Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

Aladdin animation Works if you select "3 buttons only: Yes" in OSD
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Post by Sorgelig »

actually it's a know issue with Alladin game.
hyperterminal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by hyperterminal »

I just tested the new core "Genesis_20181010.rbf". The problem with the character select screen in Battletoads & Double Dragon is fixed.

But I believe there were also some small regressions. The Bad Apple demo locks up after I try to start it by pressing start. The Japanese version of OutRunners, which was working before, no longer works (locks up with a black screen).
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Post by Sorgelig »

i will check. I have found one strange issue which is probably related.
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

albconde wrote:Aladdin animation Works if you select "3 buttons only: Yes" in OSD
Hey that worked, thanks! That completely fixes both issues in Aladin. Seeing that I'm using a PS3 controller I'll leave that option enabled for everything.

Any secret fix for getting Shinobi III to work ? :D
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

cacophony wrote:Any secret fix for getting Shinobi III to work ?
No . Shinobi III is broken.

Speedball 2 do not work in reselase 20181010 (black screen) , but works in release 20181003.
the adventures of mighth max , miss some graphichs in release 20181010 , works in release 20181003
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

albconde wrote:
cacophony wrote:Any secret fix for getting Shinobi III to work ?
No . Shinobi III is broken.

Speedball 2 do not work in reselase 20181010 (black screen) , but works in release 20181003.
the adventures of mighth max , miss some graphichs in release 20181010 , works in release 20181003
Is there a list of known issues somewhere so I don't mention things that everyone already knows about?

Here's an issue I discovered tonight: In Joe & Mac the large dinosaur sprites (?) are pretty messed up. You'll see what I mean if you play through the first minute of the game.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Shinobi III, adventures of mighth max, Joe & Mac, Bad Apple, OutRunners - should work in new release.
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

Sorgelig wrote:Shinobi III, adventures of mighth max, Joe & Mac, Bad Apple, OutRunners - should work in new release.
Thanks Sorgelig! :D
I'm looking forward to playing some of those!
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

this version has problems in HDMI output, some garbage in screen, in VGA works perfectly
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Try to switch MiSTer off then on.
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

I just confirmed that Shinobi III works and Joe & Mac no longer has the sprite issue.

I did notice that 6 button was enabled by default on this new core which creates the issues with Aladdin (only mentioning because the changelog said it now defaults to 3 button)

Also, I can confirm a noticeable graphical issue with this new version with HDMI. If you start the first Sonic 2 level and look at the rectangles and squares below the green ground surface there's now a continuous shimmer/flicker over all of them, even when paused. And this issue completely goes away with the old version. Doing a reboot didn't make a difference.
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

Sorgelig wrote:Try to switch MiSTer off then on.
The problem continues after turning off and on, only happens with version 20181015, if I select the version 20181010 works well
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

albconde wrote:this version has problems in HDMI output, some garbage in screen, in VGA works perfectly
Is it the same issue that I mentioned or something different? 100% reproducible in the same part of a game? What game/part?
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

Ah, this is probably what you're talking about:

Image

This is a direct capture from Rysha on discord. On my TV it doesn't look this noticeable, but I do see these new artifacts around edges
Last edited by cacophony on Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by BBond007 »

Sorgelig,

Thanks for the hard work :)

Do you know what would cause the video quality do degrade so drastically in this release?

20181015 vs 20181010 (the "SEGA" is from Sonic US)

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by BBond007 on Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

cacophony wrote:Ah, this is probably what you're talking about:
Yes , the problem happens all the time and in any game
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by BBond007 »

albconde wrote:
cacophony wrote:Ah, this is probably what you're talking about:
Yes , the problem happens all the time and in any game
Strangely the OSD is not affected...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

For whatever reason (maybe TV dependent), the graphical issues don't look nearly that bad for me
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Download the last release again!
Fixed Jim Power.
Probably HDMI will be fixed for those who got glitches if it's metastability problem.
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by albconde »

Sorgelig wrote:Probably HDMI will be fixed for those who got glitches if it's metastability problem.
In my case it works perfectly
Thank you
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

Sorgelig wrote:Download the last release again!
Fixed Jim Power.
Probably HDMI will be fixed for those who got glitches if it's metastability problem.
On quick inspection, looks great! :D
Thanks for the quick fix and all your hard work.
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Genesis Core

Post by BBond007 »

Sorgelig wrote:Download the last release again!
albconde wrote: In my case it works perfectly
cacophony wrote: On quick inspection, looks great! :D
Same here :)

Thanks :)
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

I'm not sure if anybody has reported this yet, but there's an intermittent background audio crackle that occurs in many games. I noticed it a lot in Castle of Illusion during the intro part and during game play. Others have mentioned crackles in Castlevania Bloodlines and Vampire Killer as well.

Somebody mentioned that reloading the Genesis core seems to reduce the crackling, but I didn't really notice a difference when I tried.
Last edited by cacophony on Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:41 am, edited 8 times in total.
cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Post by cacophony »

dupe post sorry
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”