Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

You can check on MiST and the ZX-UNO the following commands with both zxmmc and divide:
print in 235
print in 63
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

MiST

print in 235 --> 255
print in 63 --> 255


ZX-Uno

print in 235 --> 0
print in 63 --> 0
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

desUBIKado wrote:MiST

print in 235 --> 255
print in 63 --> 255


ZX-Uno

print in 235 --> 0
print in 63 --> 0
MiST's SPI emulation sends '1' when the SD-card doesn't do anything. So it's indistinguishable from not used ports. A real divMMC seems to return the last read byte. I can modify the core, but this detection method is not the best. It should issue a simple command to the SD Card, and wait for an answer, it would be more robust.

Upd:
Re-tried on MiST, print in 235 (when DivMMC is enabled) returns 69 for me sometimes. So relying on it is unreliable.
Upd2:
Tried on a real Spectrum +2A with DivMMC, 3 out of 6 times, it returned 255. So this loader would be unreliable on a real machine, too.
Last edited by slingshot on Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:54 pm, edited 5 times in total.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

**
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

slingshot wrote:**
I have written in the Spanish forum.

http://www.va-de-retro.com/foros/viewto ... 60#p130827

Let's see what they tell us.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

desUBIKado wrote:
slingshot wrote:**
I have written in the Spanish forum.

http://www.va-de-retro.com/foros/viewto ... 60#p130827

Let's see what they tell us.
I think the author must be aware of the fact his detection method is ZX-Uno only. It would be easy to modify the MiST code, but the real hardware will still be a question.
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

On the other hand, Could be possible a second unit with a spectrum2.vhd file?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

desUBIKado wrote:On the other hand, Could be possible a second unit with a spectrum2.vhd file?
It's the firmware's job to mount the file, not the core's. It's possible to add a mount option to the menu, but then it cannot be unmounted (and the primary function is to use a real SD card).
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

slingshot wrote:This Workbench +3e is strange, I've enabled MMC support with +3e ROMs (it works), then I click on hd0, and the system is reset. Maybe wait for 2.0.
Workbench +3e 2.0 has been released

http://octocom.speccy.org/workbench_es.html

I've made a .vhd image to try it.

https://mega.nz/#!yo5SHaoC!h4VmrMsulJKE ... _GlOwTNK_Y

There are English and Spanish manuals: http://octocom.speccy.org/Files/Workben ... Manual.rar
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

Sorry I didn't check it yet, I was bothered with other cores.
I'll try it ASAP.
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

My experiments with Workbench +3e on MiST (in spanish): http://forofpga.es/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=122
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by desUBIKado »

DanyPPC wrote:The DivMMC compilation is amazing, I'd like to make one with my personal collection.
Maybe this is for your interest (in spanish): http://forofpga.es/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=152
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by lips2k15 »

Hiya guys I am trying to use the workbench 3e stuff using the pre configured vhd and config but i cant get it working i select loader of the +3e menu and it just sits there - do i have to tell the mist to use the vhd image on the sd card becasue in the cores f12 menu there isnt any option for that... I am really stummped!
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1841
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by slingshot »

lips2k15 wrote:Hiya guys I am trying to use the workbench 3e stuff using the pre configured vhd and config but i cant get it working i select loader of the +3e menu and it just sits there - do i have to tell the mist to use the vhd image on the sd card becasue in the cores f12 menu there isnt any option for that... I am really stummped!
Rename it to spectrum.vhd.
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Old Spectrum core with esxDOS support

Post by lips2k15 »

perfect worked first thank you :) now i have a question for the maker of the core - is there a way that you could add the extra ram from pentagon/profi mode to +2A/+3 as I imagine that would make the workbench 3e even better.
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”