Wifi

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Post by Sorgelig »

Work with wlan is a weak part of Linux. It's not really plug-n-play. The whole wlan part on Linux consists on hacks and workarounds.
So, if current config doesn't work for you then i suggest to read more about the subject in internet and try to make a working scripts/configs.
diggie
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:37 am

Re: Wifi

Post by diggie »

@Sorgelig I found a fix (that works for me).

This option of dhcpcd always ensures wlan is set up okay:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/dh ... supplicant

E.g. create link to tell it to start wpa_supplicant if needed, which works if wlan0 is not ready during boot. You can set env to point at /media/fat/linux/wpa_supplicant.conf, or I just copied that to /etc

Another way I see people doing it is running ifup in rc.local.

Anyway, I am glad to finally have wifi in MiSTer, I am definitely not glad to spend the evening with Linux ;)
warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Wifi

Post by warham »

Ordered a mi wifi adapter as mentioned in previous post on ebay and shipped from HK.
Copied in the file as mentioned on previous post and got an IP address.
I also see these for sale on aliexpress and a listing on digikey.
(have not bought this one but it matches the terasic part number).
https://www.digikey.com/products/en?key ... X-3061-MIX

Need mt7601u.bin in \lib\firmware
https://github.com/wkennington/linux-fi ... t7601u.bin


I bought this one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-Xiaom ... 2749.l2649
Last edited by warham on Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Wifi

Post by warham »

misc wrote:
Jaydg wrote:Hi,

Also working with "Xiaomi Mi Portable WiFi" which you can buy on Terasic homepage.

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/ ... 6&PartNo=8

Need mt7601u.bin in \lib\firmware

https://github.com/wkennington/linux-fi ... t7601u.bin
I can confirm that this works flawless. This is one of the cheapes possibilities to enhance MISTer functionality. :mrgreen:
Thank you. Appears to be working for me as well. Spent an hour looking around for driver info before I saw your post :p
JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by JimDrew »

I can confirm that the HOMESPOT Wifi adapter works fine. I just changed the SSID/PWD and that's it. You can purchase these from Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/HomeSpot-150Mbps ... B01ERHE18S

One problem I do have is that when using the Wifi module it overrides the RTC date/time, using some other country I am guessing. Is there a way to set the country when using the Wifi connection?
I am the flux ninja
TuKo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:41 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by TuKo »

cvenditti wrote:
NML32 wrote:@Sorgelig, thanks for adding wifi support to MiSTer.

The Wiki states some wifi are supported. What USB wifi dongles are supported or could you recommend a few?

Wifi_Wiki.PNG
This kinds works for me:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-150Mbps-15 ... 25c57ee51e
Ordered same one, doesn't work for me.

Code: Select all

425.783153] usb 1-1.3: USB disconnect, device number 97
[  426.023377] usb 1-1.3: new high-speed USB device number 98 using dwc2
[  426.134741] usb 1-1.3: New USB device found, idVendor=148f, idProduct=7601
[  426.134758] usb 1-1.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[  426.134768] usb 1-1.3: Product: 802.11 n WLAN
[  426.134777] usb 1-1.3: Manufacturer: MediaTek
[  426.134785] usb 1-1.3: SerialNumber: 1.0
[  426.213380] usb 1-1.3: reset high-speed USB device number 98 using dwc2
[  426.316291] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: ASIC revision: 76010001 MAC revision: 76010500
[  426.319226] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Firmware Version: 0.1.00 Build: 7640 Build time: 201302052146____
[  426.710454] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: EEPROM ver:0c fae:00
[  426.895375] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.900897] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.906222] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.911503] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.916794] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.922070] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.927355] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.932632] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.937919] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.943214] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.948506] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.953794] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.959073] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.964361] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.969646] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.974935] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: RX urb failed:-71
[  426.981082] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp urb failed:-71
[  426.986846] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp evt:0 seq:5-4!
[  426.992632] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp urb failed:-71
[  426.998413] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp evt:0 seq:5-4!
[  427.004175] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp urb failed:-71
[  427.009920] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp evt:0 seq:5-4!
[  427.016026] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp urb failed:-71
[  427.021773] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp evt:0 seq:5-4!
[  427.027717] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp urb failed:-71
[  427.033470] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: MCU resp evt:0 seq:5-4!
[  427.039222] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Error: mt7601u_mcu_wait_resp timed out
[  427.243372] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Vendor request req:07 off:0080 failed:-71
[  427.443381] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Vendor request req:02 off:0080 failed:-71
[  427.643442] mt7601u 1-1.3:1.0: Vendor request req:02 off:0080 failed:-71
[  427.650203] mt7601u: probe of 1-1.3:1.0 failed with error -110
Also got me a DWA-171 (rev C), this one doesn't work as kernel detects the 8GB storage on it (which includes Windows drivers) as a mass storage device...
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Post by Sorgelig »

some WiFi modules need specific firmware file in linux.
SnoopKatt
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:41 am

