Atari Falcon video output quality

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
thgill
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Atari Falcon video output quality

Post by thgill »

Heya gang

Recently received an Atari Falcon and hooking it up via VGA to several different LCD that I have on hand and I get a picture with some interference in it. Horizontal lines going across that move up and down. It included what looks like a homebrew Falcon VGA adapter.


Is this typical of the Falcon output on a LCD monitor? Sadly I don't have any VGA CRTs on hand to test with. Might have to pick one up.
Like retro computers, game consoles and other obsolete junk? Check out Todd's Nerd Cave on YouTube

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12882
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon video output quality

Post by wongck »

thgill wrote:Is this typical of the Falcon output on a LCD monitor?
No.
I get a very stable video out of my VGA adapter. Mine is a Atari Falcon VGA adapter.

May be you need to insulate it with ground. A hardware guru should be able to advice you better.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4195
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon video output quality

Post by Dal »

Does your Falcon have an accelerator of some description inside (phantom or nemesis perhaps)?

Also if you can try and capture a picture, that would help.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12882
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon video output quality

Post by wongck »

I am using an LCD (Philips).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon video output quality

Post by shoggoth »

Try a different adapter. At normal screen resolutions, the picture is - not perfect - but definitely ok.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”