DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12917
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by wongck »

Sorry, cannot figure this one out, is there only 1 wire needed or another wire I can't see ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Fox-1
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 3:32 pm
Location: Earth 2.0, NL
Contact:

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by Fox-1 »

wongck wrote:is there only 1 wire needed or another wire I can't see ?
The red wire is the +3V connection. The other connection on the RTC Module is likely connected to ground. Connecting the ground (0V) of the new cell to ground of the Falcon (that wide trace at the edge of the PCB) will do.
BBSing is terminal...
Atari 400/800/600XL/800XL/1200XL/65XE/800XE/130XE/XEGS/2600/5200/7800/Lynx/Jaguar/Jaguar Dev.Sys-Alpine/260ST/520STF/1040STFM/1040STe/MegaST/MegaSTe2/MegaSTe4-Vortex386/Falcon030/PC4
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by 1st1 »

It's easy: The minus pin of the NVRAM internal battery is just connected to ground of the motherboard. So why placing two wires? Soldering the minus pin of the battery socket to motherboard ground does the same thing.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
Guest

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by Guest »

1st1 wrote:It's easy: The minus pin of the NVRAM internal battery is just connected to ground of the motherboard. So why placing two wires? Soldering the minus pin of the battery socket to motherboard ground does the same thing.

sorry no its not

its connected to a bent up pin and goes via the internal ic to ground return
this does not mean its ground

did you check with a DVM that the ground of the battery indeed connects directly to ground 0V of the chassis :contract:
i can answer no you didnt you just assumed it does :coffe:
and thats the rock you perish on.,..
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by 1st1 »

I did, the connection is having 0 (Zero) Ohm of resitance. That is a direct connection. Meanwhile I reworked about 4 Falcons with this mod and they all work fine. Next Saturday on HomeCon probably the next one. :)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
Guest

Re: DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip

Post by Guest »

cool well bats fixed ...! by cell replacement with cr 2032 etc ... 5 year cells { i think2 years you get out of them}
well we all win past the limit for the IC flashing cycles {every boot}
most nvram are quoted as 10-100,000 flashes
so this is another set of errors and what it does to the falcon and TT yet too come
ie how to recognize them but boot or ...ye... no boot
Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”