falcon - what's this inside it?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

falcon - what's this inside it?

Post by Chandler »

hi peeps

does anyone know what this strange little thing is inside my falcon? there is a small led connected to it too which has been fixed to the top right hand side of the casing which briefly comes on when i turn on the machine :?:


http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/8871 ... kiizl1.jpg
User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Post by stimpy »

PowerUP 32, they seem to have sold very well! Pretty useless though.
Netus-Bee,Repairs,Upgrades,EtherNEC,Eiffel
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Post by Chandler »

hi

thanks for the I.D :D

so what is it mean't to do then? is there any software that relates to it?
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Post by earx »

it boosts the cpu to 32MHz.. everything the cpu can keep to itself (without access to the bus) is speeded up. for instance: number crunching, look-ups from small tables (in cache). in practice, it's only really noticable when using stzip or similar programs. on the desktop you don't really notice anything. you need a cpx to turn it on/off.
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Post by Chandler »

hi

thanks for your reply

would you or anyone have the cpx or utilities disk to use with this? or know where i could download/find it?

thanks :D
User avatar
Jammer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:33 pm

Post by Jammer »

Try this in your auto folder.
I use powerup and warp9 on my Falcon and it flies along.

Cheers
Jammer
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Post by Chandler »

hi

thanks for the reply

is the download ok? i tried to save it but all i get is a page of garbled text - no option to save etc...
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by bullis1 »

Chandler wrote:hi

thanks for the reply

is the download ok? i tried to save it but all i get is a page of garbled text - no option to save etc...
"Description: | PowerUp change .txt to .prg"

This should solve your problem.
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Post by Chandler »

ok saved it to disk, changed .txt to .prg ran program and immediately i get the message "not enough memory to run this application" ??

me falc's got 14mb :?:
bj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:30 am
Location: London

Post by bj »

Hi
Search the forum for "powerup 2" or "powerup2" or similar. You should find both info & progs.
regards
BJ
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”