Re: Wifi

Post by SnoopKatt »

I found that I needed to try different .bin files to make the wifi work. There's lots of variations/versions of a .bin with the same name.
alp
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by alp »

Sorgelig wrote:It seems i've just contradicted myself :)
I've succeeded to integrate the driver for D-Link 5Ghz dongle! This is a good thing for me since 2.4GHz in my area is too noisy and hard to use.
The first one if tried was TP-Link on mediatek MT7610u chip and all my attempts to make it work were failed. It also uses weird custom settings for authentication - such a rubbish.

D-Link DWA-171 (HWVer: A1) on RTL8812AU chip works well using standard wpa_supplicant. So, at least this WiFi-ac dongle will work in new Linux release. Probably other dongles on the same chip (and RTL8821AU) will work as well.
I've tested mediatek MT7610u, it's working. But tested only with 2.4

Used this docker to build separate kernel
https://github.com/kowoba/Linux-Kernel_ ... Dockerfile

And this gist to build module
https://gist.github.com/FantomJAC/5afb9 ... 2b490e5640

Sources for module tested also from here
https://github.com/ulli-kroll/mt7610u

But got an error with memory:
raspberrypi kernel: [ 11.825048] <-- ERROR in Alloc Bulk buffer for RxContext!
raspberrypi kernel: [ 11.825112] ERROR mt7610u_sta:
raspberrypi kernel: [ 11.825119] Failed to allocate memory - TxRxRing

Here was a solution:
https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-lin ... wifi-fixes
Find the string setenv bootargs and add coherent_pool=4M in the end of the line.

After adding to u-boot dongle attached to Wi-Fi
jpxdude
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:25 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by jpxdude »

Just wanted to add that the small “Digitazz” branded WiFi dongles work well with MiSTer as well. It uses the same RT2870.bin file as mentioned near the start of this thread.
cbo2188
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:35 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by cbo2188 »

I can confirm the Edimax EW 7811Un USB WIFI adapter works well for me. No issues with it.

https://www.amazon.com/Edimax-EW-7811Un ... B003MTTJOY
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Wifi

Post by breiztiger »

hi

i'm noob in linux

"I had to find and copy rtl8192eu_nic.bin to /lib/firmware/rtlwifi for the dongle to work."

how to do that please ?

thanks in advance
hernan43
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by hernan43 »

I am using a Panda PAU05 dongle:

https://www.amazon.com/Panda-300Mbps-Wi ... ords=pau05

I had to download rtl2870.bin from:

http://www.lwfinger.com/firmware/

I copied it into /lib/firmware and it works fine as far as I can tell.
User avatar
gojira54
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:40 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by gojira54 »

breiztiger wrote:hi

i'm noob in linux

"I had to find and copy rtl8192eu_nic.bin to /lib/firmware/rtlwifi for the dongle to work."

how to do that please ?

thanks in advance
Me too - I have no clue with linux and I am was frustrated...
connect to mister via console with UART-to-USB (USB mini type B) using putty program, configure putty connection as per wiki instructions https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... connection
log in to using credentials as per wiki https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... ork-access
I put the firmware file in folder 'linux' on root of the sd card using windows, in putty once logged in I typed;
mv /media/fat/linux/rt2870.bin /lib/firmware/rt2870.bin
commands that are useful if you know NOTHING of linux like me!
find . LISTS ALL FILES HERE AND SUB DIRS
ls LISTS DIRS OF FOLDER YOU ARE IN
cd /whereyouwantogo CHANGE DIRECTORY, "cd /" IS TOP LEVEL
exit ENOUGH ALREADY
I found I needed to set up my wpa_supplicant.conf like this;
Image
Don't forget in Notepad++ document formatting "Edit > EOL Conversion > UNIX"
Good luck =]
Please do not take it personal, my lawyer has policies
terminator2k2
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by terminator2k2 »

gojira54 wrote:
breiztiger wrote:hi

i'm noob in linux

"I had to find and copy rtl8192eu_nic.bin to /lib/firmware/rtlwifi for the dongle to work."

