Sokoban for GEM

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

With some help from this forum, I've finally finished my GEM version of Sokoban. The screen shot shows the program working under MINT+XaAES on a Firebee, but has also been tested in low and high resolution on an Hatari-emulated ST, and an Hatari-emulated Falcon.

Features:

- Contains the 50 classic levels from Thinking Rabbit
- Additional levels can be loaded from a text file
- Unlimited undo
- Total moves and pushes per level recorded and saved
- Size of display can be adapted

See http://peterlane.info/sokoban.html
- for downloadable files (there is a separate build for the Firebee, and for the ST / 68000), and
- the source code (this program was written on a Firebee using AHCC).

(If you are looking for more levels, http://www.sourcecode.se/sokoban/levels has nearly 40,000 of them!)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Cyprian »

great!
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1013
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by shoggoth »

Nice :)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4720
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by joska »

Nice! Just tested it on my STE, it works really well.

I also like the fact that you have developed it *on* an Atari, not just *for* it :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by lotek_style »

I've put it into my archive: http://demozoo.org/productions/158370/
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

joska wrote:Nice! Just tested it on my STE, it works really well.

I also like the fact that you have developed it *on* an Atari, not just *for* it :)
Thanks for the feedback. My STE is refusing to work at the moment, so I couldn't try it on the 'real thing'.

And yes, developing *on* an Atari is the enjoyable part!
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

lotek_style wrote:I've put it into my archive: http://demozoo.org/productions/158370/
Thank you!
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Cyprian »

Would be possible to add "Reset level" option? Now, whenever when I get stuck I have to find the level in the Classic window.
Scale option would work globally. Now every time when I open a new level I have to change it to Large.
And last point, a new window could be fit to the Sokoban level

BTW. under XaAES I see refresh bug in "Classic" window
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by jfl »

Cyprian wrote:Would be possible to add "Reset level" option? Now, whenever when I get stuck I have to find the level in the Classic window.
Pressing "R" resets the level. Isn't it what you want?
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by jfl »

Your game is working quite well on my FireBee. I did notice though that the windows do not respond to the WM_BOTTOMED message. It's so simple to implement you should think about adding this.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Cyprian »

jfl wrote:Pressing "R" resets the level. Isn't it what you want?
yep, thx!
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
MM41
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by MM41 »

Thank you Peterlane :D,

Good GEM game :cheers:.

Could you add the save screen parameter when we exit game?
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

jfl wrote:Your game is working quite well on my FireBee. I did notice though that the windows do not respond to the WM_BOTTOMED message. It's so simple to implement you should think about adding this.
OK, thanks for the suggestion. It does look easy to add.
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

Cyprian wrote:Scale option would work globally. Now every time when I open a new level I have to change it to Large.
And last point, a new window could be fit to the Sokoban level
Thanks, I'll think about those.
MM41 wrote:Could you add the save screen parameter when we exit game?
Do you mean a kind of 'save current position' to return to later, option? I can see that would be useful. I'll also put it on the list to think about.

Thanks for the feedback.
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Anima »

Thanks for the game. That's truly a great classic.

I'll give it a try soon on my STE (which is back in business again after a long hibernation). :cheers:
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Thanks, looks nice!

I noticed one bug. Quitting the game works fine under EmuTOS, TOS v2.x and TOS v1.62, but it crashes TOS v1.04.

Might happen if you e.g. do some AES/VDI operation(s) after closing AES/VDI.
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by jfl »

Eero Tamminen wrote:I noticed one bug. Quitting the game works fine under EmuTOS, TOS v2.x and TOS v1.62, but it crashes TOS v1.04.
It does happen to me too under XaAES with an illegal instruction.
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

Eero Tamminen wrote:Thanks, looks nice!

I noticed one bug. Quitting the game works fine under EmuTOS, TOS v2.x and TOS v1.62, but it crashes TOS v1.04.

Might happen if you e.g. do some AES/VDI operation(s) after closing AES/VDI.
Thanks for the report, and the extensive testing. It may be an uninitialised pointer being freed - I just found one, thanks to your prompt.
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4720
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by joska »

peterlane wrote:Do you mean a kind of 'save current position' to return to later, option? I can see that would be useful. I'll also put it on the list to think about.
I'd like to see that too. Window size/position and graphics scale saved together with the scores.

I haven't played Sokoban since the 90's, spent many hours with the Syntax Terror version. And now I've spent/wasted hours on this one, trying to solve the levels again :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
peterlane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by peterlane »

I have created a new version of Sokoban, version 1.1.0. The changes include:

. Respond to WM_TERM message
. Respond to WM_BOTTOMED message
. Scale for position is set to last value used (so you don't have to keep changing the scale)
. Window size will fit level, if there's room on screen
. Warning if you exceed number of open windows
. Help screen to show keys
. Fixed pointer error when exiting with statistics screen open

In addition to the Firebee and ST versions, there is also a build aimed at the Falcon, responding to TOS 4.0 messages.

Available from: http://peterlane.info/sokoban.html

Thanks to everyone who tried the program, reported problems and made suggestions for improvements.
Peter Lane
Firebee | STE (4Mb, TOS 2.06)
http://peterlane.info/firebee.html
BlankVector
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by BlankVector »

Very nice game.
It works perfectly on EmuTOS for Amiga :mrgreen:
winuae.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Replace Atari STE ROMs with EEPROMs.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Tested the updated version. Quitting works now fine with TOS v1.04, when program is started from GEM desktop.

When starting program at TOS boot using DESKTOP.INF file (= what Hatari autostart does), it still crashes TOS v1.04. Other GEM programs seem to cause this too, so I think it's a TOS v1.04 bug, not Sokoban one, and can be ignored.
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Sokoban for GEM

Post by AtariCrypt »

How did I miss this little belter? Now I know what I'm doing today!! :D
Thank you!
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
Post Reply

Return to “Games”