Spec core with ZXMMC+

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by Paradroyd »

I managed to find a really good layout map and cheat sheet. I'll try just putting this up on a second monitor and see how that works. Now that I think about it, I can't imagine that I'm going to do a ton of real programming on it anyway.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

The latest release fixes the flickering pixels in the top left screen area. Also f11 now also acts as the nmi button.

And finally the core supports the scandoubler_disable feature. In 15khz the core does not boot reliably and you might have to hit reset a few times. But once it boots its stable. Also the osd does not work but you don't need that with the esxdos anymore, anyway.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki
javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by javidoom »

Awesome work with the Spectrum core!!!!

Thanks!!!

I recommend using esxDOS 0.8.6b4 as it solves some keyboard issues with some games.

Miguel Guerreiro is working too in a new version with long filenames, so it's going to be the best esxDOS ever :)

It has some limitations due to not using the 128k real mode, so some games don't work. But you can solve it loading a z80 before (or after) the game.

You can take an example with the game: PENTACORN QUEST, available here: http://www.mojontwins.com/mojoniaplus/v ... =16&t=1544

If you load it, you'll get a garbled screen, but after a few more tries, the reset shows a 128k menu, loading from there, the game works.

Or, you can use the 128.z80 in the attachment, which enables the 128k mode and load games which doesn't work without 128k mode enabled.

Thanks again for the core update!!

Regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by Paradroyd »

javidoom wrote:I recommend using esxDOS 0.8.6b4 as it solves some keyboard issues with some games.
0.8.5 seems to be the latest version available, at least from the official site.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by javidoom »

Hi.

You can find it in the esxdos official forum.

Regards.
User avatar
remowilliams
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 am

Re:

Post by remowilliams »

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Happy that you like it. The spare time of a week was well spent :-)
The Spectrum core with DIVMMC / ESXDOS support is brilliant, thank you! :D
javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by javidoom »

Paradroyd wrote:
javidoom wrote:I recommend using esxDOS 0.8.6b4 as it solves some keyboard issues with some games.
0.8.5 seems to be the latest version available, at least from the official site.
Hi!

Now I'm at home and here is the link to latest beta (0.8.6b4): http://board.esxdos.org/viewtopic.php?id=5

Regards.
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by Paradroyd »

javidoom wrote: Hi!

Now I'm at home and here is the link to latest beta (0.8.6b4): http://board.esxdos.org/viewtopic.php?id=5

Regards.
Got it. Thanks!
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by NML32 »

I get a message about RTC driver missing with esxDOS 0.8.6b4. How I wish I had a usb RTC for my Mist.
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Ah, yes, the usb rtc. I still have the pcb design and always wanted to have a few built ...

But you'd still need some hw support in the core.

On real divmmc the rtc is also optional. Maybe you can comment the driver loading in some esxdos config file.
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by NML32 »

If anyone ever decides to make and sell USB RTCs I'll buy one.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by vebxenon »

Hi :) First of all, thank very much for the MiST Board, and for every core developper or porter :) Well, I've testing the ZX Spectrum core, and I've found a sound problem on some games, like the new Castlevania or Genesis http://www.worldofspectrum.org/infoseek ... id=0025295, music sounds too bad... Have you tested them? Regards.

PS: Thanks also to javidoom for the 128.z80 file :-) Now I'm able to enjoy some games that I thought they were incompatible.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by Newsdee »

Sometimes modern games work on emulators but not so well on real hardware. I'll try those two on my speccy 2 when I get some time... The We Are Alive demo works identically between the MiST and the original, at least.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by vebxenon »

I've tested Castlevania and Genesis on real hardware. No issues found :P

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by farvardin »

on http://www.mike-stirling.com/retro-fpga ... n-an-fpga/ they talk about this issue: "Cycle accuracy – there is no memory contention and the CPU core doesn’t match the timing of the real Z80. This causes problems with games (and particularly demos) that do high-resolution colour by changing the attribute values at precise times. Multi-colour border effects also suffer."

On some games the beeper music is affected. I also write some 1bit musics and some engines works rather ok, while others are significantly degraded: the music plays lower, and slower, probably because it requires more CPU cycles. You can see an example with Raw Recuit: (original music https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl8dAVybwq8). It's a pity because otherwise the sound is great.
rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by rrmagro »

Hi, everyone.

I have noticed that the Spectrum core has the ability to be compiled to "simulate" other models.

