All Digidesign apps...

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

All Digidesign apps...

Post by bullis1 »

I'm wondering if anyone knows what the full list of products from Digidesign for Atari ST is. Off the top of my head, I can recall these two:
-TurboSynth
-Sound Tools II (requires special add-on card for Mega ST)

There are more, right? I'm mostly just curious. I tried googling for a list or catalog but I wasn't successful. I've used products from them before in the past and I liked them. Currently I don't own any of their products for ST but I would like to know what is out there. Thanks in advance!
Member of the Atari Legend team
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by nativ »

Hi Bullis,
You may be aware I have a complete Mega/Digidesign setup. Sadly still not tested! Extra hardware includes a scsi interface and the card is a Dsp chip very much like the one in the Falcon/Jaguar.

Will update this post with more info on software.

Thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by bullis1 »

Well, I can't wait for your info that you will edit in.

I found some old issues of Electronic Musician magazine in a book store for a few cents recently. They are all from 1991 and while a lot of the software coverage is for Mac they also remind me of some cool Atari hardware and software that was way too expensive in the past. It's hard to believe it would cost an enthusiast $10,000 for the great privilege of recording in stereo to SCSI HD. Most of the articles are about concepts in general that apply to any platform however.

If anyone's interested I could create scans of any Atari-related advertisements or reviews. You probably won't learn anything new but it's neat to look at some of the ads.

Anyway, please continue to post about Digidesign applications.
Member of the Atari Legend team
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2711
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by charles »

hey you did this about cubase too didn't you , you wanted to know all of the versions of cubase...

any how back to digidesigns: i got mine from when this studio closed near my house i bought an atari
and digidesigns software;
so far i can think of.

turbo synth v 1 and 1.2 then 1.5
sound designer v 1 and v1.5
softsynth v1

there are more ,
and they even have a web site supporting"pro tools"
mainly a mac ended shop tho'
no atari stuff left

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by bullis1 »

Well I don't care so much about versions, but rather what all the different programs are.
So far we've got:
-TurboSynth
-Sound Tools II
And now Charles adds:
-Sound Designer
-Softsynth

It seems they are all sample generating/editing apps. I vaguely remember them doing a sequencer for ST but maybe I'm wrong?

The Digidesign website has a legacy download section with old files but it only offers certain stuff and it's mostly Mac and some PC. Too bad :(

Keep the Digidesign info coming. I think it will be a great thing to add to the wiki.
Member of the Atari Legend team
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by rian_ata »

I know there was also Sound Designer II.
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by bullis1 »

rian_ata wrote:I know there was also Sound Designer II.
I assume this one also required some sort of DSP card?
Member of the Atari Legend team
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by nativ »

Hi,

Here's what there is. . .(hopefully didn't take too long!!!)

Sound Works Ads (Dynacord)
Sound Designer II
Apparently there is a 'Protools' piece of software somewhere too!
When I took ownership of this setup I was informed of the Protools, used much as a 2 track D2D sound editor.

I have 2 largish (Sh205 size) boxes Scsi/Dat interface to go with it. As well as the 56001 Dsp card that fits in the Mega(which sadly doesn't work at the moment!)

Bye

--edited--
Last edited by nativ on Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by bullis1 »

nativ wrote: Apparently there is a 'Protools' piece of software somewhere too!
This one would surely also require some sort of hardware add-on. I was wondering if Protools ever came to ST. I haven't heard about it in North America but maybe in Europe?

Thanks for the additions nativ. However, I'm pretty sure Steinberg made Avalon, not Digidesign. Is there some other app named Avalon? That would be confusing.
Member of the Atari Legend team
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by nativ »

Hi,
Sorry had listed Names of boxes despite the Steinbeg ones being 'grey' and Digidesign yellow/black.

Which exact piece of software it is 'protools' I'll have to ask. The whole setup was in use from 1990/88 ish to 1998 when the Mega failed, and the owner went Mac!

As a shameless plug the previous owners website and music is available via Relaxx music, Uk add Band name 'Heron' to search.

Thanks

Bye

Nativ
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

Any users here owning digidesign hardware ?
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2711
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by charles »

nope not me , just software
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by Mathias »

See my signature. I own it, but don't use it the last years. :-(
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by nativ »

Still not tested or looked at it, the Mega ST , two I think went to Dal for a repair / look over.. hopefully i'll get a chance to get those back soon!

and i've bought an ultrasatan so will probably try setting it up with that when I do!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

I recently bought a mega st with dsp card and analog/ digital box.
The mega psu is bad so after my holiday I order stuff to fix it.
Will share photos and video of the set
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2711
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by charles »

should this be in midi section?
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

Mathias wrote:See my signature. I own it, but don't use it the last years. :-(
My digidesign disks are bad can you help me with a copy of the disks?
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

nativ wrote:Still not tested or looked at it, the Mega ST , two I think went to Dal for a repair / look over.. hopefully i'll get a chance to get those back soon!

and i've bought an ultrasatan so will probably try setting it up with that when I do!
Hi

Can you help me with digidesign software my disks are bad
User avatar
Timnaber
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by Timnaber »

I have the card in one of my Mega 4s. Here is a pic of the card and the Atari version of pro tools that I downloaded from the creator's website in 2018, free of charge.
post-34424-0-04193500-1541737133.jpg
sound_tools_digidesign.zip
Website
http://archive.digidesign.com/download/
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST: TT030 10/32m; Falcon 030 14m(2); MSTe 4m; MST 4m(3); MST 4m AdSpeed; 1040STf 4m(4); ST 4m(2); MF 44 w/SCSI2SD(3); MF 30(3); MF30 w/Drem

8-Bit: 320XE w/Ultraspeed+/FIXXL; 320XE; 130XE w/Ultimate 1m; 600XL w/Ultimate 1m; 800XL w/Omnimon XL/Boss XL/Omniview XL; 800 w/Incognito; 800 48K; Black Box Enhanced(3); 1050 Super Archiver II; 1050 Happy(2); XF551 360K(2); XF551 720K; HD Tower 480m
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2711
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by charles »

best stuff on the planet for Atari st digidesigns !!!!!!
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

Cool thanks I just assembled mega4 with dspcard and analog+digital interface. Time to get it running....

A second set will be here in two weeks only with dspcard + analog interface.
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

Timnaber wrote:I have the card in one of my Mega 4s. Here is a pic of the card and the Atari version of pro tools that I downloaded from the creator's website in 2018, free of charge.

post-34424-0-04193500-1541737133.jpg

sound_tools_digidesign.zip

Website
http://archive.digidesign.com/download/
Hi I got v1.0 running it detects my dsp card.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

Dsp screen
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by TXG/MNX »

But several disks dont read its v1.01 and v1.3

Would be great if someone can find these versions
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Timnaber
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: All Digidesign apps...

Post by Timnaber »

Fantastic!
ST: TT030 10/32m; Falcon 030 14m(2); MSTe 4m; MST 4m(3); MST 4m AdSpeed; 1040STf 4m(4); ST 4m(2); MF 44 w/SCSI2SD(3); MF 30(3); MF30 w/Drem

8-Bit: 320XE w/Ultraspeed+/FIXXL; 320XE; 130XE w/Ultimate 1m; 600XL w/Ultimate 1m; 800XL w/Omnimon XL/Boss XL/Omniview XL; 800 w/Incognito; 800 48K; Black Box Enhanced(3); 1050 Super Archiver II; 1050 Happy(2); XF551 360K(2); XF551 720K; HD Tower 480m
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”