RACER Falcon (new game)

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
LaceySnr
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:00 am
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by LaceySnr »

LaurentS wrote:> LaceySnr
> Do you play on a standard 030 16 mhz falcon or on an accelerated one ?
---
We've spent many hours testing the game, with many peopple ( + my son and daughter ;), but, the game may still have one bug here and there, sorry for that.
No need for apologies, loving it :) Is it supposed to remember which tracks have been unlocked or is that part of the challenge?

My Falcon is stock, 030 at 16, it does occasionally freeze on boot and after assembling in devpac, and doesn't carry on unless I press on the case (I think my RTC chip has a dodgy connection and I wonder if code using the clock for timing just gets stuck in a loop waiting or something). I don't think that was the cause but don't fret over it since it could be me :)
User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by LaurentS »

Hi all,

A little thread up, as a nice German guy (DustyBits) made a very nice a professional looking video of Racer 2.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTOo712F9zc

The very beginning of the video shows some pictures of "Beats of Rage", but the rest of the film is about Racer2.

Many thanks to him.

Regards

Laurent
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by calimero »

Haha! Somebody made comparison of Amiga Racer vs "Atari" Racer on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziO5RbW1Uks&app=desktop
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Marakatti »

Would be nice to see how Amiga Racer runs on 14MHz stock A1200... Don't think it can even be booted on that one :mrgreen:
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by LaurentS »

What !
The amiga version doesn't even test collisions with the light lamps !
Where's the mapped ground ;)

LOL

> Would be nice to see how Amiga Racer runs on 14MHz stock A1200
And of course 4 Mo of ram

Have fun
User avatar
Sturm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Sturm »

Is it possible to use the button to accelerate instead of pushing forward ? Did not find the option. thanks !
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Frank B »

calimero wrote:Haha! Somebody made comparison of Amiga Racer vs "Atari" Racer on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziO5RbW1Uks&app=desktop
Amiga fan boys. TSK. Can't beat this Amiga video though! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNti5bN ... re=related Go on.. have a listen and make your ears bleed :)
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Mr.JT »

Not sure if this is the latest thread about Racer (racer 2) but the search function keeps giving me timeouts so I'm just parking here...!

Racer 2 is brilliant. Looks great, sounds great, really impressive. But is it just me that finds it absolutely impossible even on the easiest setting?! Took me about a day just to be able to complete 3 laps of the same track without the time running out! And no way I can even get close to winning!! Other than not sucking is there anything I should be doing for better success?! It goes so fast I just don't seem to be able to spot the corners and have to try memorize them! (If that's the point then I guess I'll keep practising... or just settle for the fact I'm clearly get old and reactions slow!)

In general need more games like this on falcon... very impressive!

JT
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!
Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Mr.JT »

Actually watching the video above it seems so much slower than on my falcon... (and I had turned my accelerator card off)... hmmm
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by calimero »

I find it really balanced in term of difficulty
so probably it is your version of game/Falcon that somehow speed game up...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by LaurentS »

Hi Mr JT.

First, I thank you for your nice comment.
It's always a pleasure to know that my little game is enjoyed by players.

I confirm what Calimero said. We've spent a lot of time trying to balance the playability of the game with the 3 modes (beginner/ standard / average modes).
Xerus and templeton did a lot of testing and comments on it.

The speed you can see in the video is the speed you should have on a standard falcon.
I think there's still something that is not "removed" with your accelerator (like RAM, CPU, accelerated bus, or anything that speeds the Falcon).

Have fun, stay (H)atari ;)

Laurent
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by calimero »

Hi,

did anyone try Racer on CT2 or accelerated Falcon?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Dal »

I tried it on CT60 - worked well.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by calimero »

Better (faster) than on stack Falcon?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1237
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: RACER Falcon (new game)

Post by Xerus »

The game is not faster with a accelerated Falcon but the framerate is better.
Post Reply

Return to “Games”