New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by bullis1 »

I'm glad you stuck with the realtime scaling. The result is very impressive.

This new batch of feedback you're receiving may give you the drive to improve your port further. If not, thanks for releasing what you have. It's an amazing piece of work already.
Member of the Atari Legend team

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

Thanks everybody for your kind words and feedback.

I've managed to spend a bit of time working on this in the last week or two, with the following features/changes made in this time:
  • Many of the sampled sound effects have been ripped from the arcade game and are being played back by the STE in stereo due to the wonders of DMA audio (much easier to code than I imagined!);
  • You can now hear the engines of CPU cars as you drive past them (or they drive past you!);
  • The graphics for the starting line have now been completed, with the supporting left/right beams and the checkered pattern on the ground now present;
  • The blimp/airship that moves from right to left has been implemented at the start and end of qualifying;
  • The bad flickering on the horizon has now been resolved for the most part (at the expense of the sky gradient).
I'm going to spend some further time in the coming days and weeks adding the remaining sound effects and fixing some annoying bugs, after which I'll put out another disk image for people to play with.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by dma »

Woaaah, can't wait! :)

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by AtariCrypt »

Oh yes, this is one awesome update!! I cannot wait :D
Steve
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Marakatti »

Excellent news! Can't wait either. So happy you found time to work on :) :cheers:
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

Here's an updated disk image for you folks to play with:
polepos_ste_1meg_oct_preview.st.zip
You should be able to see the following new things in this version:
  • Sampled sound effects ripped from the arcade game;
  • Sound effect for overtaking/being overtaken by opponent cars;
  • Completed graphics for the start/finish line;
  • Blimp/airship flying across screen at the beginning and end of qualifying;
  • Caption on start/finish line moving between START/NAMCO/GOAL as per the arcade machine;
  • Horizon flickering effect fixed for the most part;
  • General bugfixes and some other stuff I've probably forgotten.
I know there are still some annoying bugs but I'm now confident that this is getting close to being ready for a final release. Please let me know if you think otherwise!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Marakatti »

Whohou! Big Thank You, will check it as soon as my workshift ends :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by dma »

Great new version! All these additions take it very close to the arcade.
(the drifting noise volume level should maybe be a little lower)

I agree that this game cries for analogue controls, mouse handling would be very cool.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Dal »

Really nice work! I've not tried this since an early release so very surprised at the progress - it feels and sounds just like I remember the arcade.

I came up against a bug where the engine noise doesn't seem to be cut off at the end of a game so you get the engine drone constantly until you start a new game. Other than that, I've not found anything obvious.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by AtariCrypt »

Oh boy I cannot wait to play this!!! Thank you!!! :)
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Dal wrote:I came up against a bug where the engine noise doesn't seem to be cut off at the end of a game so you get the engine drone constantly until you start a new game.
I bumped into that too.

Also, title screen music has way too low volume compared to engine noise, at least in Hatari.

Otherwise, this moves and looks great!

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Eero Tamminen »

chicane wrote:
  • The bad flickering on the horizon has now been resolved for the most part (at the expense of the sky gradient).
I'm missing the sky gradient. Do you think it can come back later (without flickering), or is it gone for good?

hairpinbend
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:09 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by hairpinbend »

I also miss the sky gradient.

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

Eero Tamminen wrote:I'm missing the sky gradient. Do you think it can come back later (without flickering), or is it gone for good?
hairpinbend wrote:I also miss the sky gradient.
I think I've stumbled upon a way to get the sky gradient back in without reintroducing the severe flicker:
gradients.png
Hopefully it works on real hardware as well as Hatari :) More news to come...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

For those of you without the capability or will to run the disk image, I've uploaded a new gameplay video to Youtube showing the latest build:


User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by FedePede04 »

Looking Awesome, can't wait to try the final release :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Greyfox™
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:27 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Greyfox™ »

Simply wonderful stuff. Congrats on such amazing work and dedication to this great project, Atari would of loved you back in the day :)
↓↓Click Banner to See More↓↓
Image
-== Making Atari great once more ==-

Zamuel_a
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1238
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Zamuel_a »

I see that the sky gradient "jump" one pixel. I guess you create it with a Timer B interrupt that sometimes trigger on the wrong line. One way to get around that problem is to trigger the interrupt one line before and when it trigger, check if you are on that line or on the next one because something occurred so the interrupt triggered to late.
I had to do that for my Giana Sisters game. You can see how I did it here:
http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p251399
ST / STFM / STE / Mega STE / Falcon / TT030 / Portfolio / 2600 / 7800 / Jaguar / 600xl / 130xe

CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1155
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by CiH »

This is pretty much there :-) Incredible work!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by calimero »

Wow! it is super smooth!! is it 50fps?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by jvas »

Sometimes the splash of water is drawn above the car. Very good conversion anyway. Thanks!

User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Estrayk »

Awesome chicane!
・Falcon ct60e・Atari MegaSTE ・Atari STe ・MIST ・MISTer・

User avatar
keops
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by keops »

Great stuff!

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Marakatti »

I wonder what playing device is used on the video? It looks more like an analog steering to me as the car keeps it's direction very steadily without skidding. Maybe my USB Comp Pro is just too sensitive for STeem, but i never managed to get it playing so smooth with it.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

Thanks everybody for your feedback!
Marakatti wrote:I wonder what playing device is used on the video? It looks more like an analog steering to me as the car keeps it's direction very steadily without skidding. Maybe my USB Comp Pro is just too sensitive for STeem, but i never managed to get it playing so smooth with it.
Believe it or not, this is just me playing with the arrow keys on my laptop keyboard. I must have driven around that track thousands of times - I can almost do it with my eyes closed :)

Kudos on the use of a Competition Pro by the way - that was my joystick of choice back in the day :)
jvas wrote:Sometimes the splash of water is drawn above the car.
This has also been annoying me for some time. I'll fix it in due course.
calimero wrote:Wow! it is super smooth!! is it 50fps?
Not quite! I think the frame rate averages around 22.5 frames per second, with a big hit on frame rate when the start line is near, or when large numbers of cars are on screen. I could probably raise to 25 with some more optimisation work as the vast majority of the game logic and the code to draw the HUD is still in C, but at this point in time I just want to get the game feature complete and bug free!
Zamuel_a wrote:I see that the sky gradient "jump" one pixel. I guess you create it with a Timer B interrupt that sometimes trigger on the wrong line. One way to get around that problem is to trigger the interrupt one line before and when it trigger, check if you are on that line or on the next one because something occurred so the interrupt triggered to late.
I had to do that for my Giana Sisters game. You can see how I did it here:
Thanks for the advice! The gradients are indeed generated by Timer B. I've had lots of problems with the blitter destabilising these rasters. I'll look at your code in more detail if I can find time.

Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”