Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Do you need some hardware and/or software? Do you want to clear out the attic? Post your classified ads here. Please use the sub forum if you are posting links to items you've found on ebay.

Moderators: Mug UK, Adrenalin, Moderator Team

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by Cyprian »

mikro wrote:
Cyprian wrote:
mikro wrote:Not needed. My (working) Sparrow also doesn't have them..
congrsts. any details? photos?
Not yet. I posted some photos from the seller here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2962672 ... 0668246618

Too bad it's waiting for me in Slovakia while I'm in Australia still for next few months. :-/
nice machine, "spring 2018" doesn't sound good but we 'Atarians' used to wait for good things.
Pls let us know also here on AF, what is difference between F030 an Sparrow.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
iggydrougge
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:17 am

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by iggydrougge »

What about that TOS 2.07 the seller mentions?
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

iggydrougge wrote:What about that TOS 2.07 the seller mentions?
What about it? He offers it only if you "Buy it now". I don't think those are going to sell for such price so it's perhaps a desperate move to attract more buyers.
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by Rustynutt »

mikro wrote:
iggydrougge wrote:What about that TOS 2.07 the seller mentions?
What about it? He offers it only if you "Buy it now". I don't think those are going to sell for such price so it's perhaps a desperate move to attract more buyers.
It's been a while since I've seen it (no need for it), Sparrow TOS was floating around. I may have it on an old CD. Keep in mind, that disk was burned 22 years ago :)

Even then, you wont run much softs on it. At this point it's a collectors item, like the $2000 Atari CD that's been on eBay for 10 years :)
iggydrougge
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:17 am

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by iggydrougge »

I mean, is it useful outside the Sparrow motherboard, and how does it compare visavis TOS 2.06 and TOS 4?
khooke
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:03 am

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by khooke »

One of those boards, s/n ending 40 is listed in this thread here. I didn't check the others. Just thought this was interesting given the limited number of these that were supposed to have been produced (they're previously known/identified boards): http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=31148
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

khooke wrote:(they're previously known/identified boards): http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=31148
Actually they are not, I update the list when I find a new Sparrow on the net (doesn't happen very often ;-)).
User avatar
Mindthreat
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:39 am
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by Mindthreat »

The Sparrow not listed here missing keys and non-functional, the buyer wanted to fix and sell for $5,000 - and that's in pretty rough shape. Needless to say, I'm probably not going to be getting that one for the case or any other for that matter but, if someone does have a non-functional Sparrow case they are looking to sell, please let me know. Unless you want $5,000 for it, then please do not let me know.

:D
"My attempt at trying to create cool things for the Atari Jaguar:" - http://www.RISCGames.com
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12909
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by wongck »

Wow 8O 5 grand Wow 8O
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

FYI, I convinced the seller to let it go for a considerably cheaper amount so I have both rev.1 and rev.2 boards waiting to be paid & shipped. Not sure whether he is going to include the TOS ROMs, though. So I plan to compare them to the working unit I have and hopefully just populate the missing components.

Then most likely I will put it in a ST case + keyboard and sell to anyone (EU based, too) interested.
User avatar
Mindthreat
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:39 am
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by Mindthreat »

mikro wrote:FYI, I convinced the seller to let it go for a considerably cheaper amount so I have both rev.1 and rev.2 boards waiting to be paid & shipped. Not sure whether he is going to include the TOS ROMs, though. So I plan to compare them to the working unit I have and hopefully just populate the missing components.

Then most likely I will put it in a ST case + keyboard and sell to anyone (EU based, too) interested.
Convinced who, the eBay seller?
"My attempt at trying to create cool things for the Atari Jaguar:" - http://www.RISCGames.com
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

Yes.
User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by jvas »

mikro wrote: Then most likely I will put it in a ST case + keyboard and sell to anyone (EU based, too) interested.
I am interested !
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

jvas: you (and others) have to wait as with the working Sparrow unit... untill Spring 2018. :) (I know, it hurts, myself too).
User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by jvas »

mikro wrote:jvas: you (and others) have to wait as with the working Sparrow unit... untill Spring 2018. :) (I know, it hurts, myself too).
I can wait :D
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

