Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1339
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by npomarede »

Hello

a new Hatari version 2.0.0 has just been released. You can get it from http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/ or directly in http://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.0.0/

Sources are available, as well as prebuilt binaries for Windows (in 32 bit and 64 bit mode) and OSX (thanks to Troed).

Many thanks to all the people who contributed to this version in different ways (code, bug report, testing, reverse engineering and documentation of the real HW, ...), see doc/authors.txt for a list of devs / contributors.

Major highlights of this new version :
  • - Hatari can use SDL2, this will take advantage of HW acceleration on the host PC and greatly enhance perfomance on OSX for example
    - Hatari now uses one single CPU core for all machines (ST, STE, TT, Falcon). No more need for 2 different binaries
    - video emulation now supports the 4 STF wakeup states for MMU/GLUE and a much more accurate state machine for border removal
    - CPU emulation was improved a lot by using WinUAE's CPU and fixing some low level behaviour : IACK sequence, exception/interrupt stacking, 2 cycle accesses, bus accesses timing depending on memory region, instruction pairing, ...
    - Falcon DMA sound was fixed
    - support for MegaST and MegaSTE machine types
    - improvements to Gemdos HD emulation
    - SDL UI reworked with more options
    - resizable window when using SDL2 (using HW acceleration)
Fixed demos :
  • - {Closure} by Sync, working in STE mode and the 4 STF wakeup states :)
    - many Falcon demos where sound was randomly noisy
    - ... and many more, see compatibility list for a list of programs improved with Hatari 2.0.0
See release-notes.txt for the full changelog


Stay tuned for next Hatari version, more improvements are coming !

Nicolas
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by EvilFranky »

Great stuff! Thanks to all the developers for their efforts.
BlankVector
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by BlankVector »

Congratulations!
Great release.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Replace Atari STE ROMs with EEPROMs.
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by 1st1 »

Thanks a lot. Does it now supports adding disk images from other logical drives or unc network path? (Haven't seen anything in 1.7x.)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2477
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by christos »

Just tested it. It works much better for falcon emulation than previous versions so great work!. However I had slowdowns when playing some games which as I was told in a previous thread, it's because my cpu is not fast enough, that struck me as odd because this is quite a fast pc . So I ran top and I saw that cpu usage was maxed out at about 25%. Then I tried htop and saw that Hatari is only using one core which occasionally gets close to 90% usage. So feature request for next version: more cores :) !
Still it's quite an improvement in falcon emulation
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by EvilFranky »

Damn! Got excited, thought Pinball Dreams was going to work as the level select seems fine now (I don't think it used to be) but selecting a table still gives a garbled screen. Nearly but not quite! More VIDEL improvements are needed I guess :)
User avatar
vhenares
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:43 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by vhenares »

Thank you, for you job.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by Faucon2001 »

Congratulation, keep on the good work !
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by LaurentS »

Hi all,

I've got a working version of pinball dream on my harddrive, but it's with a very bad hacked version of Hatari.
To be able to emulate this game correctly, we have first to have a very accurate CPu, and then a better Videl emulation.

Then, it'll be OK for pinball dream (and stable rasters effects on Falcon ;)
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1156
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by CiH »

What Faucon 2001 said, and everyone else :-)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by EvilFranky »

LaurentS wrote:Hi all,

I've got a working version of pinball dream on my harddrive, but it's with a very bad hacked version of Hatari.
To be able to emulate this game correctly, we have first to have a very accurate CPu, and then a better Videl emulation.

Then, it'll be OK for pinball dream (and stable rasters effects on Falcon ;)
:mrgreen: :cheers:
User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by lotek_style »

Nice Falcon improvements.... some more demos work now :) Still couldn't get to run 'Lost Blubb' to the end.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by lp »

You guys rock! :thumbs:
User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by rudis »

did not work for me

Unable to load nib file: SDLMain, exiting

mac osx 10.10.5
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by troed »

rudis wrote:did not work for me

Unable to load nib file: SDLMain, exiting

mac osx 10.10.5
Hi rudis,

There are now two OSX downloads - one 10.6+ i386/x86_64 build with SDL2 (hatari-2.0.0_osx.dmg.zip), and one 10.5+ PPC/i386/x86_64 with SDL1 (hatari-2.0.0_osx_pcc.zip).

Which of these did you try?

/Troed
User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by rudis »

Hi Troed

the first one
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by troed »

rudis wrote:Hi Troed

the first one
Thanks, that's the one I've built. Can you think of anything that would be out of the ordinary on your system or the way you launch Hatari? Sorry for asking but I'm unable to reproduce the problem :( I've personally run it on 10.6.8, 10.9.5 and 10.11.6 and I would need help in figuring out what it is that happens.

/Troed
User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by rudis »

nothing special as far as i know.

i have installed sdl2framework to /library/frameworks

in your build there is not a sdlframework, but in the ppc version it is and this version runs fine.

i dont know what to check at all
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by troed »

rudis wrote:nothing special as far as i know.

i have installed sdl2framework to /library/frameworks

in your build there is not a sdlframework, but in the ppc version it is and this version runs fine.

i dont know what to check at all
My build is linked towards an SDL2 shared library which is included in the app bundle (see shared resources). However, having a framework installed should not affect anything (I have that myself).

This will likely require more information - I've searched for possible reasons but not found anything that makes sense. Good that the SDL1 build works at least :)
User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by rudis »

Got it working :D

I deleted in Contents/Resources English.lproj and French.lproj.
Then i renamed eng.lproj to English.lproj and fr.lproj to French.lproj

Thats it :D
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by troed »

Oh. Thanks for letting us know! What system language are you running?

/Troed
User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by rudis »

German
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2160
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by Eero Tamminen »

lotek_style wrote:Nice Falcon improvements.... some more demos work now :) Still couldn't get to run 'Lost Blubb' to the end.
This version works fine for me until the end:

Code: Select all

$ hatari --monitor rgb --fastfdc yes --fast-forward yes -s 14 --machine falcon  --tos tos404.img lostblub/lostblub.prg
$ md5sum lostblub/*
fcc0b0be74ce3250a97c1a653e9e5f96  lostblub/lostbl_1.dat
184deded0c7ef020ccc546043daf33ab  lostblub/lostbl_2.dat
f6648424389112e7a034b1bd12d03205  lostblub/lostbl_3.dat
510f2dfda36bba62fdcddba668141bf0  lostblub/lostbl_4.dat
9550843cde37806970adb44f09fc8b92  lostblub/lostblub.prg
3de2065a10aeea2d5ab196ff1b4bbf45  lostblub/lostblub.txt
Note that it doesn't start every time, sometimes it crashes to black screen at very beginning (at which point it returns to desktop, but you can't see it because all colors are black :-)).
User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by lotek_style »

Well it always started to run but freezes sometime in the demo.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2160
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari 2.0.0 has been released

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Did you try same settings as I did (RGB, 14MB, TOS 4.04, WinUAE CPU core, everything else the default)?

Do you have same version of Lost Blubb?
Locked

Return to “Hatari”