Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Frank B »

Hi.

Which games see the best speedups when running on a Mega STe?
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by christos »

Mostly 3d games. But most are improved. For example shoot em ups that dont slow down.
User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Greenious »

Civilization and other turnbased games should benefit.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=5040
User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Atari030 »

Frontier, Sim City, Tornado spring to mind.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Frank B »

Anything 2d which runs better? :)
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2219
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by mikro »

The Lotus series.
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2805
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by alexh »

Frank B wrote:Anything 2d which runs better? :)
Klaz patched several games

https://www.klapauzius.net/Old_Games.html

Search for "8/16 MHz"

ChaseHQ
Space Harrier
Cosmic Pirate
Overlander
Darius+
etc.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by christos »

And dbug. Some games that really benefit from faster CPU are:

Quartz, Dragonbreed, Plutos, Wonderboy in Monsterland, Frantick, Erik, Navy Seals, R-Type II
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Frank B »

On a related note, Jim Power runs at 60 fps on the TT!
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by christos »

I think it does that on falcon too. At least it is too fast to be playable
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by AtariCrypt »

The websites already mentioned, plus PPs too of course. Hunter is my fave at 16mhz. I can't play this at 8mhz anymore. I'm spoiled heh
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Frank B »

I should clarify something. I didn't mean games that could use the cache. I actually meant games that improve framerate wise if it has been enabled.
Eg going from 3 vbl to two etc. :)
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2359
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by calimero »

Maybe it is easiest to try with Petari pathed games since you can switch 8/16mhz and cache on/off in every game, just press M for this option screen.

I think thar SaintDragon runs smoother on MSTe...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by DarkLord »

The Elite series seems to benefit as well...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by AtariCrypt »

Yeah, PP/Petera is the best place to start. Try almost any flight sim. I second DarkLord too, gotta love Frontier on my MSTE :)
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by 1st1 »

Midi Maze II profits a lot of faster STs. It makes much more fun if there is no 8 Mhz machine in the ring.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Games which benefit from 16 mhz + cache on the Mega Ste

Post by Chris23235 »

Secret of the Monkey Island had an additional layer of clouds in the title screen when running with 16 MHz.
Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”