SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Finally tested it. Moved the jumper to non-twisted Drive A, as per upper left diagram on user manual.

Still does not update the Atari when there is a floppy change (change to another hfe file).
When I do a ESC, to re-read the directory, it still display the old floppy contents.

I again need to double click on B: drive which reads the new floppy.
This time however, upon closing the old A: drive widow and double clicking again on A: drive
the new floppy directory is displayed.

This is better than when I had the jumper for twisted cable, where I can only swap "floppy" (change hfe files) twice;
need a reboot to read the third floppy. 8O
Now I can swap many "floppy" (change hfe files) without a reboot :D
as long as I keep to the procedure.

However, that floppy.media change is still not there.... :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:Finally tested it. Moved the jumper to non-twisted Drive A, as per upper left diagram on user manual.

Still does not update the Atari when there is a floppy change (change to another hfe file).
When I do a ESC, to re-read the directory, it still display the old floppy contents.

I again need to double click on B: drive which reads the new floppy.
This time however, upon closing the old A: drive widow and double clicking again on A: drive
the new floppy directory is displayed.

This is better than when I had the jumper for twisted cable, where I can only swap "floppy" (change hfe files) twice;
need a reboot to read the third floppy. 8O
Now I can swap many "floppy" (change hfe files) without a reboot :D
as long as I keep to the procedure.

However, that floppy.media change is still not there.... :(
Unfortunately i don't have a falcon to check this issue.

Can you try this :
Eject the image with the middle/eject button,
wait some seconds (3/4)
insert the new one.

Another try:
Write protect the sdcard.
Insert the sdcard in the emulator - select a floppy image . Access it with the falcon
Remove the sdcard -
wait some seconds (3/4)
Reinsert the sdcard and choose another image.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Ok, tested further.

On TOS, close Drive A window, swap the "floppy"/hfe files and reopening
Drive A does not show the new floppy directory but the old floppy directory.
Only after a ESC, the new floppy directory is displayed.

On MINT, close Drive A window, swap the "floppy"/hfe files and reopening
Drive A does not show the new floppy directory but the old floppy directory.
After a ESC, still the old floppy directory is displayed.
Need to double click on Drive B (shows new floppy directory),
then close/reopen Drive A window to show new floppy directory.

I think MINT is caching something....
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:Ok, tested further.

On TOS, close Drive A window, swap the "floppy"/hfe files and reopening
Drive A does not show the new floppy directory but the old floppy directory.
Only after a ESC, the new floppy directory is displayed.

On MINT, close Drive A window, swap the "floppy"/hfe files and reopening
Drive A does not show the new floppy directory but the old floppy directory.
After a ESC, still the old floppy directory is displayed.
Need to double click on Drive B (shows new floppy directory),
then close/reopen Drive A window to show new floppy directory.

I think MINT is caching something....

What is the model number and vendor of your Falcon floppy disk drive ?
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote: What is the model number and vendor of your Falcon floppy disk drive ?
Jeff, thanks for looking into this. :D
My original Falcon floppy drive died so I have replaced it with a Mitsumi D359T5.
The original Falcon floppy drive was a Epson SMD-300 floppy drive.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote: What is the model number and vendor of your Falcon floppy disk drive ?
Jeff, thanks for looking into this. :D
My original Falcon floppy drive died so I have replaced it with a Mitsumi D359T5.
The original Falcon floppy drive was a Epson SMD-300 floppy drive.
Ok i forgot something about the falcon : It uses PC floppy disk drive.

So try this : In the HxCFloppyEmulator software, go in the Settings panel, unckeck "auto" and select "IBM PC 720kB" if your images are DD floppies or "IBM PC 1.44MB" if your images are HD floppies. After this you can convert your floppy images.

(Note : a small software update "1.3.9.1" that correct a "bug" in the convert function : http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... r_soft.zip)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:So try this : In the HxCFloppyEmulator software, go in the Settings panel, unckeck "auto" and select "IBM PC 720kB" if your images are DD floppies or "IBM PC 1.44MB" if your images are HD floppies. After this you can convert your floppy images.
Is it possible to mix between 1.44MB & 720KB floppies in the same SD card?
Otherwise I need to ear mark 2 SD for my Atari use. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:So try this : In the HxCFloppyEmulator software, go in the Settings panel, unckeck "auto" and select "IBM PC 720kB" if your images are DD floppies or "IBM PC 1.44MB" if your images are HD floppies. After this you can convert your floppy images.
Is it possible to mix between 1.44MB & 720KB floppies in the same SD card?
Otherwise I need to ear mark 2 SD for my Atari use. :mrgreen:
Of course yes, but you must change your settings during the conversion if you change between 1.44MB & 720KB images.
I will correct this little issue in the next software version.
User avatar
wood_jl
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:17 pm

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wood_jl »

I just want to say that I have been using this device for 2-3 weeks now (not super heavily though) and it is WONDERFUL!!! I love it!! Dream come true!

