CosmosEX 3.0

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
expi
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:48 am

CosmosEX 3.0

Post by expi »

Hi,
atari.sk team is now preparing the production of 100 units of renewed CosmosEX 3.0 device ....

For more information check our web on : http://atari.sk/cosmosex-3-0/
-expi-
atari.sk
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by simonsunnyboy »

The 3.0 is going to be the full device with floppy emulation support?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by 1st1 »

Accordimg to the pictures on the link yes. And it has a little status display, that's nice. But the new device is much more expensive.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by dhedberg »

Looks good!
Are the 3d printed case and shipping included in the price?
If not, what would the total be with shipping and the case?
Last edited by dhedberg on Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Cyprian »

great news
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
Sowden
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:15 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Sowden »

This is great. I am just hoping that new firmware updates will work with the older ones.
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Bikerbob »

YES, much more expensive, and for me as a current micoCosmos owner (which btw sold better than the full one) I am more interested in the developement of the software.

The CE_DD driver so that we can have some MagiC and MiNT compatibility. or another driver for those?

The STING driver - that does not seem very compatible with the original STING stack.

Is this new group supporting the existing owners? is the software being updated? and as asking backword supported.

I personally found little of no issue with the hardware.

Not that I can read everything on that site.. SK is what country? But I do see that Jookie is listed as part of the group. So that is hopeful!!!

James
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1014
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by shoggoth »

Bikerbob wrote:SK is what country?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=sk+country+code

And no. It's not expensive. We burn much more cash on everyday crap, and this is a very useful gadget.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2219
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by mikro »

Just to clarify a few things:
  • Jookie is directly involved, he is still the main engineer so to speak, atari.sk guys just take care of manufacturing, taking orders and all that boring crap which made Jookie 'non-functional' :)
  • SK is Slovakia, the country from which Jookie is from ;)
  • the price includes "everything", one of the most frustrating things during Jookie's endeavour was people wanting a zillion different configurations, combinations and setups and then of course complained that it doesn't work as they imagined. Now you'll be getting one device, power up, works, voila
  • firmware and everything will be of course backward compatible and further developed as usual
tin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by tin »

This is awesome. Glad that Jookies astonishing device gets to get into even more homes. As it‘s so much more than a mere storage device and has so much untapped potential - just see nanards mp3 player for example - I‘m really looking forward to all the things that happen next.

Thanks to everyone in your newformed team for helping Jookie to make this new run (and hopefully many more) happen :)
User avatar
expi
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:48 am

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by expi »

To clarify some more thing :

only the prototypes are 3D printed cases, the device will have industrialy produced case from ABS plastic. Why Jooky has redesignet the device, we need to redesign the case also :)
-expi-
atari.sk
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by 1st1 »

You are doing an amazing job!
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
BlankVector
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by BlankVector »

This really looks excellent!
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Replace Atari STE ROMs with EEPROMs.
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Bikerbob »

Well good luck, I hope you do well. If that had been the price when I was shopping for it, I would not have bought it. 160euro + shipping will be about $300 canadian dollars. Thats pretty dear for computer hobby device. IF you can get it, then cudo's to you. I thought the whole reason Jookie came out with the microCosmos, the one I have was because peoples reluctance and the expense of making the full blown device.

Anyway.. I am just glad because now there will be more developement on the drivers. SO I wish you the best.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I think 160€ is a very reasonable price for a device with complete casing (I hope it is still 3,5" drive bay compatible).

Esp,. when the device provides about 4 other devices by default:
ACSI hard disk
USB mass storage solution
floppy drive emulation
IKBD replacement

Not to mention the expendability via new RaspPi code and the networking support.

We are not talking about a mass produced China device here but rock solid custom tailored quality from Eastern Europe by Atarians for Atarians.

I never had quality issues with Atari specific hardware procured from Eastern Europe sofar.

I'm in this time for a complete device!
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by catmando »

Sorry Simon, no offense but...

Image
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Faucon2001 »

Great News! I’ll take one for my Falcon
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by ST Graveyard »

This is a complete no brainer for me. Please keep us posted when we can register. I want one for sure. A device I can use on all my atari machines and the way it will be delivered almost seems NOOB proved, which is perfect for someone like me ;) sorry to say, but for me the price seems like a steal!
First embarassing NOOB question, would I perhaps also be able to link the device to any Atari PC's?

Thanks to the team for making this happen and keeping the ST hardware community alive!
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
User avatar
whiskey
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by whiskey »

ST Graveyard wrote: First embarassing NOOB question, would I perhaps also be able to link the device to any Atari PC's?
Depends on what exactly you mean by "link". As you can switch the cosmosex device between ACSI and SCSI, the only thing you need in your Atari PC is a SCSI interface in order to get the very basic SCSI drive-like behaviour from cosmosex. For the other benefits you would need PC (DOS I suppose?) driver versions of the likes of CE_DD etc. Which is not going to happen anytime soon I guess.
Or you can "link" via ethernet to any samba/nfs share running on your Atari PC and map it as a drive on your ST.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Cyprian »

Is it possible to share CosmosEx SD card? I'd like to copy ST data from any device into CosmosEx directly.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by simonsunnyboy »

The ACSI accessible card can be used with an UltraSatan IIRC.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by ST Graveyard »

whiskey wrote:
ST Graveyard wrote: First embarassing NOOB question, would I perhaps also be able to link the device to any Atari PC's?
Depends on what exactly you mean by "link". As you can switch the cosmosex device between ACSI and SCSI, the only thing you need in your Atari PC is a SCSI interface in order to get the very basic SCSI drive-like behaviour from cosmosex. For the other benefits you would need PC (DOS I suppose?) driver versions of the likes of CE_DD etc. Which is not going to happen anytime soon I guess.
Or you can "link" via ethernet to any samba/nfs share running on your Atari PC and map it as a drive on your ST.
Thanks for the info. I meant hooking up the cosmosEx to an 8088 or 286/386 atari pc so it would replace its hd. Of course I would use it primarily on ST/Falcon/TT.
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by JimDrew »

I have the very first CosmosEX board released. Is there info somewhere on the changes between V2 and V3?
I am the flux ninja
User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Bikerbob »

not yet, as this is a brand new project.. not one except a prototype has been made.

James
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by Cyprian »

simonsunnyboy wrote:The ACSI accessible card can be used with an UltraSatan IIRC.
yep, but as I mentioned I'd like to copy ST data from any device (e.g laptop) into CosmosEx SD cart directly.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”