SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
crocky
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by crocky »

Ok thanks then I will try some other files :(

ghogan42
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by ghogan42 »

crocky wrote:Ok thanks then I will try some other files :(
The US version of Super Street Fighter II should also work.

crocky
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by crocky »

Finally the card was unable to boot and I did an error check on windows and now both SSF2 and S Bomberman 2 are working. I shall keep in mind to do this next time before posting.

markun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:03 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by markun »

The game "Super Mario All-Stars + Super Mario World (USA)" has a regression since release 20181206. In the main menu the cursor keeps scrolling to the right and does not land (exactly) on a game poster. Pressing the START button results in a menu that is almost completely out of the screen.

In 20181201 it worked fine. I just tested 20181207 and it's unfortunately still broken.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by olin »

Does MiSTer SNES core support VGA output? I can't manage to make it work on my de0ns. I've also recompiled MiSTer main arm binary just to be sure.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

Yes, it supports VGA.

Jeebs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Jeebs »

markun wrote:The game "Super Mario All-Stars + Super Mario World (USA)" has a regression since release 20181206. In the main menu the cursor keeps scrolling to the right and does not land (exactly) on a game poster. Pressing the START button results in a menu that is almost completely out of the screen.

In 20181201 it worked fine. I just tested 20181207 and it's unfortunately still broken.
I saw this same issue as well. Mario All Stars without Mario World works just fine too.

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by olin »

Thanks for the confirmation. On other cores I can see this (or similar) line printed on the console when the core starts:

Code: Select all

INFO: Video resolution: 641 x 568, fHorz = 31.3KHz, fVert = 50.1Hz, fPix = 27.99MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1996799, HDMI = 0
But on my build of SNES core I can't see that. I guess MiSTer main did not detect the video mode for some reason - most likely because of my mods. The core runs, because I can enter the OSD menu (not displayed) and load another core (blindly, pressing right arrow, enter, up arrow, enter). I must have missed something then.

314ter
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by 314ter »

In Final Fantasy V, the english translation (GBA port patch, but also other patch versions) I can’t get past the title screen.
When you press start button, the title logo flies toward you and the music fades, but the the screen stays black while the music keeps playing softly. The previous core versions also show this behaviour.
Can anyone confirm this? Or does anyone know a fix for this?

widge
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by widge »

Hello,

I have VGA signal on other console cores but not on SNES.

Updated MiSTer to MiSTer_20181208.

Updated SNES to SNES_20181207.rbf

Am I missing something?

Thanks

SegaMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by SegaMan »

Whats your settings in Mister.ini?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

widge wrote:Hello,

I have VGA signal on other console cores but not on SNES.

Updated MiSTer to MiSTer_20181208.

Updated SNES to SNES_20181207.rbf

Am I missing something?

Thanks
you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Post by albconde »

tested a lot of games , compatiblity is great .
Some issues :
snow white in happy ever after : black screen
metal marines ( u) \milita (j) : problems with image when you start to play after history .
seiken densetsu 3 (j) : some flickers in the image in first fight ( resolution changes?) ( works in 20181201)
derby stallion 96 (j) : black screen
bart's nightmare :strange color in background when move (works in release 20181201)
onita atsushi FMW (j) :freeze when you start game, no sound
pachiokun special (j):freeze when you enter in any building in game , no sound
sound novel Tsukuru (j) : black screen
chou aniki - bakuretsu rantouden (j) : black screen

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by olin »

Sorgelig wrote: you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.
Thanks. that was it. Furthermore the carts I downloaded were SMC format, therefore containing 512 byte copier header. This needs to be skipped in order to read the raw cart data. I've made a fix to MiSTer main to skip the smc/sfc header. You can test it by using the unofficial release bellow:

https://github.com/ole00/Main_MiSTer/tr ... r/releases

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by olin »

albconde wrote:tested a lot of games , compatiblity is great .
Some issues :

... black screen
Try my unofficial release of MiSTer main (see above) which detects the copier header in the carts and skips it. It may help to fix some of the 'black screen' issues.

widge
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by widge »

Sorgelig wrote: you need to use any game ROM as a boot.rom, so SNES will start with preloaded game and will provide the video.
Thanks, I am not familiar with boot.rom, is it just a SFC file renamed to to boot.rom?

I have tried:

injector SNES_20181207.rbf game.sfc new.rbf

and (game.sfc renamed to boot.rom):

injector SNES_20181207.rbf boot.rom new2.rbf

new.rbf and new2.rbf do no produce VGA.

widge
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by widge »

SegaMan wrote:Whats your settings in Mister.ini?
I have just set forced_scandoubler to 1.

I have not touched the rest of the file.

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Post by albconde »

widge wrote:Thanks, I am not familiar with boot.rom, is it just a SFC file renamed to to boot.rom?
don't need to inject the room rename a game as boot.rom and put in a folder named snes
olin wrote:Try my unofficial release of MiSTer main (see above) which detects the copier header in the carts and skips it. It may help to fix some of the 'black screen' issues.
No luck , black screen with your unoficial mister file

User avatar
yarko
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: SNES core

Post by yarko »

I confirm - only black screen on VGA output

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Post by PhantombrainM »

yarko wrote:I confirm - only black screen on VGA output
Just put a renamed game into the SNES folder. Rename it to boot.rom. Then you will get a picture on VGA output.

I used the SNES Test Suite und now every time I start the core I get the test suite (even on VGA)
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

widge
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by widge »

PhantombrainM wrote: Just put a renamed game into the SNES folder. Rename it to boot.rom. Then you will get a picture on VGA output.

I used the SNES Test Suite und now every time I start the core I get the test suite (even on VGA)
Ok the boot.rom mechanism works on my side but I only have video on HDMI, nothing on VGA.

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by olin »

widge wrote: Ok the boot.rom mechanism works on my side but I only have video on HDMI, nothing on VGA.
Similar for me: 15.7 kHz fine via SCART, but when scandoubler is enabled then my VGA monitor does not pick up the signal. I wonder whether it is the non standard vertical frequency of 60.1 Hz

Code: Select all

INFO: Video resolution: 512 x 448, fHorz = 31.5KHz, fVert = 60.1Hz, fPix = 21.48MHz
INFO: Frame time (100MHz counter): VGA = 1663917, HDMI = 0  

Shamus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Shamus »

... black screen ...
I have the black screen issue in another context: many roms run just fine, whereas others mentioned to be working in this thread consistently give a black screen and no sound in DVI (DVI mode = 4; NTSC and PAL tried):

Donkey Kong Country
F-Zero
Super Bomberman 1+2, whereas Super Bomberman 3 works!
Super Street Fighter
all Super Mario games; Mario is missing and Mario's Time Machine work
etc.

Is this connected to DVI (I cannot try VGA or HDMI with my setup), could it be the rom files, or am I doing something wrong?

Shamus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Shamus »

I just downloaded different rom files for Super Mario World and eventually one worked indeed. Then it is the rom, or header or ...?

Shamus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Shamus »

From my experience with working and non-working roms: what would be a good source for an SNES ROM pack that works well with the MISTer core?

Locked

Return to “MiSTer”