What a game machine this makes!!!!
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

wood_jl wrote:I just want to say that I have been using this device for 2-3 weeks now (not super heavily though) and it is WONDERFUL!!! I love it!! Dream come true!

What a game machine this makes!!!!
Yes, this is really a great device.
Especially the excellent after sales service that Jeff is granting us in this thread.
Not a single question left unanswered.... :thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:
wood_jl wrote:I just want to say that I have been using this device for 2-3 weeks now (not super heavily though) and it is WONDERFUL!!! I love it!! Dream come true!

What a game machine this makes!!!!
Yes, this is really a great device.
Especially the excellent after sales service that Jeff is granting us in this thread.
Not a single question left unanswered.... :thumbs:
So the HxC Floppy Emulator works as you want with your Falcon now ?
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote: So the HxC Floppy Emulator works as you want with your Falcon now ?
Well, of all pits.... sorry for swearing.
My stupido MIC multi-card reader gave up on me last weekend. :(
Just when things were getting exciting....
I have another one on order.

Anyway, my "other" card reader is a camera with a USB. So I tried to use it
but when I put the SD in to the camera, it insisted on formating it.
So I did not try because I do not want to format my SD using the camera buildin formater.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote: So I did not try because I do not want to format my SD using the camera buildin formater.
Yes because it try to format the SDCard in FAT16 (generaly old camera doesn't support FAT32...)
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:Ok i forgot something about the falcon : It uses PC floppy disk drive.

So try this : In the HxCFloppyEmulator software, go in the Settings panel, unckeck "auto" and select "IBM PC 720kB" if your images are DD floppies or "IBM PC 1.44MB" if your images are HD floppies. After this you can convert your floppy images.

(Note : a small software update "1.3.9.1" that correct a "bug" in the convert function : http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... r_soft.zip)
My new SD card reader arrived today :D
The behaviour after UN-Selecting AUTO and using IBM PC 1.44MB is the same as previous.
On TOS, after a hfe file change, I need to press ESC force a reread of the directory.
On MINT, pressing ESC does not force a reread of the directory. :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

wongck wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:Ok i forgot something about the falcon : It uses PC floppy disk drive.

So try this : In the HxCFloppyEmulator software, go in the Settings panel, unckeck "auto" and select "IBM PC 720kB" if your images are DD floppies or "IBM PC 1.44MB" if your images are HD floppies. After this you can convert your floppy images.

(Note : a small software update "1.3.9.1" that correct a "bug" in the convert function : http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... r_soft.zip)
My new SD card reader arrived today :D
The behaviour after UN-Selecting AUTO and using IBM PC 1.44MB is the same as previous.
On TOS, after a hfe file change, I need to press ESC force a reread of the directory.
On MINT, pressing ESC does not force a reread of the directory. :(
Since a week there are new firmware. it may correct this. please upgrade and retry :-)

http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... rmware.zip
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Shredder11 »

I downloaded v1.3.9.1 but I can only see the previous v1.3.9.0 on the main page now. Is it possible to return to an older version or is it like most firmware; once flashed there is no going back?
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

Shredder11 wrote:I downloaded v1.3.9.1 but I can only see the previous v1.3.9.0 on the main page now. Is it possible to return to an older version or is it like most firmware; once flashed there is no going back?
The main page is not uptodate. the lastest version is the v1.3.9.1.
Yes you can return to an older version but why did you want do this?
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Shredder11 »

No reason at the moment really.......just asking. 8)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:The main page is not uptodate. the lastest version is the v1.3.9.1.
Yes you can return to an older version but why did you want do this?
Well, always good to have a back-out plan when doing something new.
:lol: Been using too much M$ software at work where we always need a back-out plan in case the new stuff don't work. :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote: Since a week there are new firmware. it may correct this. please upgrade and retry :-)

http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... rmware.zip
Great. :thumbs:
I will give that a spin.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by wongck »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote: The main page is not uptodate. the lastest version is the v1.3.9.1.
I checked the program using Right-click properties and it's version is v1.3.9.0.
If it's done in MSVS, it should auto bump the minor version for release builds.
So is this the right version in the dl section?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by rocket-dog »

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:New preorder ! :

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0516490246

:D
Some of us are still waiting for the last batch.........

Payment To:
P********* K********* (The recipient of this payment is Non-US - Verified)
Seller's ID:
lotharek1977
Seller's Email:
lotharek@poczta.onet.pl
Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Post by Jeff_HxC2001 »

Check your sent date in this list :

http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/stuff/post.pdf
EDIT: yours have been sent -> 01.06.2010.
Post Reply

Return to “HxC Floppy Emulator”