HxC USB on STm

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Marcopolo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:04 pm

HxC USB on STm

Post by Marcopolo »

Hi all, I've trawled through this section of the forum and Lothreks webpages but can't seem to find what I need. My recently resurrected 520STM (1mb upgrade), has an external 14pin floppy and no internal floppy

How would I then connect the HcX up to the machine without having to make a custom cable?

Many thanks,

Marco.
User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: HxC USB on STm

Post by MiggyMog »

You would need to install in external floppy drive with cable and replace the Internal drive with Hcx.

For preservation sake you may want to find another external drive and install in that so no case cutting or such is needed in the SF drive.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.
Marcopolo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: HxC USB on STm

Post by Marcopolo »

Apologies, not sure what you mean. There is no internal drive or even provision on the motherboard for an FDD plug. The only interface is the external FDD port.......The STM has both external PSU and FDD. Only the modulator is internal.
emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: HxC USB on STm

Post by emcclariion »

Find a broken External drive or use yours, but they are getting hard to fined now, so find one which has a dodgy floppy drive, open it up and plug the HxC into it and cut the casing.
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb
Marcopolo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: HxC USB on STm

Post by Marcopolo »

Actually I do have a spare floppy drive. It was the original broken one but luckily I kept it.....good call, thanks!!!!
User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: HxC USB on STm

Post by MiggyMog »

Apologies, I meant as emcclariion says to put it in the external drive.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.
Post Reply

Return to “HxC Floppy Emulator”