NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
artik-wroc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Wroclaw - POLAND
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by artik-wroc »

alanh wrote:No reason why it shouldn't. I do have a couple of PAK's though. So I can try it.
I tried, but I failed :(
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4466
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by DarkLord »

artik-wroc wrote:
alanh wrote:No reason why it shouldn't. I do have a couple of PAK's though. So I can try it.
I tried, but I failed :(
Hmm, how about a few more details...exactly what went wrong? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
artik-wroc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Wroclaw - POLAND
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by artik-wroc »

Computer will not boot. It may be incompatible with Ultrasatan. I don't know.
User avatar
Shockwav3
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Shockwav3 »

Are the schemes for the IDE board available? I just finished the PAK68/3-030A schematics last night - maybe either project could be adapted to work if the issue can be pinpointed.

Can I haz hardware?
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

I've got some time off this week so I can take a look with my PAK.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

artik-wroc wrote:Computer will not boot. It may be incompatible with Ultrasatan. I don't know.
It works fine with the ultrasatan. I've tested that and many others too.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by catmando »

alanh wrote:O.k. First of all, apologies folks for those who have the "rev2" STE IDE boards. There's a small hardware problem where some people have noticed boot problems or loading problems on the STE.

It turns out this is only on the primary port, the secondary port is fine.

Here's a photo of the fix. Essentially a trace cut near the top row of CPU pins, and an additional wire down near the IDE pins.

This will fix the issue, and bring back the primary port to it's full glory.

This also ONLY happens on the "STE rev2" boards. The first development boards sent out DO NOT have this problem.

Apologies folks.
stefix2.jpg
PM me if you have problems doing the fix yourselves.
I've done the modification, is there a way to test the trace cut before I put the board back into the machine?
Last edited by catmando on Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

Yes, before soldering the new wire in-place, put an ohm-meter between the two pins that need to have a wire soldered between, it should not show a short.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by catmando »

alanh wrote:Yes, before soldering the new wire in-place, put an ohm-meter between the two pins that need to have a wire soldered between, it should not show a short.
Thanks, looks like all went to plan
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

New batch of STE boards getting ready to be ordered.

Those interested should visit the order page now so I can get quantities correct.

http://www.freemint.org/ide/ide.html

Thanks folks !
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by jomor58 »

alanh wrote:
Hi John,

Hope it goes well. Exxos did a bit of a write up when he installed his STFM version here....

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atar ... /index.htm

Hi alanh

I have successfully installed the IDE controller and ROM boards in my STFM.

Being a STFM the controller and ROM boards have been soldered directly to the st main board and the 68000 to the controller, as advised by Exxos in his write up.

Image

To refit the metal work I have had to chop a few hole because the 68000 and Hi ROM stand just slightly to high.

Image

A longer IDE cable is on the way so the CF adapter can be fitted in the gap between the PSU and floppy drive.
I only need to find a Blitter chip to make this ST perfect. Any body know were I can get one?

John
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

Nice job John !!!
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 656
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Fujiyama »

jomor58 wrote: I only need to find a Blitter chip to make this ST perfect. Any body know were I can get one?
Try Bravo Sierra computers or Best Electronics.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?
jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by jomor58 »

Fujiyama,
Thank you for the links but I would prefer to source one a bit closer to home, UK or EU, and not so expensive.

John
Starteck2002
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:24 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Starteck2002 »

Hi Alan,

What's the availabilty of a Mega STe board? Just recieved the machine today and ready to mod :-)

I've not opened it up so don't know what TOS is on it oranything yet but can confirm it works, has a whopping 47meg scsi drive and a mind blowing 2megs of ram :-) Can you PM me details, prices and any other info you think I may need as I don't have enough posts to PM you yet.

Cheers,

Dave
User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 656
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Fujiyama »

I understand.
There's Barrie at Keychange, but he isn't exactly known for being cheap compared to the above links.
You could also ask in this forum's "Wanted/for sale" section, as someone locally might have a broken ST with the blitter intact for sale cheap.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by qq1975b »

ST-Freakz may also have one. Send him a PM.

You can also ask for it on this thread: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=23490
Trying to learn...
Guest

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Guest »

i would like1 for an st

this machine is a gold board with two roms and the ls11 ic
i want to add flash tos to it and made the boards

i think this is a better option using pperas and posels flash tos without tos 2

and using your board alan for tos 2 and ide

please pm me where to send cash and what to order
im dumb ive looked on the site and see

so ill order an st board

great work man

,,!!!!! :)
jomor58
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:43 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by jomor58 »

qq1975b wrote:ST-Freakz may also have one. Send him a PM.

You can also ask for it on this thread: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=23490
Thanks for recommending ST-Freakz. I've been in contact with him and blitter chip is on its way to me.


@Fujiyama
Thank you for the link to Barrie at Keychange. Your comments on there prices did put me off but could have been an option if ST-Freakz had come up negative.

John
Muzz73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:00 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Muzz73 »

Hey, I know this is an old thread, but I must know...

Is there a way to get one of these into a Mega ST without using the MegaBus adapter? My MegaBus slot is already occupied by a TOS 2.06 upgrade board.

Many thanks!

Louis
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

You can solder it to the 68000, but the IDE board has a TOS 2.06 decoder built in, so you could do away with your current one and use mine :-)
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
Starteck2002
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:24 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by Starteck2002 »

My STe IDE Board has turned up today (Thanks Alan!) - I'll be fitting it later today and will put up some photos and details of my installation experience. Feel it needs to be said though.... Alan's 'customer service' is exceptional - one of the better buying experiences in my opinion. I got plenty of advice and prompt answers to my harrassing emails :-)
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4724
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by joska »

Alan, I just looked at the picture of your STFM IDE board:

Image

It looks like you can solder a CPU socket on top of it, is that correct? I'm considering buying one for my Mega which already has a PC-Speed so I need a through-port. Also, the Megabus port is occupied so I can't use that one either.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by alanh »

Yes, that's correct.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
jimbob005
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:29 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Post by jimbob005 »

Alanh I would like one would it work on my stfm 520 and if so how much ?


Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”