Vectrex vhdl

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

need Feedback(4 Firebuttons supported),

@Sorgelig, Core supports BIN Files also you can add File Extension to the MiSTer Core
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

The modded core seems to be defective: the title screen is corrupted, and cannot start any ROMs I tried (i.e. Frogger, which works great with previous release).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

Change only 4 lines on the Joystick Inputs

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

Tried it again, and the title screen still looks corrupted, but the games I tried work nice (i.e. Frogger).

Perhaps the problem was during my last attempt some "garbage" in the memory of the device, this time I tried it with cold boot from the same SD card as the previous release.

The new core is smaller than the last (Total Commander shows 251,79 kB vs. 253,07 kB).

Now can anyone recommend me a 4-button game to test?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

DrOG wrote:Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?

Mist FPGA is Really Death

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DanyPPC »

I always use MiST and Mistica clone, but Vectrex core is not of my interest.
I can test it, but i don't know what are 4-button games to make some test.

This is what i get:
Vectrex.jpg
Tested some games, no success.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

DanyPPC wrote:...
Tested some games, no success.
Try after a cold restart (power off-wait-power on cycle)!

The same corruption on title screen as on my device.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DanyPPC »

Same results DrOG, nothing change.

But i remember the old core works well.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by vebxenon »

Gehstock wrote:
DrOG wrote:Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?

Mist FPGA is Really Death
Not dead, too many active users. But I'm unable to test MiST until tomorrow night and well, this update hasn't been published on the very active MiST Facebook group.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by vebxenon »

DrOG wrote:Hi!

The modded core seems to be defective: the title screen is corrupted, and cannot start any ROMs I tried (i.e. Frogger, which works great with previous release).
Same happens to me. Just tested.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by desUBIKado »

Hi there. This core version don't work, and I can see the same bad screen.

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Kujako »

But do we have the colored film to tape to our monitors like the good ol' days?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Newsdee »

I'd imagine the core could load overlays like MAME? It might require work on the video side though (to add a framebuffer and so on)

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

New Build need Feedback

Change Keyboard Mapping for 2 Players
Player1
W,A,S,D and 1,2,3,4
Player2
Arrow Keys and NUM,/,*,-

add some changes from MiSTer Core
vectrex_MiST.rar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DanyPPC »

This is what i get on my MiST, no key acts for operation with the emulator (F11, F12):
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

On my MiST+BenQ BL912 combo it works flawless, albeit the picture is a bit off-centered to the right (see screenshot #1).
Video output is unusual 640x500@57Hz (screenshot #2), which ruins compatibility with most monitors.

Thanks for your continuous effort to make this core better!!! :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DanyPPC »

So the core use a different frequency.

I have tested it in 15Khz mode on a standard PAL Philips 8833mk2 monitor, it seems to work but the screen is offset vertically.

Thanks anyway for the improvements !

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

I think it's a '31kHz only' core (I couldn't switch to interlaced mode pressing long the middle button - didn't try to edit mist.ini yet).

Everett1954
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:51 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Everett1954 »

I want to try this out once I get my new mist but after reading, I am not sure:

1) Can I use Vectrex .bin files?

2) you cannot select different ROM files through OSD/F12?

Thanks

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

Is funny to develop without a working Mist and this big Feedback(thanks to the 3 Guys)

No one should be surprised if soon there are no more updates on any Core

1.Yes
2.You can
Last edited by Gehstock on Sun May 06, 2018 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DrOG »

Perhaps it's because the Vectrex was not so popular and marketed only in small quantity (no one knows exactly, but certainly under 500000 pieces were sold, see details here: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/59575-vectrex-numbers/ ).

Only a few people owned this console, and have nostalgic memories about it.

It's rather a unique piece of hardware with it's vector graphic, and a curiosity instead of being a true mass product.

Your work is highly appreciated, and it's value cannot be measured with the numbers of replies! It's about preserveration of a small piece of the gamer history, and valuable for the future generations.
Last edited by DrOG on Thu May 03, 2018 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by DanyPPC »

Old core works well on my TV/Monitor LED.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by Gehstock »

If I only ported what interests me, it would only 1-2 cores

ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Post by ericgus »

Gehstock wrote:Is funny to develop without a working Mist and this big Feedback(thanks to the 3 Guys)

No one should be surprised if soon there are no more updates on any Core

1.Yes
2.Yes
Have you tried to email him directly at lotharek@lotharek.pl and see if he can repair your mist? (mind you he mentioned he was going on vacation this week) .. but try to email him.

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”