Looking for an sndh/rip of...

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
thomas3
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: the people's republic of south yorkshire, uk.

Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by thomas3 »

... the music used in the intro from the Lost Boys Def Demo.

Ultimate Ripper can't detect it and I can't find it in the SNDH archive. Anyone?

:cheers:
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11516
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by Mug UK »

From the video here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXtHb0L09Hg - is it the very first screen that you're on about? If so then it's the Mad Max tune using one of his older drivers.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by mlynn1974 »

I have attached a zip with the demo screen, an unpacked version and the source code disassembled with Easy Rider.
I have extracted an 8k block from the start of the tune onwards and tried to write a minimal play routine (REPLAY.S) but it doesn't work.
If anyone can fix this then please let me know.

The tune starts with the following:
4E F9 00 07 35 D0 4E F9 00 72 0E
this music was written by mad max from tex.if you want to contact us then write to :the exceptions postfach 1322 6702 bad duerkheim
2 JMPs, then the message, then a bunch of data and code. This was clearly written before TFMX (3 BSR at the start) format.


There is a little relocation routine that relocates the routine from $72000 to relative to where the PRG is loaded.
This works fine in replay.s but I don't know what else I need to do to make it work.

Code: Select all

TUNE	 incbin	"tune.dat"

setuptune:
      MOVEA.L	#TUNE,A0 
      MOVE.L    #$72000,D5
      MOVE.L    #$73F40,D6
      MOVE.W    #$F9F,D4
L000E:MOVE.L    (A0),D0 
      CMP.L     D5,D0 
      BLT       L000F 
      CMP.L     D6,D0 
      BGT       L000F 
      SUBI.L    #$72000,D0
      ADDI.L    #TUNE,D0
      MOVE.L    D0,(A0) 
L000F:ADDA.L    #2,A0 
      DBF       D4,L000E
      JSR       TUNE 
      RTS
TLB1.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by mlynn1974 on Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).
Zippy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:58 am

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by Zippy »

That's the music I used in my fullscreen intro, but had to convert it to a different format as there wasn't enough processor time left for the normal play routine.

I didn't bother relocating it for the conversion, but just copied it up to $72000 for playback, so basic playback routine like this:

Code: Select all

	opt s-
	clr.l -(sp)
	move.w #$20,-(sp)
	trap #1
	addq.l #6,sp
	move.l d0,oldstk
	bclr #0,$484
	lea music,a0
	lea $72000,a1
cc	move.l (a0)+,(a1)+
	cmp.l #end,a0
	blt cc
	jsr $72000
	move.w #7,-(sp)
	trap #1
	addq.l #2,sp
	jsr $72006
	bset #0,$484
	move.l oldstk,-(sp)
	move.w #$20,-(sp)
	trap #1
	addq.l #6,sp  
	clr.w -(sp)
	trap #1
oldstk	dc.l 0
music	incbin "bmx_sim2.max"
end	dc.w 0

My music file is a bit shorter than yours so I think you've probably got some already setup workspace on the end of your dump which is causing their setup routine to not work, if you replace your file with my slightly shorter one (effectively zeroing that extra bit at the end) then your playback routine works OK. :)

Maybe that's why the OP couldn't find a working rip of it anywhere?

I've attached my rip of the sound file BMX_SIM2.MAX
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by mlynn1974 »

Thank you Zippy! There are 3 bytes of difference between your file and mine:
000015E8: 4E 23
000015E9: 75 FC
00001B9E: 16 00
I shortened mine to 7071 bytes and made that change and voila.

The tune is actually in the SNDH archive:
Mad_Max\Demos\C64-Conversions\Pro_BMX_Simulator_A.sndh
I remember looking at this a few years ago because David Whittaker's conversion to the ST is totally different from the C64 tune.

At least we now have an SNDH version and an original version using the old replay routine and if you wish TLB's original relocation code.
I haven't tried playing it from STOS but the relocation code would be essential for STOS. Copying the tune to $72000 could potentially overwrite its memory area.

I'll probably make a .YM version so I can play it on my phone.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).
Zippy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:58 am

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by Zippy »

I had another look at it. Turns out it's the instruction at $735e8 (offset $15e8 in the file) that sets up their VBL routine, in my version it has "move.l #$72a5c,$4e2" ($4e2 being in the standard TOS VBL routine list from $4ce) whereas in yours it's just "RTS" (presumably due to the demo having it's own VBL handler) , so your version doesn't run their VBL code and the player doesn't work. With that word changed from $4e75 to $23fc it works OK, so it's nothing to do with that extra data on the end it just needed that code change.
User avatar
thomas3
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: the people's republic of south yorkshire, uk.

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by thomas3 »

Hi all,

Thanks for the help! Interesting - nothing's ever simple, is it?!

I wanted to use this tune for a STOS 96k intro I've nearly finished. But annoyingly - and further evidence that nothing is ever simple - I think it's going to be too tricky for me to get this working. I'm running my own VBL/timer B routines inline from STOS (i.e., sitting on top of the normal STOS vbl and then passing back at the end). The SNDH version has been "fancied up" with some timer effects that break the combination of mine and STOS's vbl code (and I cannot face getting into trying to work out why), and the original version's VBL code also doesn't work within this set-up.

Back to Whittaker :lol: This is precisely why this is going to be my last STOS intro!
Zippy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:58 am

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by Zippy »

It might work if you call it direct from your own VBL handler, so after mlynns's relocation do:

move.w #$4e75,(music+$15e8)

to stop their VBL handler being setup, then :

jsr (music+$15e0)

to initialise, and within your own VBL handler do :

jsr (music+$a5c)

to actually play it.
User avatar
thomas3
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:57 pm
Location: the people's republic of south yorkshire, uk.

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by thomas3 »

YEAH! I was calling the wrong initialisation address - whoooops. This now works! Thanks both a million <3
User avatar
Grazey / PHF
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by Grazey / PHF »

Of course it’s in the SNDH archive :)

Regarding “fancied up”

The original version is in the archive as well as the SID-I-fied version which has added sid voices (used in the hipsid demo)

Grazey
SNDH ADMIN
http://phf.atari.org - demo coders since 1983
http://sndh.atari.org - Maintainer of the Atari ST chip music archive
http://www.scenemusic.net - Nectarine Administrator
mlynn1974
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for an sndh/rip of...

Post by mlynn1974 »

I have attached the tune in .YM format. It was saved in YM6 format using SainT. I had to zip it to upload it here.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).
Post Reply

Return to “Ym rockin'”