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4003
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by ijor »

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Wow. Another lesson learned ...
Hats off to your humility. Many people here don't have half of your knowledge but would never reply like this.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core

TomH
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:47 pm

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by TomH »

To be fair, it’s almost wilfully obscure — the only reason I noticed it is that Apple more or less forces you into direct device enumeration and management in order to read joysticks, and I ended up being curious about the Windows equivalent of that.

User avatar
YQN
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by YQN »

AdamK wrote:
YQN wrote:
AdamK wrote:Not directly, but Lemmings had some code to be able to use 2 mices. Also, you can have many mices on PC, no problem.
How do you use 2 mice on a PC?
Howewer you want.
Thank you so much for this insightful contribution to the thread.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

YQN wrote:
AdamK wrote:
YQN wrote: How do you use 2 mice on a PC?
Howewer you want.
Thank you so much for this insightful contribution to the thread.
You're welcome.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
YQN
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by YQN »

AdamK wrote:You're welcome.
Why are you so reluctant to being useful and/or friendly?

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

YQN wrote:
AdamK wrote:You're welcome.
Why are you so reluctant to being useful and/or friendly?
I'm nothing but friendly. Maybe not useful. Let me correct myself: google that.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
YQN
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by YQN »

AdamK wrote:
YQN wrote:
AdamK wrote:You're welcome.
Why are you so reluctant to being useful and/or friendly?
I'm nothing but friendly. Maybe not useful. Let me correct myself: google that.
That is a significant increase in usefulness, thanks. Friendliness you're not quite there yet frankly but eh one step at a time innit? Keep it up! :cheers:

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by catmando »

Cyprian wrote:there is no hardware limitation in this area. the mouse uses the same pins as joystick. ST allows you to reprogram IKBD processor.
If I remember the only issue is the second button, due to joy port #2 supports only one button.
Would love someone to prove this and hack lemmings to work on real ST hardware with two mice...
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

catmando wrote:
Cyprian wrote:there is no hardware limitation in this area. the mouse uses the same pins as joystick. ST allows you to reprogram IKBD processor.
If I remember the only issue is the second button, due to joy port #2 supports only one button.
Would love someone to prove this and hack lemmings to work on real ST hardware with two mice...
I think it does already.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by AdamK »

Double post, please remove.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by catmando »

AdamK wrote:I think it does already.
Pretty sure there isn't, I played this tons back in the day with @Dal on hacked copies and we had to take turns swapping between mouse and joystick (as mouse always gave the player a little bit of an advantage)

Incidentally, I made this request some years ago in this thread http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... ce#p262443 - see 14th post down
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by Cyprian »

For anyone interested in ST keyboard processor programming.

There you can find IKBD protocol:
https://ia800208.us.archive.org/6/items ... 5_text.pdf

And great Tobe's topic with examples with source code how to program keyboard processor HD6301
http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=5297
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Lemmings with 2 mice on windows 10 - Atari Steem Emulator?

Post by catmando »

Cyprian wrote:For anyone interested in ST keyboard processor programming.

There you can find IKBD protocol:
https://ia800208.us.archive.org/6/items ... 5_text.pdf

And great Tobe's topic with examples with source code how to program keyboard processor HD6301
http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=5297
If the info is there, all we need is a genius to make it happen :)
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

Post Reply

Return to “Steem”