File: spectrum_mist.vhd Line No.: 47

Code: Select all

-- Generic top-level entity for Altera DE1 board
entity spectrum_mist is
generic (
	-- Model to generate
	-- 0 = 48 K
	-- 1 = 128 K
	-- 2 = +2A/+3
	MODEL				:	integer := 1
); 
Can this be done to be dynamically ? Or does these options weren't fully tested?
If they are some kind of beta features then disregard the rest of my post.
i.e.: the default could be the 48K model and on the OSD, it could be changed to another one or selected/saved in some kind of configuration file.

There are several Spectrum (Sinclair/Amstrad/Timex) models, as you guys know, if this core can "simulate" three of those, can other be also added/included?

Just for reference.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ZX_Spectrum
http://www.worldofspectrum.org/faq/refe ... rdware.htm

Spectrum +2: http://www.worldofspectrum.org/infoseek ... id=1000489
Spectrum +2a:http://www.worldofspectrum.org/infoseek ... id=1000490
Spectrum +3e: http://www.worldofspectrum.org/zxplus3e/
Spectrum SE: http://www.worldofspectrum.org/faq/refe ... erence.htm (This one would be awesome )

Timex TC2048/TC2068/TS2068: http://www.worldofspectrum.org/faq/refe ... erence.htm
Sam Coupe: http://sam.speccy.cz/ (This one could be more complicated to implement)

I know that i am asking to much but until today and after all these years i still love my Speccy's.

Regards,
Rui Magro
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by vebxenon »

Oh, it would be great to change using the OSD the machine instead of using the 128.Z80 I use now...

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

The Spectrum core just received some work. The whole setup now runs more stable and e.g. TV/15khz now runs and boots stable. The only functional change: A scanlines option.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

User sorgelig just finished porting a new zx spectrum core.

It may look very similar on a first glance. But the new one is cycle exact! Even the colour bars from the shock mega demo work.

You find the binary on github as usual.

Merry christmas!
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki
User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by xc8 »

fantastic! looking forward for compatibility with ESXDOS...
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by farvardin »

wow, that's so great! I haven't bought my MiST only for the zx spectrum, but it contributed for it. I was a bit disappointed when I noticed the timing was not very accurate. While I couldn't really see in in games, for beeper music, it was very noticable.

With this new core it seems very faithful to an original spectrum for 1-bit music, I can't hear any difference. I'll probably record a few thing to compare.

Now at least you can download Raw Recruit: http://worldofspectrum.org/infoseekid.cgi?id=0004043
and compare with a real recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl8dAVybwq8

(the esxdos menu is working fine for me)

Thanks a lot Till and Sorgelig!
User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by Paradroyd »

MasterOfGizmo wrote:User sorgelig just finished porting a new zx spectrum core.

It may look very similar on a first glance. But the new one is cycle exact! Even the colour bars from the shock mega demo work.

You find the binary on github as usual.

Merry christmas!
Works great..thanks!
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon
oscarbraindead
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by oscarbraindead »

Hi all,
thanks for the new core. I've tried it but I can get the tape selector screen... the core boots to the 128K mode. The first time I press F11 the MIST mounts all the devices and returns to the zx spectrum 48 screen. Then, when I press F11 again to show the file selector, just resets to 48K mode again.
If I try previous versions of the core I can get the file selector without problems.
Any idea what I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
Best regards
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by farvardin »

I think you're not doing anything wrong. I have almost the same behavior: boot in zx 128 mode first (I think you can use csw files there, but I haven't tried this myself), if I type F11, then it boots to zx 48 with esxdos, but for me if I type F11 again, then I can get the file selector and load my .tap.

In the previous core, I sometime got this "reboot" problem when I typed F11 (or it did nothing at all), sometimes I had to load another core, then the zx core again and it worked (Generally the esxdos menu told me there was a load error). You can try to delete the core and copy it again on your sd card.

The ay-3-8910 implementation seems a bit different from the other one. I can't say which one is better, maybe this one, at least the panning seems more balanced. I can't believe it only fits in this file: https://github.com/sorgelig/ZX_Spectrum ... a/ay8910.v

Like the other core, when I try to load a sna converted to tap, it only reboots, but maybe it's related to esxdos (I can load the same .tap on my real spectrum without problem)
oscarbraindead
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Post by oscarbraindead »

Fixed!
I was using esxdos086-BETA4 but using the v085 it works well!

Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”