How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

insanity
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:31 pm
Location: Leicester, England

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by insanity »

Frank B wrote:Just upload it as an attachment here and someone will add it to the twiki :) That's what I did.
I'll do it - I've, sort of, taken ownership of that wiki area.

If you're having trouble uploading, PM me and I'll give you an email address to send it to and I'll
resize and add to the wiki...

Thought you'd forgot actually. Make sure I can see the serial numbers etc. for the wiki table.

Thanks

baz
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by yerzmyey »

Factor6 wrote:a 'fly' busy pointer :)

Funny, I always thought it's a bee. ;)

Maybe we should do a quiz - what insect the "busy" pointer is? ;) A wasp maybe? Hahaha.
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by yerzmyey »

Btw Factor, I noticed some FDD on Your video.
So finally You managed to get a proper FDD for the original ST520?
Does it use full 720Kb or is that the "smaller" one?
(What I mean is this: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 34#p152834 , find the photos' part).
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by wongck »

yerzmyey wrote:
Factor6 wrote:a 'fly' busy pointer :)

Funny, I always thought it's a bee. ;)

Maybe we should do a quiz - what insect the "busy" pointer is? ;) A wasp maybe? Hahaha.
A busy Bee. :angel:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

wongck wrote:
yerzmyey wrote:
Factor6 wrote:a 'fly' busy pointer :)
Funny, I always thought it's a bee. ;)
Maybe we should do a quiz - what insect the "busy" pointer is? ;) A wasp maybe? Hahaha.
A busy Bee. :angel:
I always thought it's a fly... Hmm...

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

yerzmyey wrote:Btw Factor, I noticed some FDD on Your video.
So finally You managed to get a proper FDD for the original ST520?
Does it use full 720Kb or is that the "smaller" one?
(What I mean is this: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 34#p152834 , find the photos' part).
Yes, that FDD is Cumana (UK manufacturer of third party Atari floppies) drive 720kB.
The original SF314 was single sided only, the SF354 was double sided, afaik.

The ST can handle both of them (double and single sided). Just in TOS 1.00 is only single sided floppy support when formatting.
In the next TOSes there is an option to switch between single and double sided.

The ST external FDDs (all) work on all Atari STs.

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

insanity wrote:
Frank B wrote:Just upload it as an attachment here and someone will add it to the twiki :) That's what I did.
I'll do it - I've, sort of, taken ownership of that wiki area.
If you're having trouble uploading, PM me and I'll give you an email address to send it to and I'll
resize and add to the wiki...
Thought you'd forgot actually. Make sure I can see the serial numbers etc. for the wiki table.
Thanks
baz
Well, can't upload so big pics here so added temporarily here:

http://factor6.ic.cz/temp/520st/stplus.jpg

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by yerzmyey »

Factor6 wrote: Yes, that FDD is Cumana (UK manufacturer of third party Atari floppies) drive 720kB.
The original SF314 was single sided only, the SF354 was double sided, afaik.
The ST can handle both of them (double and single sided). Just in TOS 1.00 is only single sided floppy support when formatting.
In the next TOSes there is an option to switch between single and double sided.
The ST external FDDs (all) work on all Atari STs.

Arrrrrrgh. ENVY MODE "ON" ;) ;) ;)

I WANNA HAVE SUCH A COMPUTER TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

Well, congratz anyway. ;) I'm glad everything works.
If You want some list of good ST 1Mb demos then let me know. (Actually one of the best of them is for... ST 500Kb! :) ).
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

yerzmyey wrote: Arrrrrrgh. ENVY MODE "ON" ;) ;) ;)
I WANNA HAVE SUCH A COMPUTER TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)
Well, congratz anyway. ;) I'm glad everything works.
If You want some list of good ST 1Mb demos then let me know. (Actually one of the best of them is for... ST 500Kb! :) ).
Hehe, my computer has 1Meg, but due to the lack of TOS in ROM it has to be loaded into RAM. So a 192K TOS eats 192K of RAM from the whole 1Meg. That means I have only 832K (if using 192K TOS) or 768K (in case of 256K TOS). So I'm not able to run any program which needs TOS (some demos don't need it, but some do) + 1Meg of RAM. That's why I'm going to replace the bootROM with proper TOS chips in the near future.

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by wongck »

yerzmyey wrote:
Arrrrrrgh. ENVY MODE "ON" ;) ;) ;)

I WANNA HAVE SUCH A COMPUTER TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)
Here is your chance actually.... another one at ebay now! :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Dizzy-WEWRF »

Hi :D

How far have the affords gone to
image the rom
as a file from this old
tos versions ?

Would be really nice to
see the image file
of those roms :)

Cant be that
hard to read it out
as the Base adress
seems to be clear or not ?

So long DIZZY :D
Everything will become well :)
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2319
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Eero Tamminen »

EmuTOS includes bootable disk image, just get emutos-floppy.zip:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/emutos/ ... tos/0.9.0/
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by AtariZoll »

Dizzy-WEWRF wrote:Hi :D

How far have the affords gone to
image the rom
as a file from this old
tos versions ?

Would be really nice to
see the image file
of those roms :)

Cant be that
hard to read it out
as the Base adress
seems to be clear or not ?

So long DIZZY :D
It is done already. Try with forum search.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Dizzy-WEWRF »

Hi, how is it called,
as it is not really a "Tos" image ?
So that i can search for it ?

ThX Dizzy
Everything will become well :)
User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Dizzy-WEWRF »

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:01 pm
EmuTOS includes bootable disk image, just get emutos-floppy.zip:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/emutos/ ... tos/0.9.0/

Eero Tamminen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm
Hi :) Thanks also for your answer, but you didnt get me right
I havent been after the boot disk :)
I am after these very special "Roms" producing the
turn on power and insert disk screens
itself shown in
the pictures :)

Would be really nice to
see the image file
of those very special "Roms" :)

Cant be that
hard to read it out
as the Base adress
seems to be clear or not ?

If already done so some kind of Link would be welcome :D

But despite of it thanks to your answer :)

So long Dizzy
Everything will become well :)
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by AtariZoll »

Here is thread and floppy image in : http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... =tos+image
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
Rydiak
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:20 pm

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Rydiak »

Factor6 wrote:
yerzmyey wrote:Btw Factor, I noticed some FDD on Your video.
So finally You managed to get a proper FDD for the original ST520?
Does it use full 720Kb or is that the "smaller" one?
(What I mean is this: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 34#p152834 , find the photos' part).
Yes, that FDD is Cumana (UK manufacturer of third party Atari floppies) drive 720kB.
The original SF314 was single sided only, the SF354 was double sided, afaik.

The ST can handle both of them (double and single sided). Just in TOS 1.00 is only single sided floppy support when formatting.
In the next TOSes there is an option to switch between single and double sided.

The ST external FDDs (all) work on all Atari STs.

F6
It's been a while but all is not true. Firstly SF314 is a double sided external disk drive and SF354 is a single sided. Secondly I have Atari 520ST with 1mb RAM, SF314 and TOS 1.00 and you can either format single sided or double sided disks with SF314. It might be an issue with third party disk drives, I really don't know. Anyway.. it doesn't really matter nowadays because it's much easier to format disks with PC when transferring ST images.
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”