TT and MSTe PSU

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4762
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Post by joska »

Bama wrote:I am all set to make the conversion but I just read some old warnings by Exxos.
PicoPSU's are designed for modern computers that works at a much higher speed with lower tolerances and much higher power demands than our old Ataris. I read exxos' warnings, and while they were interesting they were also IMO irrelevant to us. Also, keep in mind that those warnings comes from a person that sells his own PSUs.

I have been using PicoPSU's (including cheap clones) in several Ataris with no issues. Milan060, Falcon/CT60, Falcon/Afterburner/Eclipse, STE/MonSTEr... All working perfectly fine and all powered from a single XBOX powerbrick.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Post by troed »

joska wrote:all powered from a single XBOX powerbrick.
Thanks for that little tidbit - I hadn't thought about it :D I have a bunch of those laying around (used to mod a lot of Xboxes back in the day).
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4762
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Post by joska »

These are great - loads of current and very stable voltage. I power four computers and one monitor at once from a single brick.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Post by Bama »

joska wrote:These are great - loads of current and very stable voltage. I power four computers and one monitor at once from a single brick.
Cool!!!
Please post a photo of your PSU setup.
:-)
BAMA
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”