Two more Sparrows available from the same guy:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/302500195351
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/302500212155

No, I'm not taking these. ;-)
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by calimero »

Thanks! I will add them to database http://milan.kovac.cc/atari/chipmunk/


btw
do we know who is ebay user "nyfinest"?
is he some ex-Atari employees?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

It's the guy behind the (ex-?)Wizztronics company.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

Rustynutt wrote:If Steve says they could probably be made to work, I imagine he knows what he's talking about.
Well, it took some time but I have managed to try both boards (Rev.1 & Rev.2) with all the components fitted (CPU, RAM, TOS 2.07; in the rev.2 one I had to put in the AJAX, too).

To make it brief, rev.1 didn't work at all (black screen although I could see some effort to change it), rev.2 "nearly" works:
IMG_20180826_123147.jpg
So apparently something is happening and could be debuggable with an oscilloscope.

Another bad news: I tested the diagnostic cartridge (which works on the Falcon) in my working Sparrow, nope, doesn't work. So you are on your own.

So Steve's words are a bit misleading, I've been in touch with people owning together six of those boards, none of them could make it work just with supplying missing ICs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by stormy »

Maybe Exxos could fix them for you.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
User avatar
derkom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by derkom »

mikro wrote:in the rev.2 one I had to put in the AJAX, too
Had to or chose to? I've got rev.2 #50, with no AJAX on the board. (I have the chip, but haven't wanted to solder it on.) I have been operating under the assumption that the board should work without the AJAX, simply with no floppy support. Am I wrong?

I haven't been able to get much out of the board. I put a 25 MHz 68030 on it (which according to Freescale docs should have no trouble with a 16 MHz clock), an Exxos SIMM board with 16 MB for the RAM, and dhedberg's 3-in-1 video adapter to connect to a VGA monitor. I am probably pushing my luck by using multiple third-party pieces there, and have so far gotten nothing out of it except for some steady green-on-black "static".

Right now that project is on hold while a few other life things sort themselves out, but I'm hoping to borrow some Atari-original RAM and video adapter hardware from a friend, to see if that makes any difference. And maybe try to scrounge up the right CPU.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

derkom wrote:Had to or chose to?
Well, my reference point is a working Sparrow and that one has an AJAX installed.

Btw the picture I've posted works only on RGB output, so indeed you may be pushing your luck on VGA. On the other hand, I've bought a 50 MHz 030, I don't think there's a reason why it shouldn't work on 16 MHz, I have a 33 MHz 030 in my CT2 overclocked (50 MHz) and underclocked (16 MHz) without any problem.

One day I'll take a deeper look, I just wanted to warn anybody considering to buy such a board from (ex-)Wizztronics that it's definitely not a straightforward operation.
User avatar
derkom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by derkom »

mikro wrote:On the other hand, I've bought a 50 MHz 030, I don't think there's a reason why it shouldn't work on 16 MHz, I have a 33 MHz 030 in my CT2 overclocked (50 MHz) and underclocked (16 MHz) without any problem.
You may be wrong about that. Check out page seven of the Freescale MC68030 Electrical Specifications. That seems to indicate that the 50 MHz won't clock lower than 25 MHz. But then again, it also seems to say 33 won't clock below 20, and your experience clearly says otherwise.

Edit: That's page seven of the pdf. It's actually numbered "5".
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by mikro »

derkom wrote:You may be wrong about that.
I may but I am not. ;-) Just when I thought I have to do the whole procedure (remove screws, shielding, PSU, CPU & TOS ROMs and putting them into the non-working machine) again I realised I can do the opposite - just to replace the 16 Mhz CPU with the 50 MHz one. Does it work? It does! So Motorola docs go to hell. ;)
User avatar
derkom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Three Sparrow Mainboards on EBay

Post by derkom »

mikro wrote: just to replace the 16 Mhz CPU with the 50 MHz one. Does it work? It does! So Motorola docs go to hell. ;)
I'm glad to hear that, because it means my 25 MHz CPU is definitely fine then. :D
Post Reply

Return to “For sale / Wanted”