Atari in PC-CASE project !

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Hi Atarians,

Just wanted to share some pictures of my pc-case project.

I used a 1040STfm mobo with TOS 1.2 UK
MSX RGB Board (ripped from a msx 2),
with RF / cinch Audio, Luminance / CVBS and SCART connector (all working)
2 HD pc floppy drives used a 7407 TTL IC to pull up select signals. (working as 720 dd Drive)

Have a COLOR/MONO switch built in, when working in color switch will reset
and switch to mono and vice versa.

Oh well just look at the pictures...
100_0721.jpg
100_0722.jpg
100_0723.jpg
100_0724.jpg
100_0725.jpg
100_0726.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Hi Atarians,

more pictures...

Greets MisterT
100_0727.jpg
100_0728.jpg
100_0729.jpg
100_0730.jpg
100_0731.jpg
100_0732.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by Shredder11 »

Now that is good work! 8O :cheers:
User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by rocket-dog »

I agree with the Shred', you are a clever kiddy. BZ.
User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by teh3pwner »

Nice job 8O :cheers:
Image
Image
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Thanks for the positive replies :D

Now i just wait till i get my EIFFEL so i can
use it with matching keyboard and mouse :mrgreen:
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by spiny »

nice :)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by wongck »

Looks great :D

From the pics, the mobo looks mounted horizontally?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

wongck wrote:From the pics, the mobo looks mounted horizontally?
Yes from sideview of pc-case the mobo is mounted like this...
motherboard 1.jpg
:mrgreen:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by samf »

Now that is some nice work!!
Wonder if a Falcon motherboard can be installed in such a case?
Atari Computer Nut
Virginia U.S.A.
C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,
256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,
4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Yes i think thats no problem....

Most work is to get the connectors to the outside
so if its similar then a 1040 mobo it will fit

:-)
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by DarkLord »

samf wrote:Now that is some nice work!!
Wonder if a Falcon motherboard can be installed in such a case?
Hey Sam - its Ron, from just a ways (Kentucky) over from ya.... :)

Did you ever put your CTxx'ed Falcon in the Wizztronics Rack case
like I did or did you decide to go another route?

Just curious - and nice to see ya around. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by wongck »

A Falc should fit, as it is about the size of the 1040.
Does it still have room at around the PC PCI slot openings?
If there's still space, it would be great to fit in the CTPCI as well.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4725
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by joska »

MisterT wrote:MSX RGB Board (ripped from a msx 2),
with RF / cinch Audio, Luminance / CVBS and SCART connector (all working)
A very neat conversion, most tower conversions tends to be quite messy. I just hope that you pulled that RGB-card from a dead MSX2 though, a real shame if you butchered a working MSX2 for this ;-)
Last edited by joska on Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Well to be honest it was a WORKING msx-2
But i had thatone and some others for spare parts..
It had a really ugly damaged case so not really a shame to use it :-)

But the RGB board can easily be made with VIRO board
its same principal the atari uses based on the MC1377 RGB encoder chip.

I wanted the standard SCART bus and all the audio/video cinch connectors
and philips already did that for me in the video part of the msx....
luckily it was a single board and not integrated in the main comp board

Thats basicaly why i used it :-)
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4725
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by joska »

MisterT wrote:Well to be honest it was a WORKING msx-2
But i had thatone and some others for spare parts..
It had a really ugly damaged case so not really a shame to use it :-)
You should have recased the MSX2 instead :D I would LOVE to get my hands on a MSX2, but these are hard to find. I would love even more to find a working SVI738, so if you have one for sale (or know someone) you know who to PM!
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
MisterT
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:10 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atari in PC-CASE project !

Post by MisterT »

Hi Joska,
Here a website of repair BAS, he still sell's msx comps and parts..

http://www.bas-ditta.info/verkoopenlink ... erkoop.htm

Greets
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”