Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

All about demos on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

Today I took my Atari SC1224 and the Ocean Machine Demo to see if my Afterburner040 Falcon will be able to run it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paWppV_neCE

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Frank B »

What does it run like without the afterburner on? Does it need fast RAM? If not it would be interesting to see the demo "run" on a stock Falcon for comparison purposes. :)

Frank

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

Unfortunately my Afterburner040 has no option to switch back to the 68030. The readme file to the ocean machine demo tells a minimum of 32 MB FastRAM + 4 MB ST-RAM. I had also a try with the Starstruck and Silkcut demo. They tell me 48/4 MB RAM will be okay, but it always ends up with a lack of memory message, even if my Falcon has 48/4 MB inside. O.o BTW: I switched the CPU from the write-through-mode to the faster copy-back-mode my using the ECBACK.PRG to get the maximum speed of my Afterburner040!
Last edited by Omikronman on Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1155
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by CiH »

The Black Lotus demo ports run on my Falcon Centurbo 2 as well. This is a 68030 at 50 mhz, 14 mb ST ram, and 64 mb of fast ram box. It runs, but the frame rate drops to 2 or 3 a second.. How does the '040 look in comparison.My CT60 is, of course, just fine :mrgreen:
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 888
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by EvilFranky »

Hey there!

I seen the video late last night, to me I think it runs great considering its a 32Mhz 040! :D

How much RAM can the AB040 take?

Why can 030 mode no longer be used? I don't know a lot about the AB040 :)

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

"How does the '040 look in comparison?"

Watch my video

"How much RAM can the AB040 take?"

The AB040 can take up to 64 MB FastRAM.

"Why can 030 mode no longer be used?"

MW-electronic who fitted in the AB040 board did not like to give the option to switch back to the 030. :-(
Last edited by Omikronman on Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Cyprian »

Omikronman wrote:Today I took my Atari SC1224 and the Ocean Machine Demo to see if my Afterburner040 Falcon will be able to run it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paWppV_neCE
Hi Omikronman,
thanks for that video. I see that OM works with reasonable fps on 040 @ 32 Mhz. That video shows that Afterburner040 is a really good piece of hardware...

What about making video with Starstruck and Silkcut? Both ported to Atari.
http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=25778
http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=12034
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by [ProToS] »

Omikronman wrote: "Why can 030 mode no longer be used?"

MW-electronic who fitted in the AB040 board did not like to give the option so switch back to the 030. :-(
they have a DIY Afterburner040 F030 switch made by Geir Øyvind Vælidalo, you could find it on the
Jo Even Skarstein web page :wink:

http://atari.nvg.org/ab/
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

Another demo working with the AB040 will be shown on YouTube soon: "Derealization". Please be prepared! =)

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Frank B »

What about posting a vid of some patched ST games running on the 040. If they work they should be fast! 50hz I'd say :)

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

That sounds quite interesting. Where can I get some patched ST-games for the 040? I remember running Frontier Elite II on the AB040. After fireing on a spacestation it was launching about 25 viper police ships to kill me. The AB040 was able to let them run smooth, but the game itself was not patched and not too happy with the 040.

CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1155
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by CiH »

Watch my video
Well it seems to make a pretty fair fist of it. Somewhere between my CT2, which is the absolute minimum system to be able to consider it, and my CT60, which is lovely and smooth as the original target hardware should be :mrgreen:

It is worth your while to check out the rest of the CT60 demo catalogue. The two DHS 4ktro's, Acidic Tears and Episode 666 seem to run decently even on my CT2, and so does the 64ktro 'Traal'. I think you will get good mileage on most of the other demos out there :D
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Frank B »

Try the dbug games maybe and see if they run. I'd love to see some old 3 vbl games running like the wind :) Some games to try are ST Dragon, Lotus turbo, Indigo and zool. It would be cool if they work on the 040 too.

Frank

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

Hello Frank, I was not too successful today with Zool and Lotus Turbo (too many AB040 settings can still be done to try again), but I ran the intro sequence of Frontier Elite II with it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J_4cfK_eYMg

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Frank B »

Nice. Please upload as many games videos as possible :)

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Afterburner040 runs "Ocean Machine" Demo

Post by Omikronman »

Today I added the Derealization Demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMZU23rUR1o

Post Reply

Return to “Demos”