how to do that please ?

thanks in advance
Me too - I have no clue with linux and I am was frustrated...
connect to mister via console with UART-to-USB (USB mini type B) using putty program, configure putty connection as per wiki instructions https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... connection
log in to using credentials as per wiki https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... ork-access
I put the firmware file in folder 'linux' on root of the sd card using windows, in putty once logged in I typed;
mv /media/fat/linux/rt2870.bin /lib/firmware/rt2870.bin
commands that are useful if you know NOTHING of linux like me!
find . LISTS ALL FILES HERE AND SUB DIRS
ls LISTS DIRS OF FOLDER YOU ARE IN
cd /whereyouwantogo CHANGE DIRECTORY, "cd /" IS TOP LEVEL
exit ENOUGH ALREADY
I found I needed to set up my wpa_supplicant.conf like this;
Image
Don't forget in Notepad++ document formatting "Edit > EOL Conversion > UNIX"
Good luck =]
cheers , just used this to get my samsung wifi dongle working
spidersfrommars
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:39 am

Re: Wifi

Post by spidersfrommars »

Hello,i am having trouble with my wifi usb, it always comes up as wlan2 rather than wlan0 or wlan1 and it wont connect to my wifi. Maybe someone could give me some help? I have the correct firmware and i put my credentials as per the wiki.

edit: i was able to get running by running this command through the serial monitor:
wpa_supplicant -B -i wlan2 -c /media/fat/linux/wpa_supplicant.conf
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Post by Sorgelig »

spidersfrommars wrote:Hello,i am having trouble with my wifi usb, it always comes up as wlan2 rather than wlan0 or wlan1 and it wont connect to my wifi. Maybe someone could give me some help? I have the correct firmware and i put my credentials as per the wiki.

edit: i was able to get running by running this command through the serial monitor:
wpa_supplicant -B -i wlan2 -c /media/fat/linux/wpa_supplicant.conf
you can edit the file: /etc/network/interfaces
and add wlan2 interface there
spidersfrommars
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:39 am

Re: Wifi

Post by spidersfrommars »

Sorgelig wrote: you can edit the file: /etc/network/interfaces
and add wlan2 interface there
Thank you Sorgelig, i will try that! :D
djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by djmartins »

Jaydg wrote:Hi,

Also working with "Xiaomi Mi Portable WiFi" which you can buy on Terasic homepage.

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/ ... 6&PartNo=8

Need mt7601u.bin in \lib\firmware

https://github.com/wkennington/linux-fi ... t7601u.bin
I bought the Xiaomi device on ebay cheaper than terasic and this procedure worked fine for me.
Connected to console used USB and midnight commander to transfer file over and upon reboot
I had an IP!
Fantastic!
warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Wifi

Post by warham »

In case anyone is looking at this small DLINK USB hub so far it works with everything EXCEPT WIFI.
I can switch over to another hub and get wifi no problem.

Image
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000 ... UTF8&psc=1
Last edited by warham on Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Post by Sorgelig »

country in wpa_supplicant just shows the allowed WiFi channels(frequencies).
It has nothing to do with time.

As for timezone: learn to use MiSTer Wiki.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by Locutus73 »

Sorgelig wrote:As for timezone: learn to use MiSTer Wiki.
I agree with the wiki thing, I'd use a new RTFW acronym...
...anyway I made a little timezone.sh script in https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Scripts_MiSTer (they are downloaded by the updater in a #Script folder) which automatically sets up the MiSTer timezone for end users.

Regards.

Locutus73
User avatar
zz99
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:14 pm
Location: UK, the north

Re: Wifi

Post by zz99 »

cbo2188 wrote:I can confirm the Edimax EW 7811Un USB WIFI adapter works well for me. No issues with it.

https://www.amazon.com/Edimax-EW-7811Un ... B003MTTJOY
Did you do anything special to get it working ?
User avatar
zz99
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:14 pm
Location: UK, the north

Re: Wifi

Post by zz99 »

Finally got my Edimax device working by setting the wpa_supplicant.conf to :

country=gb
update_config=1
ctrl_interface=/run/wpa_supplicant

network={
scan_ssid=1
ssid="_______"
psk="_______"
}
Ldaborc
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:03 pm

Re: Wifi

Post by Ldaborc »

I need help with my wifi TP-Link TL-WN725N_V2. How this use in Mister? Install drivers? How? Please.
If I could, I would have done it myself! 8)
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”